We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
AVANI Kalutara Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
LTI Sinbad(Kalutara)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,868)
Filter reviews
1,868 results
Traveler rating
897
626
213
89
43
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
897
626
213
89
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskani lankared lobsterbeach boyssri lankatuk tuklagoon viewour honeymoonhalf boardday tripindian oceanpool area isroom boycurriesturtle hatcheryrestaurant managerevery eveningtwo weeks
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
911 - 916 of 1,868 reviews
Reviewed May 25, 2014

I believe this was formally the Kani Lanka hotel. We stay for a week at the end of a 6 day tour. It was very nice and low key. The room we had 200, was exellant. the food was brilliant and catered for everyones tastes. if you could see what you fancied and asked some would get it if they had it, no trouble at all. We were all inclusive and found the quality of our menu drinks and food as good as the half board guests. although you didn't need to we tipped on a regular basis as they couldn't do enough and always went the extra mile. The sea has wave breakers which are good to watch, I didn't see anyone swimming and wouldn't advise it. The usual sellers on the beach were not a problem. At the time of our visit I think the hotel was quiet and I loved it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

We enjoyed a very good week at this resort hotel. It is located about 2.5 hours drive from Columbo airport by taxi transfer which was an interesting ride seeing the local comunities and getting a feel for this very beautiful and undeveloped country. Once at the hotel you will appreciate it has a unique location across the lagoon. The views from the hotel and in particular from the open terrace where you could eat your meals from the very extensive international buffet, were lovely, with the lights from the town adding to this at night. Strangely for us many guests chose to eat in the restaurant which was air conditioned, for us sitting in 30º on a breezy terrace was one of the reasons we were there, and the restaurant felt a bit canteen like. The staff were all attentive, they really tried to make you feel cared for and welcome.

We went at the start of the monsoon and this meant red flags on the stunning beach so no swimming. The waves were impressive and looked as though you could surf on them. We wanted to dive nearby but the rough sea and poor vis meant we couldn't .
The hotel gives you bottles of drinking water each day and you can boil more with your room kettle, this meant we could take our bottled water to dinner if we still had it left and saved money on drinks, however the bar prices were very reasonable. We did all our tours with a local lad we met on the beach called Lucky who looked after us very well and charged us a lot less than the tour guide. We visited an elephant sanctuary, my husband had a ride and we washed the elephant in the river. We also enjoyed the turtle hatchery, a river safari, tea plantation, some temple visits and much more. Staying in the hotel all day was not for us, but for those that did, the pool was lovely, the sun beds comfy and many had umbrellas if you want shade.
Lastly we had a courtyard room overlooking the gardens and lagoon, watching the chipmunks in the gardens was fun and our room was spacious and comfy, especially the huge bed.
We had flowers left on the bed in pretty displays daily and at night the room was sprayed against mosquitoes. We had very few bites and we did apply spray to ourselves both day and night as dengue fever is a possibility apparently. This was the nicest hotel we saw on our travels so were very pleased to be guests there.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avensis2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Hotel is in a lovely setting with the ocean one side and lagoon the other. Staff very polite and can't do enough for you. Rooms clean spacious. Had a 6 course meal on the beach one night which is highly recommended.
Only small thing that we didn't like was the people trying to sell you excursions on the perimeter of the hotel. Hotel trips worked out cheaper anyway. Amazing lovely holiday. Felt like paradise for our honeymoon.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hambo29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

There were lots of positives about this hotel - lovely rooms with great cleaning staff who did an amazing job every day. We had a balcony with ours which was lovely to sit out at night on and watch the incredible thunderstorms they were having at this time of year! The food was good although the most expensive buffet we had in Sri Lanka. The pool area was nice and you could walk straight on to the beach - although as with a lot of Sri Lanka you were not able to swim in the sea. My biggest gripe with this hotel is that we ordered a taxi one day to take us to galle - a very famous local town just over an hour away. We were happy to pay more for them to arrange the taxi as you always think you are in safe hands this way. The taxi driver they arranged didn't have a clue where he was going - over the course of a days travelling he must have stopped 30 - 40 times to ask people for directions. His English was limited, which is fine but under the circumstances we were very confused as to what was going on and why he appeared to have no clue about where anything was. On the way back we wanted to stop at the turtle sanctuary, again a very famous attraction in the area but he got so confused we ended up just telling him to take us back to the hotel. Upon arrival at the hotel my partner went straight to the front desk to tell them what had happened and how disappointed we were. They offered nothing by way of apology, at the time or after or when we were leaving. The following day we went down to the red lobster, our favourite restaurant just a couple of minutes walk from the hotel and the lovely owner yohan took us down to the turtle sanctuary for a great price. If you are looking for a taxi just go down to him, there are a lot of guys who hang around the hotel offering taxi services but I just wouldn't trust them!
A verbal apology would have sufficed after what was a frustrating day - and I do feel this tarred our otherwise good experience of this hotel.

Stayed: May 2014
2  Thank Teresas2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for five nights during our honeymoon. We had just finished a tour and so had stayed in three other hotels before this. Some aspects were great; the pool was good, the location of the hotel was nice, the food was fine. However when we arrived at the hotel they had (very kindly) left a cake and some flowers for our honeymoon - the whole thing was COVERED in ants going up the wall and all over the dresser. When we mentioned this to reception they did not take this very seriously. This happened everyday flowers were left on our bed, and we asked the hotel to stop leaving them out. We felt like our complaint could have been handled better. This hotel is great for a relaxing peaceful stay but you are not near a lot if you want to see more of Sri Lanka. They could do with buying some new beach towels.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FionaF917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews