We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A stylish oasis”
Review of Tourmaline Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tourmaline Hotel
Ranked #23 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Arriving at the very modern Hotel Tourmaline after a long day climbing Sigiriya Rock and then travelling south, the oasis of air-conditioned calm that was the Tourmaline's lobby was very welcome indeed - as was the iced tea welcome drink!

The Tourmaline is up a steep hill outside Kandy, with a great view over the neighbouring hills (though not of Central Kandy/the lake). It didn't seem viable to walk from the hotel to Kandy and back - we had a driver, so this wasn't a concern, plus there are tuk-tuks everywhere. Though we didn't get a chance to use them, the hotel does have both a swimming pool and a spa.

Our room was gigantic (as was the bed!) - very modern and luxurious with a huge gallery window to take in the view. All the mod cons you'd expect were there, including a good selection of English-speaking TV channels. The bathroom was very nice and clean, with hot water available most times of the day (though I had to make do with a cold shower when we left very early on our last day). The air-conditioning, while very effective, is a little noisy, but not enough to prevent sleep.

We had dinner and breakfast at the Tourmaline on both nights that we stayed there. The restaurant makes the most of the hotel's fantastic view. For dinner, rice and curry were done to a very high standard - with an extremely generous portion size! - and Western cuisine varied from good to very good. Breakfast was buffet style on our first day and served in baskets at our table the second time - not sure why but the standard and variety was very good. The restaurant manager is very attentive and keen to make sure his guests have a good experience - he even fetched soup for me from the buffet once to save me getting up!

Wifi is free in the lobby (and a very good standard - skype voice call to England was crystal clear), but chargeable in the rooms.

The hotel is also able to provide driver's accommodation if you are travelling with a car and driver.

Overall I would highly recommend a stay at the Tourmaline if you're visiting Kandy.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sleepyhead999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anura B, General Manager at Tourmaline Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear Reviewer,
It makes us thrilled & very proud to read your highly recommended decriptive review
We find that the real pleasure in our work is derived from knowing that we have been able to give you an exceptional and memorable stay during your stay with us and it's an encouraging achievement for our entire team.Delivering you a personalized and attentive service and making sure you are relaxed and pampered everytime in luxury is what our aim for.
Your “Oasis in the Hills of Kandy” is awaiting for your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (368)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

203 - 209 of 368 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed one night at this hotel and they had a stylish and modern interior with a beautiful pool, high end restaurant and spa. The welcome service was excellent with a delicious basket of fruit, which was a nice surprise and welcome sign welcoming us personally posted in the lobby.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anura B, General Manager at Tourmaline Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your five-star review.We are delighted with your high recommendation of The Tourmaline. It is always a pleasure to read reviews about satisfied guests. Your high estimation about our modern rooms,facilities & impressive services are encouraging and we are happy that you have enjoyed your experience in totality. Thank you very much for your kind sentiments and we do hope your next stay in Kandy will be at our Hotel. We value your patronage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed in The Tourmaline for one night in December 2013, when touring Sri Lanka right after Christmas. The hotel is located on a hilltop and has amazing views overlooking Kandy. After the warm welcome at the reception (fresh juice and cold hand towels) we were treated with a big plate of fruit and chocolates in our room. Our room on the first floor was spacious, clean, refurbished and modern looking. We had a/c, DVD player and the sitting area. Big windows let lots of light inside and the views were just a luxury. It is a pity we could not get a room for two successive nights, because the hotel was fully booked due to the hight season. We found this 4* hotel pretty elegant. There was a spa, gym and a swimming pool in the hotel, but we had no time for none of them as we checked out right after the breakfast.
Some things that could be better: free wifi worked only in the reception area and the bar. Internet should be available in all areas nowadays.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank w4nd3rluster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anura B, General Manager at Tourmaline Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for a lovely review of your stay at The Tourmaline, and for taking time to share your experience with other travelers.
It is wonderful that you have had a very relaxing stay with us, and we would have also loved it if you only could have stayed with us a bit longer as you also wished, so that we could pamper you and look after you. You are our most important asset, and there is nothing we love more than taking care of your every need whilst with us,in this unique location with luxury standards.
We would love to see you again at The Tourmaline when you next visit to sri lanka,so please come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Polite, courteous and helpful staff
excellent hospitality
they provided us with cake and lots of fruits, pineapple was great (we were on honeymoon)
no pestering and tension
good pool, most amenities are free
nice rooms, hotel is on a hill so good views, lots of mirrors in room and i love them
nice bathroom
food could have been better but staff interactions make up for everything
Serene, calm and beautiful place to stay
main complaint is avery slow wifi in hotel lobby

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rahulbamal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anura B, General Manager at Tourmaline Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your lovely review by rating us with four stars. We are delighted that we were able to make your stay a memorable one during your honeymoon. We appreciate very much for your wonderful comments about The Tourmaline.You considering our facilities and food as excellent is very encouraging and we are glad that our endeavours to keep up to the standards expected by our valued guests are recognized. We value your patronage and would wish to see you back at The Tourmaline.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

The Tourmaline is 2/3 kms from Kandy in a fabulous location perched on a hilltop with sweeping views. We had two great rooms, one with walls on two sides made up of windows to take advantage of views. We were travelling with children so it was important to have other diversions:we took full advantage of the pool and in the evening we used room service snacks which were reasonably priced and free film DVD service. The staff were great.

Breakfast was not included in our tariff and was an expensive US$15. $75 for a our family of 5, (when food, on the whole, in Sri Lanka is very cheap and good) is excessive.

We found a driver with van, Priantha, in the market who we would recommend and took us to some interesting places and was not excessively 'pushy'.

Room Tip: Corner room with windows to two sides
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holidaymakermaking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anura B, General Manager at Tourmaline Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you & your family had a comfortable stay in our interconnecting family unit enjoying the panaromic city view,good food served to your room while we provided you with the latest movies on request and specialy TheTourmaline warm hospitality from our associates. Having indulged in our facilities on offer, we hope you and your family will choose to spend the next holiday at The Tourmaline once again. Thank you very much for your patronage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We spent 10 days touring Sri Lanka over Christmas / New Year. We are a young couple from London and spent three nights here and thoroughly liked this place so felt it worth posting this review. Great setting, at the top of a hill and in some nice grounds, and the nicest staff in the hotel we came across during our trip - I'd definitely recommend to any friends. We were in one of the junior suites / family rooms (despite being two of us only) and it was huge, with massive panoramic windows.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WColt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anura B, General Manager at Tourmaline Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Dear Reviewer,
We thank you for your time in reviewing us and the 5-star rating. We are delighted that you had a great stay at The Tourmaline. It is heartening that you liked our facilities and enjoyed the overwhelming true hospitality from our associates throughout. Staying in the “Suite” room with some additional space or the ''Deluxe'' room overlooking the mountains definitely provides you with the ideal picturesque view and relaxation. We thank you for your valued patronage and we hope to see you again, when you next travel to sri lanka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights at the Tourmaline in Dec'13. We were out for most of the day but had breakfast & dinner at the resort both days. The buffet breakfast spread was ok and dinner also was decent. The rooms are large and bed comfortable. What floored us was the great service we got. The people there (esp the restaurant manager) were extremely nice, helpful and courteous. The lobby etc has a bit of staid look to it but the rooms are modern and nice. This is up the hill and so is not in the heart of Kandy (near the lake). The location to that extend is not ideal and transport can be a hassle. We booked a tuk tuk for full 2 days so was easy for us to manage. The view from the resort is also nothing to write home about. Kandy has nothing much to see around but the city has a nice feel to it esp the area around the lake.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charu_Akash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anura B, General Manager at Tourmaline Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear Reviewer,
We thank you for your time in reviewing us. We are delighted that you had a great stay at The Tourmaline located at the very peak of kandy with only 1.5km distant to the city.It is heartening that you liked our facilities and enjoyed the overwhelming breakfast buffet with many varieties. Staying in any of our rooms overlooking the city or mountains provides you with the ideal picturesque view and relaxation.will share your happy thoughts with our associates right away.We thank you for your valued patronage and we hope to see you again, when you next visit sri lanka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.2 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
1.2 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#10 of 56 in Kandy
812 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
#13 of 56 in Kandy
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Suisse
Hotel Suisse
#14 of 56 in Kandy
1,108 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 56 in Kandy
1,326 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 56 in Kandy
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tourmaline Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tourmaline Hotel

Address: Aniwatte, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range: $72 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tourmaline Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished in 2009, Hotel Tourmaline has evolved over the years to portray a resort lifestyle that caters to the discerning traveler. With painstaking attention to detail—from its elegant exterior, cuisine and ambience, the hotel is ideal for both the business as well as leisure traveler. The natural scenic beauty that surrounds the hotel creates the perfect relaxing atmosphere to help you unwind and enjoy the many modern amenities that make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA and Hotwire so you can book your Tourmaline Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing