We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay”
Review of Tourmaline Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tourmaline Hotel
Ranked #22 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Reviewed July 22, 2014

This seems to be a fairly well managed hotel. We got there and were offered a welcome tea as they handled the registration formalities. The room was well appointed, clean and well maintained. We did get a waft of the mosquito spray as we entered the room. They gave us a fruit plate that was good. The view of the sun set over the mountains was excellent.
The restaurant had a limited vegetarian fare for dinner so we went out. The breakfast had a good spread. They even bought us Idilis and Vadas on request but they were a bit cold. They could also have refilled a bit faster.

Things to note: 1. There are no lifts that we could see in the hotel and the restaurant is on the second floor. If you have difficulty climbing stairs, you may want to look at other options. 2. The pool is a bit far being part of the sister hotel next door. 3. The restaurant has a dress code of smart casual. We were told of this upon arrival. Not sure how much of it is enforced though. 4. The welcome drink is tea and if you are not a tea drinker, too bad. 5. Wi-fi is free in the Lobby but charged in the rooms, 6.The TV did not have a large variety of channels nor a guide to the channels in the room.

Overall, this seems to be a well-managed hotel with good people. I would not have any problems returning there.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelling_menons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anura B, General Manager at Tourmaline Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2014

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your kind review of The Tourmaline. We are glad that you & your family enjoyed your stay and our hospitality. We appreciate your feedback on our services and facilities and also have noted your observations. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Sri Lanka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (365)
There are newer reviews for Tourmaline Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

171 - 177 of 365 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2014

We arrived at the Tourmaline Hotel after a long and winding journey from Nuwara Eliya, and were warmly greeted with a welcoming ceremony and a cup of refreshing tea. Our room was spacious with everything we could have wanted including two suitcase racks - the first time I have ever encountered this!! The dining room was light and airy with superb views over Kandy. The food and service could not be faulted. Nothing seemed to much trouble for the smiling, friendly staff. Sadly, we were only staying for one night. If we ever go back to Kandy this is definitely the hotel for us!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank s3rjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anura B, General Manager at Tourmaline Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2014

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your great five-star review. We are delighted that you had a memorable stay at The Tourmaline enjoying true hospitality, authentic cuisine,amazing views from anywhere from are boundaries and other facilities on offer. It is encouraging to learn that you opt to stay at The Tourmaline to other accommodation in Kandy. Thank you for your valued patronage and we do know you will visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Everything about this hotel was first class...location,service, friendly and attentive staff, food was excellent.We thoroughly enjoyed our time at the Tourmaline. It also shares an outdoor pool with the Topaz hotel which is a real bonus for A city hotel. Take tuk tuk down to the market and lake side...fab!

Room Tip: All rooms have a spectacular view across Kandy.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank barclay59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anura B, General Manager at Tourmaline Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2014

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your great review. We are glad that you had a pleasant stay at the Tourmaline enjoying sumptuous food and the pool surrounding. We do appreciate your kind sentiments expressed in simple words regarding our staff personalized service,friendliness and the location etc. Thank you for your patronage and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Really enjoyed our stay hotel. The view over kandy was fantastic. The level of service was second to none and I believe the staff could not have worked harder to make us feel welcome. Quite simply a great hotel, check it out now before it gets booked up months in advance!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anura B, General Manager at Tourmaline Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

Dear Reviewer,
We thank you for the five-star review of your stay at The Tourmaline. We are delighted that you had a blissful stay with us enjoying the facilities & personalized services offered by our team. Our valued guests do have positive feedback always about their stay with our compliments and is exposed to a panoramic view from their modern rooms. We look forwarding to welcoming you again soon for a longer stay. Thank you for your patronage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

We recently stayed here for three nights, there were four of us in total.
The hotel is super, what makes it without doubt are the staff, they are excellent, their housing keeping, front of house, management are really good, always on hand to give you what you need, also the photos online don't really to it justice the rooms are huge and extremely comfortable.
Pool area could do with a touch up. The setting can't be faulted.
Food, we only had one dinner there and it was very good, breakfast is just average, buffet style......no problem recommending this hotel.
Glad to return maybe at some stage.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Franky K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anura B, General Manager at Tourmaline Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your kind review of your stay at The Tourmaline. We are delighted that you had a comfortable stay with us. We appreciate you recommending the hotel to other travelers, assisting them to find the right place to stay in Kandy. We do hope you will stay with us for a longer period during your next visit to Sri Lanka so as to experience yet again our true hospitality. Thank you for your patronage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

The property situated at higher altitude than kandy city & i was booked for deluxe room & travelling with family but rooms were little far from each other therefore we decided to go for an upgrade "suite".
Wonderful hotel, very nice staff and experience of "fine dining" was just amazing.
My kids enjoyed every bit we spent in the hotel.
They need to improve on wifi...thats the only comment i have.

Room Tip: Ask for suite if travellimg with family...little expensive but worth.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zubair I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anura B, General Manager at Tourmaline Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2014

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your kind review of The Tourmaline. We are delighted that you liked the location and the facilities on offer and also enjoyed your dining experience at our restaurant. It would have definitely been a pleasurable experience for you and your family to have been accommodated in one of our suites. We thank you for your patronage of The Tourmaline and we look forward to welcoming you once again at the hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of our Cultural Kandy tour and the hotel was lovely. After being treated to some drinks on check in we were given room 205 and it was huge, really clean, beautiful and overlooked Kandy. We were also given some fruit and sweets which was a lovely touch. The food was tasty and plentiful and served by very good waiters. There is not much to do in the hotel so we just ate, drank and then went to bed. Also, the pool is a fair distance from the hotel which seemed odd (I think it is shared between two hotels) We didn't use it so can't comment on it.

Room Tip: Ask for room 205 or 206 and you won't be disappointing.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BC_and_LR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anura B, General Manager at Tourmaline Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your kind review of The Tourmaline. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and our hospitality. We appreciate your feedback on our services and facilities.We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Sri Lanka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.2 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
1.2 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#11 of 56 in Kandy
792 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 56 in Kandy
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
1.2 mi away
Hotel Suisse
Hotel Suisse
#14 of 56 in Kandy
1,091 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 56 in Kandy
1,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tourmaline Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tourmaline Hotel

Address: Aniwatte, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range: $80 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tourmaline Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished in 2009, Hotel Tourmaline has evolved over the years to portray a resort lifestyle that caters to the discerning traveler. With painstaking attention to detail—from its elegant exterior, cuisine and ambience, the hotel is ideal for both the business as well as leisure traveler. The natural scenic beauty that surrounds the hotel creates the perfect relaxing atmosphere to help you unwind and enjoy the many modern amenities that make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Ctrip TA so you can book your Tourmaline Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing