We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food, service and courteousy in Sri Lanka”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Majestic Tourist Hotel
Ranked #29 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Reviewed February 21, 2012

My pal and I were traveling and the proprietor saw us walking up the hill and offered us a lift. We declined as we had booked into another hotel just down the road which incidentally we were more than impressed with. This act of kindness did pursued us to take a look at her rooms just in case we were missing out. Whilst there, were had dinner, which was amazing and probably the best food I had tasted ever during my entire stay. I highly recommend eating here if you're ever in Kandy and please tell me what you had. I had noodles and my pal had rice, needless to say I wish i had both as they were both delicious. It was expensive and was swigged down with 6 bottles of Lion....... Never saw the rooms as the were full and out of respect the owner wouldn't let us in and I found that very impressive. Staff were amazing, owner very courteous all set with fruit bats flying past and all manner of wildlife all around and we were 7 stories up with some amazing views. Highly recommended and worth the climb up the floors to the top of this enchanted establishment.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brightonleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (195)
There are newer reviews for Majestic Tourist Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 195 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights, after recommendation of one couple we met in Pollonaruwa. Its was a good choice. Clean room with hot water, nice view and beautiful roof terrace when you can watch birds comming down to sleep by lake every evening (they start comming about 6 PM). Free wifi! Food was very good and staff very nice and friendly. The owner gave us the telephone number to call her when we will have any problem in Sri Lanka, we really appreciated it, but didnt need it. Quite further from the center, but nice walk (about 7 minutes to get to the lake!)

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petra J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Friendly helpful staff. Free wifi. Free breakfast with the best view in town. Clean comfortable rooms. Easy walk into town, slightly more difficult coming back but do-able. What more could the honest backpacker want? Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have the best views but rooms at the back are cooler in the shade.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnnycManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2011

Unfortunately there is absolutely nothing positive about this hotel to report. I highly recommend no one stay there. The first and most distressing reason for avoiding this hotel at all costs, is that they have an intolerable termite infestation problem. There were over 100 termites that took over my room about one hour into my stay, The management was no where to be found despite my spending 1 hour trying to find any of the staff. I did not sleep because the termites were falling in my eyes and buzzing in my ears. No matter how many I exterminated more kept coming. When I finally found the manager in the morning ( after a horrible night ), I told him about my horrible experience, his response was " THAT'S NOT MY PROBLEM". He made no effort to make amends, and was arrogant and indignant. Also, if that wasn't enough,The hotel is extremely far from the city , and makes it very difficult to go to the city. The breakfast was terrible, flies on the food; a real 3rd world experience...

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Briangreen007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

stayed in this hostel or 'guest house' as they're called in sri lanka. Very clean and spacious and Joseph the manager was incredibly helpful and friendly. He even drove us to the bottom of the hill, on which the hostel is sat in order for us to get a tuk tuk into the centre of Kandy,

Important to note a couple of things... Do not expect A/C, do not expect a hotel (it is a hostel!!) make sure you let the staff know what time you will be coming home - they lock the outside gate very early and know that the owners are quite religious people and therefore it is not essential but this should be respected - we felt a bit weird about drinking there and cursing in front of the owner. Absolutely not a problem at all but i probably wouldnt stay here is you are looking for a fun filled thailand-esque party night!!

would stay here again :)

Room Tip: ask to stay on the first floor and for a balcony facing down the hill - beautiful views!!!!
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeginnerBackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2011

this place is about 20 minutes from centre of Kandy,
it is basic clean, has hot water, wifi, breakfast included, the view is nice from the rooftop restaurant, so everything you need
the owners and workers are friendly and helpful, it is quiet of a night so you can have a good night sleep, we had balcony and room on front.

Room Tip: get room on the front
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bournemouthJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2011

Having recently stayed at the Majestic, I can report really positive things. The hotel has a great view over looking Kandy- it truly is an exceptional location being close to town, but far enough away to enjoy the great views of Kandy (a 3 minute Tuk tuk ride from down town Kandy).
Joseph, the owner, made us feel very welcome, giving us a ride into Kandy when we first arrived simply to be nice. His son Gihan is probably the kindest person i have met in my travels. He made our experience completely unique, offering us a side of Kandy, and the surrounding country side that we may otherwise not have seen. We where on a budget, but it was well worth getting him as our taxi driver, instead of using local public transport (buses etc).
This is the place i'd recommend most out of anywhere I've stayed. Although the accommodation is nice, and also quite affordable, the staff made the difference.
The review written below is absolute nonsense. I think what best sums up our experience is that I would visit Kandy again in a few years time simply to stay here again.
A truly great time!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harrison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.2 mi away
Kandy View Hotel
Kandy View Hotel
#35 of 56 in Kandy
545 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 56 in Kandy
709 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Amanda Hills
Hotel Amanda Hills
#34 of 56 in Kandy
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#18 of 56 in Kandy
501 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kandy Holiday Home
Kandy Holiday Home
#37 of 56 in Kandy
53 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kandyan View Holiday Bungalow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Tourist Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Tourist Hotel

Address: 83/40 Ampitiya Rd | At the End of Kandy Lake in the Beginning of Ampitiya Road, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range: $16 - $22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Majestic Tourist Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Majestic Tourist Hotel is located in a quiet, clean area within the Kandy city limit, over-looking rain forest and beautiful mountains. We are one and half km from the city center. We have 20 rooms with attach bath, hot/cold water, some of them have balcony and a/c ( a/c on add charge ) we are approved by *Sri Lanka Tourist Board as **A** Grade. Walking distance to Temple of Tooth, Kandyan Dancing Hall and Ayurveda center etc. Free Breakfast, Free Pick up from Kandy City on arrival, also we do Tours and Airport pick-up for very reasonable rates. Roof Top Restaurant over-looking Kandy Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Majestic Tourist Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing