We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Salty!”

Sri Ram Indian Restaurant
Ranked #52 of 145 Restaurants in Kandy
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Granada, Spain
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Salty!”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Very disappointed in this restaurant. The three curries we had were not terribly well prepared and were almost unbelievably salty.
The paratha I had was superb mind you, as was the lime and ginger juice, but this could not make up for a very poor eating experience. Avoid.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Godreamanboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    60
    35
    25
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
queensland
Level Contributor
180 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Mixed review”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Our first visit here was quite good, we enjoyed both meals, we were sick of the average rice and curry we found around Kandy. We were happy ti return for another Indian meal but were not happy on our second visit. The vegetarian dish was fine but could not eat the chicken dish (I wish I could remember the name, it was an indian dish I had not heard of before) I thought the flavour was terrible and it had an 'off' taste to me, could not touch it after first mouthful. The owner or waiter, not sure but seemed like the owner was rather gruff and not helpful or friendly. I wish I had known what dosas were, I saw it listed on menu, did not know what it was untik I saw someone order it and I asked the waiter and he told me. I have since tried them elsewhere and love them.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank missyperu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
84 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Thalis”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

A great little find on Colombo st in Kandy,we were immediately attracted to it by the thali menu,excellent veg and non veg Thalis for 250-250 rupees.Good service and lots of locals eating here.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rick1811027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw, Poland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Better go somewhere else”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We waited for our order for 1,5h. Palak Paneer was uneatable (had a smoke taste all over the dish), 8 out of 10 people from our group didnt like their dish neither, plus half of the group felt stomach sick all night after this food.
On top of that staff was a bit rude and ignorant.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MariankaMakowka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fethiye, Turkey
Level Contributor
313 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“nice meals”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

it is not one of the best indian restaurant but,if you like indian food you must try it,it is litle bit expensive

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank nomad4838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sri Ram Indian Restaurant also viewed

Kandy, Kandy District
Kandy, Kandy District
 
Kandy, Kandy District
Kandy, Kandy District
 

Been to Sri Ram Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing