We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid...unless you are a 70's fan”
Review of Hotel Devon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Devon
Ranked #237 of 389 Kandy B&B and Inns
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“Avoid...unless you are a 70's fan”
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

The hotel was booked by a local tour operator as part of a 3 day tour.

All the poor reviews posted are unfortunately true.

The hotel decor dates back to the 70's, furniture is used, carpet in the rooms smelly and worn out.
Staff are rude - one of the employees jumped into the lift as we were about to enter, we had to ask others to stop slamming doors at 6am.
Dinner was included but the smell in the restaurant stopped us eating there, breakfast was just about OK.

The hotel has a pool but kids were having their swimming lesson, making it impossible to use.

Do not stay at the Devon. There are better alternatives and closer to the centre of Kandy.

Hotel and staff need a total makeover.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Oliviauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    54
    65
    34
    25
See reviews for
46
73
13
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Food ok otherwise not worth considering. Stopped overnight as part of a tour organised by guide but would not have chosen to stay. Hotel forecourt more like building site and the place is dated and grubby. Not slept at all as rooms border a very busy road and noise constant. Had to clean shower before use and shower curtain needed binning. Air conditioning noisy and leaked all over floor. Swimming pool not as pictured and full of local children having swimming lessons

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kandy hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

it was our annual family outing n selected hotel Devon , Ampitiya for our first day destination , we booked 5 rooms mixed up with doubles & triples. We checked in to the hotel around 4.30 pm , no one to welcome us , we have to take our luggage to the reception , NO WELCOME DRINKS, even they don't bother about arrival , Very poor service from front desk staff ,
Pool is small but ok, Pool attendant was very helpful ,
Dinner buffet also ok , Food was tasty , Very helpful , cautious staff at Restaurant & Kitchen ( Buffet action )
WE found 12 BED BUGS in our parents rooms , they called our room around 1.30a,m . BED BUGS bitten my mums body half away , we called reception, Lazy receptionist answered the phone after several calls, after 15 min one room came with another room key and apologized.

Following day morning every body ( Hotel Staff ) knows about the BED BUGS story, hens they didn"t faced us, called to Hotel Manager Several Times, He also very lethargic, He met my sister at last , Manager also didnt worry about this BED BUGS , i think its a COMMON COMPLAINT to them , Very Poor Service , We never recommend this hotel to any one , cant sleep . Pls ignore

Room Tip: Higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charuke k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants UK
Level Contributor
214 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We were booked in here by tour guide cum driver who was showing some sights.

It is a basic 3 star with reasonable rooms, but why are the floors carpeted, as they also are in the restaurant?

Bar service not good, food is good, and that's about all one needs to say, it is OK for a night but one would not really want to stay any longer than this.

It served it's purpose.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Earby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed at the Devon Hotel in Kandy. It was booked through our travel agent..
Its furnishing although looks recent and fairly new, its in a sloppy shape. There is pungent smell from the kitchens as well as the unwelcome smell of heavy alcohol as you enter the hotel as the bar is right at its entrance.
We were here in peak wedding season thus there was loud music till late at night making it impossible to turn in early after a long day of sightseeing. The breakfast was okay but stick to the freshly made stuff, the breads seem fresh but some look dubious.
The wifi is available only in the lobby and disconnects easily.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank komals3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We recently stayed 2 nights at Hotel Devon. The hotel was chosen by our travel agent and it was just unpleasant.

The first room we were given was spacious but filthy. There were black molds everywhere. The blankets were very smelly. The room was furnished from 1970s and I don't think they were cleaned since then. The room was extremely damp and hot. It took a few hours for the air condition to work properly and cool down the room. The air condition had 2 options- 15 degrees or 21 degrees! It was so cold at night with the air condition on but too hot without it. None of us got any sleep as too uncomfortable.

We changed the room on our second night. Even though we only saw about max 10 other guests and it was off peak season, the receptionist insisted the hotel was fully booked! After complaints, we were given a different room. Less mold, less smelly room but the same problem with the air condition. We were sweating like pigs in the room. Another sleepless night.

Sri Lankan breakfast was good though. Western breads and cereals were stale though. Stick to curry if you can! Nice view of the hills from the breakfast room.

Wifi was unreliable. Only works in the reception area but it gets disconnected frequently.
Staff were unhelpful.

I do NOT recommend this hotel. Avoid at all cost!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krnworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I have been many times this hotel with my customers most of guest had good time. nice rooms with comfortable bed and foods was good. free wi-fi is also available in lobby area. But I think need the refurbishment in bath rooms. some very good staff but should be good management but it is value for money.

Room Tip: second floor corner better rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sumudu sanjeewa p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Casamara
Hotel Casamara
#41 of 54 in Kandy
198 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kandy City Hotel
Kandy City Hotel
#24 of 54 in Kandy
301 reviews
1.0 mi away
Queens Hotel Kandy
Queens Hotel Kandy
#30 of 54 in Kandy
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 54 in Kandy
1,246 reviews
2.7 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 54 in Kandy
739 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Suisse
Hotel Suisse
#14 of 54 in Kandy
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Devon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Devon

Property: Hotel Devon
Address: 51, Ampitiya Road, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #237 of 389 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Devon 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Devon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing