We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to wind down after a long road journey”
Review of Lake Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lake Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kandalama
Certificate of Excellence
singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best place to wind down after a long road journey”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We did not have a very high expectation on the accommodation that we were going to stay in Kandalama. After all, it is not a big city such as Colombo. As long as the room was clean, the bed was comfortable and it was not a terrible service, we would be satisfied. I was wrong. From the first dinner that we had, everything was fantastic. The food, the staff, it was a nice surprise. We retreated to bed feeling very happy. Good choice by our travel agent to book us here. On the second day, after a long trip visiting historical places, there was nothing that we looked forward but going back to Lake Lodge, looking forward to the chef's special and chatting with Michel, Ranjith and everyone who was serving us at dinner. I fact, we asked our guide/driver if we could end the day's trip earlier as we wanted to go back earlier to Lake Lodge to enjoy the surrounding before it was getting dark. Even the waiter who was serving us (sorry, forgot the name) seemed to be enjoying his work and has deep knowledge on Srilanka history that we could ask him about certain parts of history that we missed from our heritage trip earlier in the day.
We did not expect the food to be top notch. We were wrong...I can truly say the chef cooked from the heart. His pineapple rice was the best we have ever had..and he is not a Thai! We were given spring rolls on the first night as compliment from chef and we got addicted to it. We requested spring rolls for the subsequent night and even the subsequent breakfast.
We were feeling sad having to leave the beautiful place that gave us very good memory. We will definitely stay there again if we pass by Kandalama.
Once again, big thank you to Michel, Hans, Ranjith and the rest of the staff who made our 2 night stay a memorable one.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobiSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakelodge_13, Manager at Lake Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Sir/ Madam,

It was a pleasure having you and your family at Lake Lodge, and we thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback. It was also a pleasure to meet with you during the stay.

I am happy to hear that our team has taken very good care of you and that you have enjoyed the food. We are pleased to hear that you have also enjoyed and appreciated the environment the hotel is situated in as well as other services and facilities we have offer and that the team has made your stay comfortable and memorable. We look forward to welcoming you back to Lake Lodge Boutique Kandalama when you next plan a trip to Sri Lanka.

Warm Regards,

Ranjith P’Kumara
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    31
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
79
164
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Our two families have just returned from a trip to Sri Lanka. This was our second destination and we couldn't believe our luck. The rooms are beautiful, comfortable and private. The food was spectacular and as Lake Lodge is small the service was individualised. Thankyou to Michel, Hans, Ranjith, Anoj, and Ravi, as well as the rest of the team. We stayed 3 nights and it was a great base from which to visit Dambulla Cave Temples, Sigirya and Polonnaruwa. Lovely extras such as icy poles when we were lazing by the pool, the last night special dessert of Floating Islands, and the complimentary cocktails and bruschetta.
Well done everyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakelodge_13, Manager at Lake Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear All,

It was a pleasure having you and the families at Lake Lodge, and we thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback. It was also a pleasure to meet with you during the stay.

I am happy to hear that our team has taken very good care of you and that you have enjoyed the food. We are pleased to hear that you have also enjoyed and appreciated the environment the hotel is situated in as well as other services and facilities we have offer and that the team has made your stay comfortable and memorable. We look forward to welcoming you back to Lake Lodge Boutique Kandalama when you next plan a trip to Sri Lanka.

Warm Regards,

Ranjith P’Kumara
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I wasn't sure about this hotel after looking at the photos on trip adviser. However, I'm so glad we booked to stay here. Everything about the hotel was excellent, the limited number of rooms, large swimming pool, superb restaurant overlooking the lake and the view from the balcony over the tree tops. What made this an exceptional hotel though was the level of service. The managers were always offering us treats like cocktails and bruschetta before dinner and were keen that we requested anything we wanted for dinner. The other staff were always on hand to make sure we were comfortable and brought us ice lollies and ice cold water by the pool, unlike most hotels you didn't have to pay for these little extras, we were told to feel "at home". We wished we had stayed longer as there is a lot to do - ride the hotel's bikes around the lake, Dambulla caves, climb Sigiriya, visit Polonnaruwa and of course relax by the pool.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakelodge_13, Manager at Lake Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
23rd March 2013

Dear Sir/ Madam,

We are really glad to hear that you have enjoyed your holiday with us and we appreciate the time taken give us your feedback.
Thank you for staying with us and glad you enjoyed the experience being one with hospitality and nature. Your kind sentiments and comments are highly valued while looking forward to welcoming you back at lake lodge boutique hotel kandalama.

Encora Grazier Per Tutti.


Kind Regards,

Ranjith P'Kumara
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This was the first hotel we stayed at on a 3 week trip to Sri Lanka. Situated in the cultural triangle the rooms are well appointed. With views over Lake Kandalama and of Lion Rock it can hardly be better placed. The rooms on the first floor make you feel you are living in the treetops. Beautiful pool and good value spa. The food was excellent, both the local menu and the items on the western menu. Service was the highlight. Nothing was too much trouble and the staff were all charming. We would thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the rooms on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATY_58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakelodge_13, Manager at Lake Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

We are really glad to hear that you have enjoyed your holiday with us and we appreciate the time taken give us your feedback.
I am happy to hear that our team has taken very good care of you and that you have enjoyed the food. We are pleased to hear that you have also enjoyed and appreciated the environment the hotel is situated in as well as other services and facilities we have to offer.
We are welcoming you back to Lake Lodge Boutique Hotel.

Kind regards,

Mr. Ranjith P'Kumara
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Lake Lodge is a hidden gem which I am almost reluctant to share! The accommodation, location and food were superb, and the genuine warmth of Michel's welcome, his local knowledge and his desire to make every experience as good as it could possibly be lifted Lake Lodge to a very special level indeed. Our children appreciated being treating as responsible guests and enjoyed the friendliness of all the staff and the convivial mealtimes. Many thanks to Michel, Hans and all concerned for a wonderful visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DRichards163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakelodge_13, Manager at Lake Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
It was a pleasure having you and the family at Lake Lodge, and we thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback. We are really happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and it was also a pleasure to meet with you during the stay. The weather was certainly a damper during those days, however we are happy to hear that you were still able to enjoy some of the facilities we have to offer and that the team has made your stay comfortable and memorable. We look forward to welcoming you back to Lake Lodge Boutique Kandalama when you next plan a trip to Sri Lanka.

Kind Regards,

Ranjith P’Kumara
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Fantastic surroundings right on Kandalama Lake, free bikes for guests. But the best was the warm, friendly and always helpful service. Michel, the French manager of the restaurant bent over backwards to make sure I got authentic Sri Lankan food. Great ambiance in the outdoor dining area overlooking the pool and the lake. And the massages were terrific. A great place to explore Sri Lanka's cultural triangle and to get pampered at the same time.

Room Tip: Chose a room on ground floor so monkeys don't jump around on your roof all nite. I had to change...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrincessMisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakelodge_13, Manager at Lake Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to give us you feedback and we are happy to hear that you have had a wonderful experience during your stay with us and that you enjoyed the food and the enthusiasm and service of our team.
We look forward to seeing you again when on your next visit Sri Lanka.

Kind regards,

Ranjith P'Kumara
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We have been using this resort for our clients from around the world.I must say the only comments we ended-up hearing was that " its amazing " !! The hotel is very well situated & the view is beyond imagination !! The service is the most amazing thing.You name it they get it to you .The GM himself walks the extra mile & even would step in to serve your dish. Boutique hotels & villas are the latest trend in Sri Lank.It would not be too much if we say that Lake Lodge Kandalama is the crown hotel in the entire cultural triangle !!!

Room Tip: The upper floor rooms got the best back yard view !! It comes with a little price difference but I g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Golden L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakelodge_13, Manager at Lake Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear All,

We are really glad to hear that you have enjoyed your holiday with us and we appreciate the time taken give us your feedback.
we are happy to hear that our team has taken very good care of you and that you have enjoyed the food.We are pleased to hear that you have also enjoyed and appreciated the environment the hotel is situated in as well as other services and facilities we have to offer.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Lake Lodge Boutique Hotel...

Best Regards

Ranjith P'Kumara
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kandalama
1.3 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#1 of 15 in Dambulla
3,440 reviews
2.2 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,555 reviews
4.4 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#1 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Signature by Amaya
Signature by Amaya
#6 of 15 in Dambulla
221 reviews
3.7 mi away
Jetwing Lake
Jetwing Lake
#4 of 15 in Dambulla
81 reviews
9.5 mi away
Amaara Forest Hotel Sigiriya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Lodge Hotel

Property: Lake Lodge Hotel
Address: Wewa Road | 16 Division, Kandalama 21106, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandalama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kandalama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lake Lodge Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greetings From Lake Lodge Boutique Hotel....!We are kind to inform you that the Lake Lodge Boutique Hotel is now running with a new management from 01st October 2012. The new management was brought this property in February 2012 and after that we were closed for 8 months for renovation of old six rooms and billed new six rooms. We reopened in October 2012. The history of the original structure dates back to the time of the construction of Kandalama hotel in the Early 1990's. The famous Architect Geoffrey Bawa was taken over the area by helicopter to choose a site for the Kandalama hotel. Having preferred the Lake Lodge site, found it too small an area to build the Kandalama hotel. He then recommended his friend Mr Hameed whom he had already designed a boutique hotel for, to acquire this land. The land was subsequently acquired on a long term lease from the government for development.The original plan was to have 20 rooms, however due to constraints caused mainly due to the slump in the tourist industry during the war years; construction began only in 2004 and was stopped at six rooms. Provision was made however for the expansion plan, a large swimming pool constructed, kitchen and restaurant. The original project consisted of 6 large 450 sq ft rooms overlooking the Mihintale hills and dambulla caves. The swimming pool, kitchen and reception area overlook the Kandalama reservoir. The extent of the property is 4 acres. The establishment continues to provide its guest with the highest quality standards in Hospitality service combined with two contrasting yet equally fantastic panoramic views that immediately tends to relax the mind. The dry zone sunset to the west on a clear day is much more spectacular across the sky than from the more humid coast of the Island."Experience Our Worm Hospitality" Thank YouBest Regards, Ranjith P'KumaraManager ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Lake Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing