We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“still a nice place with a perfect location”
Review of Lake View Rest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lake View Rest
Ranked #111 of 406 Kandy B&B and Inns
Olstykke, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“still a nice place with a perfect location”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Unfortunately some Pictures shown on Tripadvisor are wrong, among them, the profile Picture.
The guesthousenhas a perfect location with a view to a part of the lake, but more important a fantastic view to the Mountains. The rooms are nice and clean, the breakfast room have the same perfect view as the terrace. Stayed there first time in 1986, and prefer this place every time coming to Kandy.
Tried to give some judgements, but seems like not possible. Can only judge "terrible" and now I cannot even cancel this - the place is absolutely NOT terrible, but very recomandable

Room Tip: All rooms have a nice view. AND service/value/sleeping quality/cleaniness/location are NOT terrible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelgeNielsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    29
    15
    3
    6
See reviews for
10
30
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

The Lake View Rest is a relaxed place over Kandy. Is costs 150-200 rs to get there from the railway station. We enjoyed the balcony with its nice view to read and chill. The people there are not intrusive. If you like sone thing, you have to ask. But they have been so lovely to us. She made such a fantastic cury for us. We would stay there again!!!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Boardervan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

i do not recommend this hotel. The rooms are ok but the service was really really poor and not welcoming. Few examples:

1. the AC was not working, the person at the reception told us to fix it ourselves! After insisting he accepted to
2. we asked for a laundry service. We asked a little favor which was to deliver it 30 meters away from there as we had to change hotel afterwards (it was becoming full). We would have understood if the person had said no although it was a very little favor! She insulted us saying it's not something she does. We apologized thinking we had maybe hurt her. We said it was ok and asked to have a normal laundry service. When we came back we realized she had only put the clothes under the water (the smell was the same, the stains were still there). On top the clothes were wet. We asked her why and she threw the rest of the clothes at us. Incredible
We preferred the Mc Leodd next door, as good as this one, cheaper and much nicer people.
3. the lady at the reception never helped us and answered our questions about the city

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mickael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kandy hotels

India
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed overnight here coming from Nuwara eliya

The rooms are comfortable but basic

If you want to stay overnight at a reasonable price,this is the place.
Actually this us my second visit to this property-i had come here way bk in 2003.This place has been done up

I would stay here again on my next visit

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Uday3027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhubaneswar
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Located over a hill slope overlooking the Tooth Temple, this is a small but homely place to stay. Not comparable to a star hotel but if you want some homely comfort with some secluded stay, this place is recommended. You are close to the Tooth Temple, the most important visitors place in Kandy. also the local dance performing center. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful, take all steps to make your stay comfortable. You can have ask them to cook some simple food or bring in some food from outside.
Overall the stay was very enjoyable especially for the price you pay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MKBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravne na Koroskem, Slovenia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

The room was nice and clean (one of the cleanest), but quite expensive. The bathroom was new, modern, but really small so the toilet got wet while I was having a shower. It was not all that bad but I have a bad memory because the lady was so unfriendly. If you wanted to order something, you had to wait like crazy before she even came to ask you what you want. No one was at the counter so you had to yell to get someone´s attention and when she came I got the feeling that is better not to bother her the next time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mp-backpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Lake View Rest is a great place located not far from the downtown Kandy. Owners are wonderful people who make your stay absolutely trouble-free and relaxing.
Rooms are spacious, bright and spotlessly clean. Bathrooms are one of the best I've ever experiences in Sri Lanka.
You get a free wifi and a shared terrace with a great view over Kandy.
The food prepared in Lake View Rest is delicious! Make sure you stay there for dinner or lunch.
I can highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ksush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.3 mi away
Grand Kandyan Hotel
Grand Kandyan Hotel
#5 of 53 in Kandy
446 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sharon Inn
Sharon Inn
#20 of 53 in Kandy
526 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#3 of 53 in Kandy
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kandy View Hotel
Kandy View Hotel
#39 of 53 in Kandy
535 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kandy City Hotel
Kandy City Hotel
#24 of 53 in Kandy
306 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#11 of 53 in Kandy
1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake View Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake View Rest

Property: Lake View Rest
Address: 71 Rajapihilla Mawatta, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 406 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake View Rest 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Lake View Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake View Rest Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing