We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forest Glen - a pleasure”
Review of Forest - Glen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Forest - Glen
Ranked #46 of 389 Kandy B&B and Inns
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
147 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Forest Glen - a pleasure”
Reviewed December 30, 2010

My wife and I lucked onto Forest Glen through Hostel World after making a rapid decision to visit Sri Lanka and Kandy after being granted a holiday by the Sultan of Oman. We found the hostess, Indra, very accommodating - she provided a car & driver for us from the airport, made sure we were settled into the Lodge and went out of her way to make sure that Christmas was celebrated in style by all of the guests.
The room was basic, but Forest Glen does not pretend to be a hotel or high class lodge. Indra's cooking is good with chances to sample home-cooked Sri Lankan food in a comfortable family situation.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peperi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    53
    13
    8
    5
See reviews for
26
62
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2010

We reserved Forest Glen after reading great reviews on Trip Advisor. We arrived from the airport and received a nice room in a cozy house in a valley a 10-15 minutes walk from Kandy city. A nice, relaxing escape, yes?
Snafus not withstanding, some of which were our fault (airport transport price), it began to feel as though our stay was an inconvenience to our hostess! Adding in the obligatory 3x charges for water/drinks and the disinterested/nonexistent service (our room was not cleaned - had to give trash to cleaning ladies), we left very disappointed.
Seemed to me that Forest Glen was open to make money, not because travelers/hospitality was of interest. Our stay was not relaxing at all.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mustardstew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2010

Please ignore the last review by somebody that did not even stay here. I think they should have tried out the place before giving a review. The frustrations of her driver had something to do with it I feel.
At Forest Glen you are staying in a family home in a beautiful setting. You are surrounded by forest with lovely bird song and yet you are only a 10minute walk from Kandy. The rooms are basic but clean and have their own charm. There is a lovely communal lounge and a delightful verandah to sit on.The host Indra is incredibly welcoming and friendly and also an excellent cook. If you want to stay in a hotel do not choose this place. However if you want to stay in a beautiful Sri Lankan home you will not be disappointed.

Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank truth47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somewhere over the rainbow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2010

I had booked a room here after looking through the reviews and was very disaapointed. This is not so much a guest house as it is a bare bones hostel. If you regard this place as a hostel, it's clean enough but that's about it. My driver had a hard time finding the place and an even harder time driving up the road to reach it. hetold me this is just an old bungalow, and it hadn't even been converted to make it suitable for guest accommodation. Very thankfully I managed to cancel my booking without any trouble. Please be sure about what you are expecting before booking this place.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ilovetrave1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vietnam
1 review
Reviewed February 24, 2010

Forest Glen was our first stop in Sri Lanka and it certainly set the standard very high for the rest of our trip. Ingra is a fantastic host and her curries are one I will tell the grandkids about. FG is set a little in the forest (a bit tricky to find but just look for Trinity College and it's at the top of that road) and is about a ten minute walk into Kandy. The rooms are clean and it really does feel like being at home. I will certainly be recommending FG to my friends who are heading into Kandy!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank symmondsmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vietnam
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2010

Having researched several options for accommodation in Kandy we finally decided upon Forest Glen and I am so glad we did! This place is a true gem of a find. Ingra the owner of the guest house welcomes you with open arms and big warm smile. The feel of the place is like a home away from home and don't miss having a Sri Lankan curry cooked for you here - the food is delicious (and freshly home made)!! There really is not a bad thing to say about this place, it's a simple and beautiful guest house run by genuinely lovely people (and a quiet haven away from busy Kandy). There is even a troop of cheeky monkeys to amuse you from the window if you get bored of the panoramic jungle views. It's somewhere we will certainly remember, recommend and go back to give half the chance!

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KatieM1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
venezia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2010

we stayed just one night,but we really enjoyed the atmosphere,the owner she's such a nice person,really cozy,and the food was excellent.the rooms has a panoramic view in to the forest,and are so clean.A really nice place to saty if you're visiting Kandy,quite cheep.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank federiccone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.2 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#17 of 54 in Kandy
485 reviews
0.4 mi away
Camarin Residence Kandy
Camarin Residence Kandy
#59 of 389 in Kandy
66 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lady Gordons Homestay
Lady Gordons Homestay
#19 of 389 in Kandy
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
WindsWood Villa
WindsWood Villa
#30 of 321 in Kandy
30 reviews
0.1 mi away
Galaxy City Hotel
Galaxy City Hotel
#29 of 389 in Kandy
71 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Mango Garden
Hotel Mango Garden
#34 of 389 in Kandy
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest - Glen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest - Glen

Property: Forest - Glen
Address: 150/6 Lady Gordon's Drive, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 389 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Forest - Glen 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Forest - Glen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing