We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay”
Review of Lake Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lake Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kandalama
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We stayed in Lake Lodge on the 15th and 16th of April and had a relaxed time there. The room was spacious and enjoyed the nice view from the balcony. Our 7 months old baby too had a comfortablea and happy stay. Room was clear and nicely set up. Bathrooms were cool, with the raw look of its architecture. The bed sheets and mosquito net could have been more clearer than expected because of the baby. Anyway it didn't matter because we were prepared with her necessasities.
The food was excellent. Enjoyed natural taste of Sri Lankan fruits and vegetables. I love the candle dinner by the side of the swimming pool, we had. …which was really amazing. Thank you for the great hospitality we had throughout the stay. Though it was quite hot during this period, due to good service and facilities we had a lovely stay. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paridepthi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakelodge_13, Manager at Lake Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear Guest,


We are really glad to hear that you have enjoyed your holiday with us and we appreciate the times taken give us your feedback. Your comments concerning the food & the room layout is very much appreciated.
Issues that you have encountered is very well noted, we will definitely take appropriate action.
Thank you once again & we eagerly look forward to welcoming you back at our hotel for yet another memorable stay.

Best Regards,
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (322)
There are newer reviews for Lake Lodge Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 322 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2014

The best way to relax and enjoy life was this stop in Kandalama not only the service was impeccable, the food a true delight for the taste buds and the company of Michel and Heinz, the managers a bliss! We felt pampered all the time we were there! The area is absolutely beautiful, take the time to wake up early and borrow one of the bicycle to enjoy a ride along the lake or better loose yourself in the ricefields and observe the farmers and the nature, and the peaceful surrounds you! Don't waste your time in another hotel, this place is for you!!!
Carol and Wim

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakelodge_13, Manager at Lake Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are really glad to hear that you have enjoyed your holiday with us and we appreciate the time taken give us your feedback.

I am happy to hear that our team has taken very good care of you and that you have enjoyed the food. We are pleased to hear that you have also enjoyed and appreciated the environment the hotel is situated in as well as other services and facilities we have to offer.
We are welcoming you back to Lake Lodge Boutique Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

The hotel is gorgeous, service is great, food is out of this world, rooms are very large. You are in the jungle - use your mosquito net at night. Mosquitos didn't seem to be a problem but there were spiders and other insects. I didn't use the mosquito net last night and awoke with a centipede on my arm.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
Thank ExpatFromNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakelodge_13, Manager at Lake Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Dear Guest

We are really glad to hear that you have enjoyed your holiday with us and we appreciate the time taken give us your feedback. We are delighted to have you as our guest. Our dedicated and enthusiastic ambassadors are here to ensure that you short stay with us will be an enjoyable and memorable. Thank You very much for keep interesting towards to Lake Lodge Boutique Hotel. It was big pleases to serve our warm hospitality.

We look forward to welcoming you'll back to Lake Lodge Boutique Hotel.

Best Regards
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stayed in Lake Lodge Kandalama from Feb 13th til Feb 16th and had a wonderful experience there. As A Sri Lankan accustomed to the country, I was a bit anxious, having to stay in a "smaller" hotel as I knew standards were not often respected. I feared like many places worlwide that the "boutique" appellation would be usurped. However, my usual picks being all full on these dates, we had no choice.
I never regretted that outcome! Not only was the setting fantastic, on top of a hill, surrounded by the jungle, with a beautiful view on the Kandalama lake but the food was absolutely delicious! Fresh ingredients, beautiful and hearty dishes. The atmosphere, at night, with the candles around the pool was truly magical.
A special thumbs up to Michel and Heinz who are not just hotel managers but genuine hosts. And a warm thank you to the whole staff, esp. Ranjith. We will no longer stay in Kandalama nor Amaya Lake. Our choice is made: it is Lake Lodge all the way!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ayomig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakelodge_13, Manager at Lake Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are really glad to hear that you have enjoyed your holiday with us and we appreciate the time taken give us your feedback.

I am happy to hear that our team has taken very good care of you and that you have enjoyed the food. We are pleased to hear that you have also enjoyed and appreciated the environment the hotel is situated in as well as other services and facilities we have to offer.
We are welcoming you back to Lake Lodge Boutique Hotel.

Best Regards,
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

All I could say is that Our one day stay at this beautiful Hotel was amazing and full of surprises.
No other Hotel in this area could have a better view. The Lake at one side and the Jungle at the other Side. Situated in a slightly high area The Hotels views are breathtaking. Being a mountain guy I'm not a fan of lakes, but seeing this particulate view of the lake I was like "Wow". And what more this is the only hotel in the area where you could see a lovely "Sun Set" and "Sun Rise".

The staff of the Hotel and the services that they provided was exceptional. Being to several Hotels during the past few years This was one of the best services which I received being a local traveler.

The food was amazing! Its very hard to describe how good the meals were. You should taste it to experience it. I'm not very good at putting all my experience in words. But Finally what I wish to say is that The Lake Lodge Kandalama Hotel is not a place where I would go to find time for "Reading" or watch "Cricket and English TV" and find fault with "Furniture". Come on This is a place filled with adventure and excitement just have fun while you are here. The rest of my feelings will be expressed through my Photos.

P.S : The Hotel management Cannot ( I Repeat "CANNOT") do any thing with the dead trees in the middle of the lake. They are there just because the nature wants them there. So complaining about that is not worth IT. :D

Room Tip: Try your best to select the top Rooms.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakelodge_13, Manager at Lake Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time for the review you posted on Trip Advisor. It was thrilling to read as it seems like you were genuinely having a great time at the Lake Lodge Boutique Hotel while writing this review. We are always happy with our guests having a wonderful experience at the property and listening or reading these experiences is something I look forward to.

I am extremely glad that the Lake Lodge Boutique Hotel was able to live up to your expectations, and our team was able to provide this wonderful experience you speak of, the Lake Lodge Boutique Hotel is an immaculately designed property surrounded by an equally rich environment.

Thank you once again for your review. I also would like to remind you that you are most welcome to come back to the Lake Lodge boutique Hotel.

Best Regards
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We stayed at Lake Lodge the night before our Wedding in Dambulla, this place was beautiful and very well maintained. The view of the lake was breath taking especially during dinner time when the candle lights were lit. The rooms were exceptionally nice and made us feel very comfortable. The staff were incredibly accommodating and pleasantly well mannered. The owner was very personal and made sure he greeted each guest. I felt very welcomed and taken care of at Lake Lodge.

When we came back from our ceremony they had decorated our room with balloons and flowers congratulating us on our marriage. I left this place with tears in my eyes it was so beautiful and we couldn't have picked a better place to stay.

I want to personally thank all the staff members for creating such an amazing experience for us, I wish we could have stayed longer. I hope to be back in the near future.

Ayubowan!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChantelMck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakelodge_13, Manager at Lake Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor following your stay at Lake Lodge Boutique Hotel in Kandalama and we hope that you had a pleasant journey back home.
We were honored to read your great review and it gives us great pleasure to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us especially about the staff.

We have shared your compliments to the entire team and they are equally happy to know that their efforts are so well appreciated. We are certain that this will serve as a source of inspiration for us to achieve the higher standards of excellence as we are known for as a Lake Lodge Boutique Hotel
We thank you once again for your compliments and we all look forward to having you back with us soon.

Best Regards
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

"Wherever man is involved, it can't be really perfect"

After some days in the mountains we have chosen the BoutiqueHotel LakeLodge as the final step.

The area is full of touristic and unique sites in a very short distance from the hotel; but after 15 years we don't need it anymore.
After the exciting and special entry we got a warmly welcome by Michel (the second owner Heinz was unfortunately not there) and the staff. Even when the entry was too steepish for a 49cc automatic ladybike we enjoyed the arrival.

Wherever we looked there were small but matching details. We felt the love and heart which was involved in all this. The upper area with restaurant, pool and spa was amazing. Our room at the upper floor was just perfect: spacious, functional, heartfully decorated. The view over the trees up to the mountains beautiful.
You want some critic: The fruit platter in the room consisted of the same fruits we got for breakfast and were arranged the same way...sic
The staff did really everything that we felt more than at home...it was a dream!
The food was arranged with love and delightful...and so on
(In the meantime we know the difficulties of finding and training good hotel staff; we NEVER experienced all over the island that standard...what a hard work of the Management...congratulations!)

Thanks a lot for these wonderful 20 hours in paradise!!!!

Room Tip: The view from the upper rooms is exciting. Please tell the staff about your wishes/critics as soon...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roli H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakelodge_13, Manager at Lake Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are really glad to hear that you have enjoyed your holiday with us and we appreciate the time taken give us your feedback. We are delighted to have you as our guest. Our dedicated and enthusiastic ambassadors are here to ensure that you short stay with us will be an enjoyable and memorable. Thank You very much for keep interesting towards to Lake Lodge Boutique Hotel. It was big pleases to serve our warm hospitality.

We look forward to welcoming you'll back to Lake Lodge Boutique Hotel.

Best Regards
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kandalama
1.3 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#2 of 15 in Dambulla
3,592 reviews
2.2 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,658 reviews
4.4 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#2 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Jetwing Lake
Jetwing Lake
#1 of 15 in Dambulla
139 reviews
9.1 mi away
Water Garden Sigiriya
Water Garden Sigiriya
#1 of 20 in Sigiriya
123 reviews
11.7 mi away
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Lodge Hotel

Address: Wewa Road | 16 Division, Kandalama 21106, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandalama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kandalama
Price Range: $113 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lake Lodge Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greetings From Lake Lodge Boutique Hotel....!We are kind to inform you that the Lake Lodge Boutique Hotel is now running with a new management from 01st October 2012. The new management was brought this property in February 2012 and after that we were closed for 8 months for renovation of old six rooms and billed new six rooms. We reopened in October 2012. The history of the original structure dates back to the time of the construction of Kandalama hotel in the Early 1990's. The famous Architect Geoffrey Bawa was taken over the area by helicopter to choose a site for the Kandalama hotel. Having preferred the Lake Lodge site, found it too small an area to build the Kandalama hotel. He then recommended his friend Mr Hameed whom he had already designed a boutique hotel for, to acquire this land. The land was subsequently acquired on a long term lease from the government for development.The original plan was to have 20 rooms, however due to constraints caused mainly due to the slump in the tourist industry during the war years; construction began only in 2004 and was stopped at six rooms. Provision was made however for the expansion plan, a large swimming pool constructed, kitchen and restaurant. The original project consisted of 6 large 450 sq ft rooms overlooking the Mihintale hills and dambulla caves. The swimming pool, kitchen and reception area overlook the Kandalama reservoir. The extent of the property is 4 acres. The establishment continues to provide its guest with the highest quality standards in Hospitality service combined with two contrasting yet equally fantastic panoramic views that immediately tends to relax the mind. The dry zone sunset to the west on a clear day is much more spectacular across the sky than from the more humid coast of the Island."Experience Our Worm Hospitality" Thank YouBest Regards, Ranjith P'KumaraManager ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Lake Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing