We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and Comfortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Serene Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Serene Garden Hotel
Ranked #30 of 58 Hotels in Kandy
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
121 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Clean and Comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

The hotel looks small from the exterior, but its actually big when you step inside. The rooms are clean including bed linen( a rarity in 3* hotels). The WiFi connection is very good.We were served welcome drinks.
The hotel staff is very helpful. The view from rooms is also excellent ,all rooms overlook kandy and you can get a minor view of the lake.Though it not walkable distance from the lake but the clean and friendly environment at the hotel made for it.

Room Tip: Take rooms on 5th/6th floor overlooking the town and lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandeepmota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    109
    92
    18
    6
See reviews for
70
123
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

At first glance this looked like an uninspiring hotel to spend the night on our excursion organised by Luba from Bentota Club. However appearances are deceiving. On entering you discover what appears to the ground floor only to find the building is six stories high with the other five floors at the back going down the hill. The Hotel is spotless, with very comfortable rooms, free WiFi, many TV channels and an extremely comfortable bed. The rooms form a gallery around the pool with balconies that overlook the whole pool area. The evening meal was excellent with a variety of Sri Lanka and Mediterranean cuisine followed by an excellent breakfast. The staff were helpful and extremely attentive

Room Tip: Rooms vary in size, hence ask to see the room allocated before you accept it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed here for one night on 15th October 2013 in room 711. We arrived at around 5pm after a long hot day visiting various tourist spots to find we had no hot water, no toilet roll in the room, the electricity kept going off and the room was very small. As it was only for one night, we put up with it. When we went to the restaurant, the staff were very abrupt and the food was not cooked properly, especially the chicken which still had blood inside. As we had a 6am start the next morning we decided to go to bed to get the night over with. In the morning we had hot water, but to top it off, the shower did not work!
All in all I would rate this hotel as less than 1 star, we can laugh about it now but would advise people to avoid it if possible.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MandMHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kandy hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
surrey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Our driver booked us here for one night. it was fine for a night , but I wouldn't want to stay much longer. It was fine for what we needed. Staff were lovely, food good , but we wasn't hungry as we had a late lunch.
Our bedroom was basic but had everything we needed and reception gave me a hairdryer.
the hotel needs some TLC, the bar area is really poor it looks like a storage room for chairs, but the staff were lovely.
It was a little noisy with some guest s although the hotel had very few customers that day, but some girls were really noisey.
As l say if you just want a clean basic room then this will be fine for you , I was happy just to spend one night no longer .
I would class this hotel as a travel lodge in Kandy, but the reception staff and all members of staff were a delight they couldn't do more for you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kazakay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

My family and me stayed in the hotel for two nights. We had a wonderful time and really enjoyed the friendly stuff who was willing to assist in any way. Their service is really excellent.
Our family room was a bit far, but we enojoyed it. The food in breakfast is great even for the children and one evening we ate dinner in the hotel and enojoyed thier buffe.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Orit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed in Kandy for one night and were struggling to find accommodation. The hotel had availability but were quoting 140 dollars per room and we needed 2. On declining their rates they quickly negotiated to 90 dollars per room. I think we however had the last rooms available as they were on the bottom floor and above the drivers dormitories which were quite noisy. The hotel was fairly clean but smelled quite strongly of disinfectants rooms were small with small shower room attached. The staff were friendly and helpful. We were travelling with two teenage children who did not want to share a double bed and they put up an additional quality bed in one of the double rooms. ( hotel does not provide twin rooms) . Buffet in the restaurant was fairly decent with wide international selection they also provided a quality a la carte meal for our vegetarian daughter. Highlight was the entertainment at dinner in the form of a Sri Lankan/ Latino trio of singers with guitars who were taking requests for songs from the guests. Up in the hills the hotel had some good views from the rooms and by transport was not far from the major tourist spots.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Devontiger Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
423 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 406 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

I concur with most reviewers - the rooms are adequate, the property is well kept, the staff are friendly although many have limited language skills, the place is a long way from the town/ lake up a very steep hill, so you can walk into town but need transport to get back up, and they rip you off by charging for the bottles of water that are offered to you on arrival.
But what none of the other reviewers talk about is the noise of this place. Maybe its the concrete walls, the tiled floors, the paper thin doors to the rooms or the maze like corridors, but you hear every conversation and every noise in this place.
I had requested an upper floor room and we received a 5th floor room with a view over tree tops and half built houses towards to unseen lake, however the problem was it was just below the Dining Room on the 6th floor, with the scratching of tables and chairs on the tiled floor at breakfast, lunch and dinner time. So we asked to be moved (they had a less expensive room but that was OK) on the second floor facing onto the central swimming pool and the other wing of the hotel. So then we got the noise of people jumping in the pool, we could hear everyone in the corridors arriving back to their rooms late at night, there was either a party on the premises or a disco next door and the noise came straight in the un- closeable bathroom window and then to top it off the air- con didn't work so we had to open the windows to get fresh air and more noise.
I would recommend that as you can see the sights of Kandy in less than a day, arrive early, visit the Botanical Gardens, The Temple of the Sacred Tooth Relic if that's your thing, take a walk around the lake, perhaps have lunch in town then stay somewhere prettier, quieter and nicer somewhere else.

Room Tip: Just don't stay here, but if you must, avoid the fifth floor rooms below the 6th floor Dining ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MadamJosephine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.2 mi away
Serene Grand Hotel
Serene Grand Hotel
#40 of 58 in Kandy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Amanda Hills
Hotel Amanda Hills
#36 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel See Kandy
Hotel See Kandy
#46 of 58 in Kandy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#14 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tourmaline Hotel
Tourmaline Hotel
#22 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kandy City Hotel
Kandy City Hotel
#24 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serene Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serene Garden Hotel

Property: Serene Garden Hotel
Address: 189 Rajapihilla Mawatha, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 58 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Serene Garden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serene Garden Hotel is situated within walking distance of the city centre and overlooking the serene Kandy Lake. Above all these things, something unique about Serene Garden Hotel: its ambience is serene and the experience blends with the unique enchantment that Kandy serenely weaves in the mind of the foreign traveller, as it has done for centuries. From Serene Garden Hotel, it is walking distance to the Dalada Maligawa (The Temple of the Tooth) across the road from the Kandy Lake. This hallowed temple is synonymous with the historic hill capital of Kandy; it is where the tooth relic of the Buddha is enshrined, enduring symbol of a nation’s sovereignty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your Serene Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing