We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hillside retreat”
Review of Forest - Glen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Forest - Glen
Ranked #46 of 384 Kandy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lovely hillside retreat”
Reviewed April 1, 2012

We just had a really lovely stay at Forest Glen. Location is great (10 minute walk to town but away from the bustle of the main road); room was cozy, clean and comfortable; and best of all, the welcome was warm. The grounds are beautiful - we felt we were at a hillside retreat.The adjoining pre-school, also run by the owner, is adorable. A great find!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor in a room without a balcony, as we booked at the last minute and the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpiceC1916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    53
    13
    8
    5
See reviews for
26
62
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
poole
Level Contributor
103 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Forest Glen is hidden away in ashady corner of ther jungle just 10 minutes walk to the centre of Kandy but a world away with the birds .

A range of rooms, with a delightful veranda to sit and have a cool beer or afternoon tea.
Simple homestay style, with a good breakfast served at your time convenience - Indriya asks her guests what time they'd like it so if you want o relax or be up early it all works for you.

We sat and watched the birds each day, reading books. You are very much on the edge of the jungle here and so peaceful .

The walk into Kandy is about 10 minutes and you'll need a torch in the dark ! Take a tuk tuk home as it's all up hill.

Indriya is a very welcoming host and with a pre school attached to the guesthouse so you can watch the children come and go.

Room Tip: Two rooms have a verandah view at the front of the house - nice and sunny with a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bettybell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

This is absolutely beutiful place for relax. Indra (owner) is very friendy and helpful. You can take relax 10min from the city in the middle of rich jungle. The building is clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbora39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Kandy is a very busy city compared to the rest of Sri Lanka. Cars, Tempel, People...so it was the greatest pleasure to walk up the hill for few minutes and find pure nature. No noise, no cars - just a fantastic view in a fantastic house. The owner is a great host. When we arrived she switch us to a room which suited my demand much better.

We could use the internet and PC for free, you can eat there, Tuk Tuk to the city are organised (very cheap) - all you need.
Also the price was very competitive and in terms of price value it was top 1 or 2 during our two week stay.

Enjoy you stay!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank urshinterwald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

This gorgeous old house is conveniently located in the peaceful hillside above Kandy. The walk down to the town is very quick although coming back after dark you must take a tuk tuk as it is a dark road. The lady owner is very educated, speaking perfect English and happy to help. Breakfast is provided if requested. The rooms are lovely, comfortable, clean and characterful. I did not find the town so appealing as it was very polluted so Forest Glen was a perfect getaway. A great romantic place for couples but good for singles and families too.
Thanks.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sophruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

We arrived at Forest Glen after an excruciating van trip from the south coast. The road in was a little mysterious at night but we persevered thanks to our driver (he phoned the owner to check we were on the right track) and found a comfortable guesthouse hidden in the forest away from the hustle and bustle of Kandy. We didn't have dinner, but breakfast was nice and our host was warm, helpful and spoke great English. The communal areas are large and patio a lovely spot to relax and take in the hill surround. The rooms were clean and bright, mattress and pillow Sri Lankan standard. Easy to walk into town.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lani H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

The rooms are basic but clean. However, the more finicky traveller may find the towels do not a have a freshly washed smell. Forest Glen is situated in a tranquil tropical forest with beautiful views. The Sri Lankan food cooked by the host was delicious. Although 10 minutes from Kandy Town, the path up to the guest house is steep and not easily accessible at night. This makes for a very bumpy tuk tuk ride up hill which we found enjoyable! Overall, we enjoyed our stay at Forest Glen.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie200969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.2 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#16 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Amanda Hills
Hotel Amanda Hills
#32 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
2.1 mi away
Kandy Mount Villa
Kandy Mount Villa
#16 of 307 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Blue Haven Guest House
Blue Haven Guest House
#15 of 384 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Mango Garden
Hotel Mango Garden
#32 of 384 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.1 mi away
WindsWood Villa
WindsWood Villa
#31 of 307 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest - Glen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest - Glen

Property: Forest - Glen
Address: 150/6 Lady Gordon's Drive, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 384 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Forest - Glen 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Forest - Glen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing