We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and quiet with great view of the surroundings”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Majestic Tourist Hotel
Ranked #29 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Me and my fiance stayed here for three nights in the begining of january 2012. It felt nice to stay in a clean room after having spent some time in India. The manager took good care of us, and we felt like he was genuinely interested in giving us a good stay. The location was perfect fo us, nice and quiet and only a few minutes on a tuk tuk to the city centre. Pricing was decent, even though they charged us quite a lot for laundry. Free wifi in the lobby was a plus.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (195)
There are newer reviews for Majestic Tourist Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 195 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2012

Whilst it is set off the road (up a steep rutted non lit drive way), it is far from quiet. A main highway is situated at the bottom of the drive way so trucks and vehicles zoom up and down it most of the night.whlist the front rooms have balconys the furnishings are tired and dated.we had what looked like an old army locker for a cupboard in our room, the bed sheets and cover was clean but stained, and the towels were faded, damp and almost antique.for 5200rs this was overpriced especially after we visited some other properties overlooking the lake up by the lookout which were only 300rs more.the restaurant could be good, but is in need of a good clean.it still looks half finished with electrics not finished, paint buckets sitting around,workmanship lift still there.bar has an old tv sitting on it and a whole lot of junk.guest lounge....the seats and couches are filthy, i dodnt want to sit on them.bfast is included which is ok.tablecloths arnt changed so remain dirty.wifi is free but sporadic.whilist it was the festival there was certainly better, cleaner and more value for money options in kandy.dont believe websites that tell you accommodation has to be booked far in advance.you can still find great accommodation without booking months in advance for the festival (unless you want the queens hotel). No ac either for 5200rs.Manager is friendly and helpful.stay here only if you can't find a better option.

Room Tip: Front upper floors
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank propsgirlnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

The owners are fantastic people who really go the extra mile to make your experience in kandy as good as it can be. They're full of advice & tips and the wait for the food is well worth it, Joseph's a great cook.
Personally I found the location to be good it was a nice 20 minute walk to the hustle of Kandy centre which meant that it was far enough away for you to have relaxing nights if needed.
I've stayed in hundreds of hostels over the last year, few of which I would bother giving a review for but the likelihood is if you go, you'll stay longer than you thought you would.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grantsmith007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

The manageress was lovely to myself and my partner and wound up upgrading our room for free after we returned for the third time. The room we had with a balcony had a few bugs in the room as there was a tree overhanging the balcony area, but once I spoke to reception they came into the room with a can of ninja bug repellant which went beyond what I would expect!

The food was delicious, but in a typical sri lankan way took an age to come, but this is only as it was all cooked fresh to order. The staff offer great advice on the local area, and can provide drivers for day trips as well!

The rooms were well priced, perhaps could have been a little less worn down, but were clean enough.

I'd recommend it, just dont book online, during our short stay 3 or 4 people turned up for rooms they has booked online only to find out they had been given to people who had booked over the phone.

Room Tip: ask to see the different price ranges, and of its after lunchtime offer to pay the lowest rate for t...
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MajorandKapota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

I have spent several nights in Majestic and each morning had a nice walk down the road to the center. Great location! Their terace restaurant offers a great view while the food is fantastic. The room was very tidy and internet was working. Great value for money!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Orientoholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

My pal and I were traveling and the proprietor saw us walking up the hill and offered us a lift. We declined as we had booked into another hotel just down the road which incidentally we were more than impressed with. This act of kindness did pursued us to take a look at her rooms just in case we were missing out. Whilst there, were had dinner, which was amazing and probably the best food I had tasted ever during my entire stay. I highly recommend eating here if you're ever in Kandy and please tell me what you had. I had noodles and my pal had rice, needless to say I wish i had both as they were both delicious. It was expensive and was swigged down with 6 bottles of Lion....... Never saw the rooms as the were full and out of respect the owner wouldn't let us in and I found that very impressive. Staff were amazing, owner very courteous all set with fruit bats flying past and all manner of wildlife all around and we were 7 stories up with some amazing views. Highly recommended and worth the climb up the floors to the top of this enchanted establishment.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brightonleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights, after recommendation of one couple we met in Pollonaruwa. Its was a good choice. Clean room with hot water, nice view and beautiful roof terrace when you can watch birds comming down to sleep by lake every evening (they start comming about 6 PM). Free wifi! Food was very good and staff very nice and friendly. The owner gave us the telephone number to call her when we will have any problem in Sri Lanka, we really appreciated it, but didnt need it. Quite further from the center, but nice walk (about 7 minutes to get to the lake!)

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petra J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.2 mi away
Kandy View Hotel
Kandy View Hotel
#35 of 56 in Kandy
545 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 56 in Kandy
709 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Amanda Hills
Hotel Amanda Hills
#34 of 56 in Kandy
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#18 of 56 in Kandy
500 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kandy Holiday Home
Kandy Holiday Home
#37 of 56 in Kandy
53 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kandyan View Holiday Bungalow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Tourist Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Tourist Hotel

Address: 83/40 Ampitiya Rd | At the End of Kandy Lake in the Beginning of Ampitiya Road, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range: $16 - $22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Majestic Tourist Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Majestic Tourist Hotel is located in a quiet, clean area within the Kandy city limit, over-looking rain forest and beautiful mountains. We are one and half km from the city center. We have 20 rooms with attach bath, hot/cold water, some of them have balcony and a/c ( a/c on add charge ) we are approved by *Sri Lanka Tourist Board as **A** Grade. Walking distance to Temple of Tooth, Kandyan Dancing Hall and Ayurveda center etc. Free Breakfast, Free Pick up from Kandy City on arrival, also we do Tours and Airport pick-up for very reasonable rates. Roof Top Restaurant over-looking Kandy Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Majestic Tourist Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing