We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”
Review of Sevana City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sevana City Hotel
Ranked #3 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights, very clean rooms, nice location within walking distance to the temple of the tooth and the lake. Very nice family, always smiling and able to give very useful information. I would definitely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hdw2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (711)
There are newer reviews for Sevana City Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

334 - 340 of 711 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2013

I have travel a lot of in Sri Lanka and this is the best place to stay! Family is really flexible and friendly. Rooms are so clean it has been really nice to stay there even longer. Food is delicious, and fresh.Location is center of Kandy and moving place to another is easy even just walking don't need to get any tuk tuk or bus. If i go back to Kandy I will go this place more than happy again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Petra I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

I stayed in Sevana almost two months, so it was like home to me during my training period.I have no bad word to say of this place, everything has been working just a way I wanted. Location is very good because everything you need is walking distance, owner family is the nicest and service excellent! Facilities are always clean and tidy. Food is not very cheap but it is very delicious and good quality.
I recommend this Guest House to everyone and especially those who are planning to stay longer time because this family will take care of you and it feels safe and reliable place to stay.
After traveling and staying in not so perfect guest houses in around Sri Lanka, I am happy to go back this place for one more month!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ulla H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Once a peaceful guest house has turn into a big construction site. Unfortunately, but thats how it is. They are building massive new medical facilities right next to Sevana Guest house. They are hammering from early morning till late afternoon – every day – even sunday. During my stay also happened that the large hammer drill machine was used at 10 pm (but the owner of the hostel protested and they stopped but started next morning at 6 am again). The family said that the construction will finished in a few months, but we talked to the supervisor of the construction site next door and he said that construction will continued for another year or so.
If that construction and hammering won't bother you, than you should know that in spring 2013 the Sevana Guest house will have a construction of their own. They will extend the existing hostel and build new rooms – so not one but two construction sites at once.
So if you would like to relax a bit than this place right now is not a place to be. And if you are a light sleeper we can't recommend this place either, since there is no noise control in the evening. We have seen a lot of guest complaining but the family who runs the place just don't bother to do anything about this.
There is a lot of problems also with WI-FI connection. Somethimes it works, somethimes it doesn't work for days. And they have a limit 2-3 hours in the morning, and 4 hours in the evening – they are very strict. They don't provide a WI-FI access in all of the rooms either (apparently only 2 rooms have wi fi).
My honest advise to all of fellow travelers is to avoid this place – till both construction sides are over. Kandy is a very nice place to visit, so don't ruin your vacation by staying in this noisy guest house.
But on the positive side the hostel is still very clean, the rooms are nice, and the staff of the hostel is amazing, always in a good mood and smiling.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarahar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sevanashantha, Owner at Sevana City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your feedback.
We are glad that you noticed the cleanliness and the service provided by our staff during your stay.In addition we are pleased for the fact that you decided to extent your stay every week up to two months with us (even though we did not have any agreement among us), despite the inconveniences you have apparently faced.

However we would like to clarify some details mentioned in your review.

We do understand that the noise caused by the construction of our neighbour is quite bothersome but we have negotiated with them and at present they only do constructions from 8 am to 4 pm. And I would like to know who was the SO CALLED "CONTRACTOR" you'll spoke to, as it is clearly evident that the work of our neighbour is almost over (in Kandy, according to the requirements of the World Heritage Society the maximum height that could be reached by each building is only 4 floors). Therefore we would like to point out that the construction will be over in a very short period with the least inconveniences ( no hammer drills or machines will be used).
Meanwhile only proposals have been submitted for the extension of our new wing and construction WILL ONLY start during 2015.

Regarding the wifi, we do not promise guests to offer wifi access in all our guest rooms but we do guarantee the access in all public areas. Rooms which are closer to those area do have access to wifi (obviously more than 2 rooms have wifi access). We also do offer 24 hour wifi access but our complementary line will only be available from 8am to 11 am and 4pm to 10pm ( which is convenient for many travellers).Our paid connection for all other times is also very reasonable which is only USD0.20 for an hour, which you did not want to use.

Thus I would like to personally ensure that the stay of our future guests is as memorable as the ones of who stayed earlier. Finally please be kind enough to refrain from making false allegations made from incorrect information for personal grudges.

Thanking You
The Team at Sevana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Booked here for 2 nights after reading reviews from Tripadvisor. Got the 2nd floor deluxe room for 3700 SLR +service taxes per night ; which was told at the time of booking has ac and a balcony with a good view. Jotting down the pros & the cons of the place:
What we liked:
a.) Excellent location. Very near to the main Kandy bus stand & railway station. Since we used public transport extensively it was very convenient for us.
b.) Room was clean when we entered (more on cleanliness later) & a workable bathroom although the bathroom size could've been bigger)
c.) Guidance from Shakuntala who helped us a lot with our sight seeing & advice on local eateries/restaurants
d.) Proximity to good eateries: Shall recommend Lyon's for their sea food platter & P&S bakery for breakfasts. Both are located within 100 meters of the guest house.

What we didn't like:
a.) Cleanliness! : One of the little pieces of joy of hotel stay is when you come back after a tiring day and find the beds are perfectly made up magically & the room is cleaned in your absence. However we weren't that lucky here. On the last day we came back dead tired at 10pm & were greeted by a room which wasn't cleaned, bed which wasn't made, towels not changed & dustbin which wasn't cleared. And this despite the fact that we expressly told the cleaning staff(who understood english) to clean our room. Anyways for any decent hotel/guest house i don't think cleaning rooms is luxury & is part of standard package.
Worse was to follow as when we checked with Shankuntala, we were brusquely told that room cleaning happens once every two days!!couldn't believe this..really are you kidding me?? & later on were told we should've told the cleaning staff had we wanted it otherwise.. On being told we had communicated we were told we'll clean it next day. At least a small apology would've assuaged our feelings but none was forthcoming.
b.) Balcony: When you see the website, you are greeted with a lovely view of the guesthouse & promises of good view from the balcony. Well the balcony was just a small extension of the room & was a sham.The view was pathetic. The only thing you can see is the shabby structure in front of you & the rows of not well kept shops. Attaching some photos of the so called view!
c.) Bathroom - On the second night somehow the flush started leaking alongwith making noise.Our night's good sleep was literally flushed away.
d.) Overall ambience: The lobby of the guest house was nice. But the first & second floors were claustrophobic. There was a group of tourists squatting on the floor, some of them were hanging around on the staircase & innerwears were hanging on the balcony. This looked like more of a shady Paharganj hotel in Delhi.
e.) Wifi: The website promises free wifi. however in real life wifi is on only from 8-10am and 5:30-10pm. For extra time you need to pay 100LKR per hour. The signal was weak and we coudn't connect any of the devices from our room.
f.) Food: Though there was a lot of qty provided in dinner but there were bizzare pairings.e.g. chicken noodles (chinese) with potato curry, fried beans & mixed vegetable. The vegetarian fare was plain awful & shan't recommend. However the soup was excellent.
g.) Noise from the adjoining building: On the last day found out that constant high decibel sound of drilling started around 9:30-10 am & continued till the time we left around noon. On other day thankfully we had started early & didn't notice it. The traffic noise also could be overpowering as it is situated right on the main road.
h.) There were seepage marks/fungus on one of the walls.

All in all shall suggest to stay here only for a short stay & if you are dependent on public transport. I believe there are much better options available in Kandy at similar price range.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BornFreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stay sevana guest house for 3 days.It's a lovely guesthouse.The owner is very friendly and helpful.The location it's not far from the railway station and clock tower.You can find many reasonable price local foods around the guesthouse. The hot shower not strong enough, just fine. You can hang up your washing clothes at the top platform.And if the rains heavy, the kindly staff would help you put the clothes back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunrou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We changed our itinerary after we arrived Sri Lanka. Ms. Sakunthala was very helpful. She kindly re-arranged, and reserved a very nice room for us. Pretty comfortable with balcony. Besides, Ms. Sakunthala arranged the accommodation for our driver, which I failed to tell her in advance. Because the location is quite the center of Kandy, it is very noisy. But it is OK for us.
The breakfast and the dinner there was very very delicious. The breakfast was very interesting. It was a fresh and pleasant morning start to everyone. We only stayed for 2 days. Next time, I hope I have enough time to enjoy Kandy, enjoy the bft/dinner in Sevana~

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eva_Beijing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.8 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
1.4 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
1.6 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#10 of 56 in Kandy
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 56 in Kandy
1,310 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kandy View Hotel
Kandy View Hotel
#36 of 56 in Kandy
545 reviews
1.5 mi away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#1 of 56 in Kandy
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sevana City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sevana City Hotel

Address: 84 Peradeniya Road, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka (Formerly Sevana Guest House)
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kandy
Price Range: $25 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sevana City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We at Sevana City Hotel have clean spacious A/C and non A/C rooms with attached bathrooms (with hot/cold water). All our rooms are mosquito free and are provided with fans. We serve delicious western and Eastern food and we also have a taxi service which can be provided at a reasonable rate. We are located in the center of the city, therefore all important places in Kandy can be reached within minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Sevana City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sevana Guest House Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing