We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic view, nice room & service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tourmaline Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tourmaline Hotel
Ranked #22 of 58 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“fantastic view, nice room & service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2011

We stayed here for 1 night and we felt very welcome when we arrived. The service is excellent. The restaurant is also great with really good food. We stayed in the new hotel and the room was very nice with a fantastic over so many mountains! The swimming pool needs some new paint and furniture. This was the only hotel during our stay where we had to pay for the wifi, and it didn't work that well. In the hotel lobby the wifi is free. The way up to the hotel is a challenge, but with a driver it is fine.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saskia d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    150
    48
    10
    11
See reviews for
76
178
18
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2011

The hotel is good and the rooms were very clean and spacious. Service was good. Staff was hospitable. Location is good. But the place is over priced. Food served was good. There is a very nice swimming pool and the view from the room is good. Overall pleasant stay but over priced.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hamsav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

I stayed in Holiday in during my visit to Sri Lanka. I think the hospitality of the staff and the quality of food deserves a special mention. Specially the Indian Restaurant was nice. The Prices were quite reasonable too and would definitely recommend this to any one who would want a nice comfortable stay

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

The hotel is on the hill and the road to there is hole after hole.
Friendly staff but prices are out of proportion. To borrow lap top and internet access for 1h hotel price was 10.00USD. Internet cafe in the city cost 1.00 per hour.
rooms are large and clean with fantastic view. One of the best hotel in Sri Lanka

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mig26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
686 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 728 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

As the cricket was on in Kandy the day we arrived, this was the only hotel available on trip advisor for our dates, and overall we were pleasantly surprised.
The service here is great... but you may want to hire a rickshaw or taxi if you go down town. The hotel is on top of a big hill, so its a steep climb to get home. On the other hand the views are great.
As I didn´t specify when booking, we were lumbered with a twin room on the third floor walk up. The rooms in the back half of this floor are unfinished, so it all felt a little weird. The beds were very low to the floor, very hard and narrow with thin mattresses. The following morning I made it clear that we would move out unless they could come up with a double. They subsequently moved us to a room with a king bed on lobby level, which was as comfortable and luxurious as you would expect for a hotel in this price bracket.
Internet was free in the lobby, but I had to pay $10 for a 10 hour card in order to get wifi in my room. This was inconvenient as we both have laptops, so we had to take it in turns to be online.
With internet such a basic necessity these days, I don´t understand why they should charge extra, particularly as tapping into their wifi doesn´t cost the hotel any extra. There is no extra charge for hot water, towels, fridge, aircon, cable TV... you get my drift.

Also there were no face cloths provided, and only one hand towel. We were told there was cable TV, but the TV quality was poor, no English speaking channels and I couldn´t see a cable box, so I´m not really sure.
Overall I feel that the staff did their best to accommodate us and make our stay as pleasant as possible. Eg. when I had a problem getting my cell phone connected they helped me call the phone company and identify the problem, despite the fact that they had a big army conference going on and were really busy, with security everywhere.
The whole building is newly remodeled and feels nice and comfortable and clean, so if you can afford it I guess its OK.

The highlight of our trip was feeding a banana to a monkey who came to visit us on our verandah... see attached photo

Room Tip: Make sure you get a king bed on the first or second floor, if you don´t want to walk up two flights...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kanan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

We visited the Tourmaline in Kandy for the second time this year and we were happy to find that standard was the same - so it wasn't just a first time experience. From the door girl to the front desk girls and boys and overall staff - always very friendly, helpful and with a smile on their faces. After a long and tiring journey, you are greeted with a smile, a cool towel and a cup of tea of you own choice. A very nice gesture.
Rooms are superb, lots of space, large comfortable bed and everything clean. Instead of a la carte at the Tourmaline we went up to the Topaz for buffet - it was delicious. Here also perfectly organized friendly staff - making your meal a pleasure. From the dinning room you have the best view over Kandy, try spotting the Temple when you are there.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoLimitsCMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2011

The hotel is located on a hill outside of Kandy. It is quite a trip to get there so better plan your own transportation.
The hotel lobby has been renovated and looks pretty nice .. unfortunately this was not the case for the room we got on the lower floor.
The room was really old, moldy and noisy. Beds were of a bad quality. Deisgn from the 50's ...
Food was average, nothing special about it.
Apparently, it is possible to get a renovated room if paying extra .. but we didnt know that in advance.
As a conclusion, I would say, try to get an renovated room or ... go somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MC2A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.2 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#9 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
#13 of 58 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kandy City Hotel
Kandy City Hotel
#24 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Randholee Resort & Spa
Randholee Resort & Spa
#20 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
1.2 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#8 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
1.3 mi away
Theva Residency
Theva Residency
#1 of 1 in Hantana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tourmaline Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tourmaline Hotel

Property: Tourmaline Hotel
Address: Aniwatte, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 58 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tourmaline Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished in 2009, Hotel Tourmaline has evolved over the years to portray a resort lifestyle that caters to the discerning traveler. With painstaking attention to detail—from its elegant exterior, cuisine and ambience, the hotel is ideal for both the business as well as leisure traveler. The natural scenic beauty that surrounds the hotel creates the perfect relaxing atmosphere to help you unwind and enjoy the many modern amenities that make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelsClick, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Tourmaline Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing