We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Forest - Glen
Nearby Hotels
$95
$64
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$134
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$322
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$92
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$36
$35
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
$74
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$131
$99
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$18
$11
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$46
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (164)
Filter reviews
164 results
Traveler rating
82
56
13
8
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
82
56
13
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsminutes walkingthe ownerpre schoolclose to townbirds singingquiet placenoisy citysri lankalarge roomthe hustle and bustlenice breakfasttooth templeplace to stayriceshort walkcurrynice view
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 164 reviews
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Good place to stay in Kandy. The owners are a nice family ready to improve your trip with a really good home made dinner. They are ready to assist you in anything you may need.
The hotel is located really close to the centre of Kandy and in the meantime it is in a beatiful green and naturalistic place. You can see a lot of monkies just looking out of your window.
Highy suggested.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Plinskie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Forest Glen was our first experience of Sri Lanka and it was a pleasant introduction. Lovely setting in the middle of jungle. Unfortunately it was raining during our visit which made it not as enjoyable as it could have been. When walking it took about 15mins to town. Room and guesthouse basic but comfortable. A lovely host who cooked dinner and breakfast for us. Hot water took a long time to come through in the shower and the guesthouse was quite dark. Overall value for money it was fine.

Room Tip: Get a Tuk Tuk there when you arrive. It should cost about 350 rupees.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonPeggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Really enjoyed my stay at this guesthouse. It is located about 10 minutes walk from Kandy but feels very secluded. The owner is very friendly. She made me a vegetarian dinner on request my first night there as I was too tired to walk into town. The breakfast is included in the price and is very good (the coffee is great). The nature sounds at night are great. There are birds in the yard in the morning and monkeys just up the street.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DaveListerHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Forest Glen is located about 10 minutes from the center of Kandy up in the hills. It is a nice break from the city and monkeys come to visit (so close your windows!). Our room was clean but the beds could have used new mattresses, they were very worn in. The breakfast provided in the cost was filling. Our one complaint was the night we choose to have dinner at Forest Glen. While the dinner was tasty, a nice curry rice spread, it ended up being the most expensive dinner we had during our entire trip in every guesthouse we stayed in. So, it would be nice for the owners to provide a list of all the costs of additional services up front.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lydia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

A Ggood place of course.. but Dogs barking all night for example.. (stayed there 3 nights).
Make sure you take a card with you, not so many drivers know the small road.
Important: Also find the owner very greedy for external facilities (the laundry (12$ for half kg :-), massage, etc...).-

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank makamapo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews