We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Saty in Kandy”
Review of Sevana City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sevana City Hotel
Ranked #3 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Lawrence, Kansas
2 reviews
“Great Place to Saty in Kandy”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Kent and Antha Spreckelmeyer
Our stay at Sevana Guest House in Kandy was a wondeful experience. The Senevirathne's treated us like family, the breakfast was excellent, and the staff gave us expert advice about what to see and do in Kandy and the surrounding area. We could not have asked for a better place to stay and people to take care of our needs.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kent S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    284
    51
    9
    6
See reviews for
84
291
100
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed here as it was cheap and only needed a place for one night. I'm kind of glad we only stayed for one night as the room was really damp - the bedsheets felt wet when I sat down on them. It also felt very open as our bathroom window opened right onto the communal area and could hear everything being said, and they could probably hear my shower and our conversation in our room! The place was generally quite loud as the sound seemed to resonate quite a lot through the building.

The host family are absolutely lovely though and breakfast was also very nice too.
The rooms were clean and the location was very good - 10 min walk to the tourist-trap Sacred Tooth Temple.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aimee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Hello travelers,

we choosed the Sevana Guesthouse because of various recommendations and it turned out to be a very good choice for Kandy. Although stationed directly on one of the main routes, the rooms are quite and clean.

The staff was very friendly in every situation and helped us to plan our tour around the north. If you are looking for a driver, definitely ask for Sunil. He has got an official license, which makes sure that you get a reasonable price and a good, safe car. Sunil was a great guide and thanks to his eagle eyes we spotted various animals along the way which he knew all and explained to us. It was a pleasure to be with him and we can really recommend his service!

The night in the guesthouse also included breakfast with omelet and self made jam, which was delicious!!


To sum it up, the Sevana Guest House is the perfect starting and returning point for a trip to the cultural triangle. The staff is friendly, very helpful and honest. Definitely on of the best choices for Kandy!

Best regards, Sarah and Alex!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ao38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enschede, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and came back for 1 more. We had a standard room, AC not necessary in Kandy. Rooms were a little damp and noisy, but further no problems. Good beds, shower and wifi. Our last room was better than the first we had, so compare them.
A big plus is it's proximity to the railway and bus station, no need of tuktuks :)

Breakfast is good with every day a different kind of egg, heaps of toast, jam, fruit and coffee. Also the family is very kind, they even watched our bags for one week when we went to Ella. So all in all, recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baskotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sihanoukville, Cambodia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

The Sevana is a nice little place on one of the main roads in Kandy. Don't be deceived by the exterior inside is a guest house which is very clean and run by a really lovely family. They are so keen to ensure you have a good stay (they have a tuk tuk so can help with excursions at competitive rates).

The rooms are clean and light and the location is excellent for the station (5min walk) and the Tooth Temple (15min walk). Breakfast is included in the price and mightily filling and there's no shortage of recommendations for where to eat if you're going out.

The rooms are decent value though they are more than advertised on Trip Advisor.

Stay here if you want a nice piece of Kandy away from the hustle and bustle of the town.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RippedNipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

PROS: 1. Great location if you don't want to be on top of the hill. We were here for Vesak Poya and it was right in the middle of all the fun!
2.This guesthouse has been running for THIRTY years and you would NEVER guess it. Sakunthala asked me how old I thought the guesthouse was and I guessed 2 years. They have freshly painted walls and extremely comfortable beds and pillows. It seems they have been maintaining the place well.
3. Great breakfast. You will see....

CONS: 1. I really don't understand why the internet can only be on from 7am-10pm. There must be a way around this?
2. A bit pricier at 2750 for a single bed but if you shop around most places are around 2000 and the rooms at 1000-1500 are a bit dismal or out of the way (which is not good for a solo female traveller).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Well located, very clean and comfortable guesthouse in centre of town. Quiet and relaxed atmosphere and a good base to explore all major sites. The host family were extremely helpful and are able to provide good advice on planning travel in the area. I would certainly return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.8 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
1.4 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
1.0 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#17 of 54 in Kandy
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 54 in Kandy
755 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kandy City Hotel
Kandy City Hotel
#24 of 54 in Kandy
306 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sevana City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sevana City Hotel

Property: Sevana City Hotel
Address: 84 Peradeniya Road, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka (Formerly Sevana Guest House)
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sevana City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We at Sevana City Hotel have clean spacious A/C and non A/C rooms with attached bathrooms (with hot/cold water). All our rooms are mosquito free and are provided with fans. We serve delicious western and Eastern food and we also have a taxi service which can be provided at a reasonable rate. We are located in the center of the city, therefore all important places in Kandy can be reached within minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sevana City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sevana Guest House Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing