We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All you could ask for when on a two week 'Vegetation' break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
AVANI Kalutara Resort
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Kalutara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 11, 2014

My partner and I arrived at the Avani for a 13 night stay after a week touring around Sri Lanka. Our final tour hotel was a tea factory and we had to travel for 8 hours to get the the Avani and so arrived very tired and hungry. When we eventually got there, none of the restaurants were serving food and we were told we would have to wait for about 4 hours before any food would be available !!! However a quick explanation to the catering manager (Donald) and we were immediately offered the menu to choose an out of hours meal.

We totally enjoyed our all inclusive (AI) stay here, it was a relaxing time in a very relaxing atmosphere with excellent staff. We travel a lot and visit somewhere different every year, so this review is based on comparisons made with our other travels.

Things that weren't so great:

1. A very strange AI package where all drinks have to be signed for.....not had this before and seemed very strange.

2. Donald, the catering manager was great, but was constantly "on the sell". The hotel has theme nights, ie, BBQ night, Cultural Night, Fish Food night etc etc, these are normally outside with food and entertainment and offered out to guests for approx 2500 RS not on AI, but what we found surprising and slightly annoying was AI guests were also asked to pay! Although at a reduced rate (approx 2500 RS) .....don't really understand why AI guests should have to pay extra for these nights.

3. We were in a superior lagoon view room which was chic and modern, but was very small. We had seen other review pictures and looked on line, but none of these pictures looked like our room. So much so, that we had to double check with reception we were actually in a superior room. It was functional and comfortable, but this must be one of the smallest 4 star rooms we've ever stayed in with nowhere to sit apart from the bed.

4. Another Strange AI rule is that the drinks menu is a completely separate menu to other guests. The drinks are (as normal) local drinks which were pretty poor in comparison. Most AI guests appeared to be having to drink "off menu" to get a decent drink.

5. Pool boys and pool area was the normal fight for seats, normally starting at 0700 with people starting to reserve beds. I was normally in the pool swimming for 0700 and saw the 'mad rush' most mornings. However what did annoy us was that the pool boys were blatantly taking money to reserve guests beds. I was even asked to move beds one morning as my towel for swimming was on a bed that had been "reserved" by a guest who was obviously not there. The management say that pool boys don't take tips for this, but this is blatantly happening......this is not a tip, this is a bribe !!!!!! And VERY annoying!
A wedding party was there whilst we were there who "reserved" 10 beds per day in the best area around the pool, most not even turning up until lunchtime and some not even turning up at all. The pool boys have their own stash of equipment ie books, magazines, flip flops etc to put on the beds for these guests. I know it happens, but guests are causing this by funding this and the management should be doing something about this.

6. The pool bar has staff that serve the guests around the pool, although there are not enough staff and the service is almost none existent and you would probably be better off getting your own drink. (Unless Thilak was on duty, who was excellent).

7. The room boys, as stated previously in other reviews are very 'tip happy' and are always double checking the room was tidy, which on somedays it wasn't !

8. The service in the restaurant depends on the staff you get, if you get the right staff it's outstanding, if you get the wrong staff prepare to be disappointed.

Having whinged about the bad, here is the very good:

1. The food is outstanding, we enjoyed EVERY meal, for 13 days, 3 meals a day.....that takes some doing, so WELL done the Avani chefs. The food was varied and great.

2. The staff are VERY friendly and you can expect to be saying "hello" and answering questions about your day to almost every staff member you walk past.

3. The staff are ALWAYS cleaning and always working. We used the gym at 0600 each morning and the staff were out sweeping the approach road etc even then, they appear to be constantly cleaning and constantly working.

4. The hotel has a sensible dress policy for dinner with a "hotel chic" dress policy which is basically anything you like and it was nice to be able to go to dinner in dress shorts and tea shirts instead on being told to wear trousers and shirts.

5. Special mention to Lalith ,Thilak,Rumesh in the bars and Monaj and Rohan in dining room who were EXCELLENT and deserve special praise for the amount of work they put in.

Traveller / guest info:

The Plug sockets are a mixture of Sri Lankan (3 pin round), UK (3 pin square) and shaver type (2 pin).... So you don't need a converter plug. We always take a small 4 bar extension anyway but this was not needed.

TV in room excellent sony flat screen which shows inbox messages from reception, any bills you have, weather forecast etc.

Wifi throughout hotel is good and even wifi by the pool if your sad enough.

The Beach boys don't bother you ....they do shout across the first few days when they know you are new but a simple "no thanks" is enough.

Best pool area for all day sun is long strip on hotel side not sea side.....if your not there at 7 you stand a chance of not getting one.

Take a train trip to Galle on your own, no need to organise, it's about 300-400 RS each way to the train station in a Tuk-Tuk and only 120 RS per person return (second class) on the train which is approx 2 hours. It's a nice place with the fort and plenty of tourist type shops and is worth the experience of going on the train. The hotel reception has train timings. The Sri Lankan people are probably the one of the most friendly nationals we have had the pleasure to visit.

Some reviews have talked about the mosque and the train on the lagoon side disturbing their sleep. I am a very light sleeper and neither bothered me at all. They can be heard if you listen hard enough but they should certainly not disturb your sleep.

All in all, this is a lovely hotel in a lovely setting and we enjoyed our stay here. We won't be going back to the Avani, (purely as we like to go to different areas each holiday) but would have no problem recommending it to anyone. Thank you Avani Kalutara.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Bjacko007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,829)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

925 - 931 of 1,829 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2014

This hotel could be so much better than it is. It suffers from selling rooms to too many different travel agents. If you are going to be an all inclusive hotel be one. All the differing board basis do not work. If you are not all inclusive the drink prices are the most expensive we have come across in Sri Lanka.
The rooms are spacious,and well fitted out, the public areas are well kept, the food is ok, the pool is a nice size, the staff are attentive.
Maybe it is because we have travelled independently for the last two years, staying in small locally owned accommodation that staying at a tourist hotel was quite a shock, putting towels on sunbeds, the 7-30 rush for buffet dinner, room boys asking 10 times a day when you are leaving, and turning up when you do leave with their hand out.
Don't get me wrong it is a nice hotel,but could be so much better.

Room Tip: 1st or second floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobbyblot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

We stayed at the Avani as part of a wedding party of 14 at the end of January for 10 nights. The hotel is in a quiet location and has a relaxing atmosphere. The wedding was fantastic and the staff made us feel very welcome and nothing was a problem for them. Special thanks to Donald. The wedding food was lovely. We were all inclusive and the food and drink was very good with a variety of choices.

The rooms were kept tidy each day with some great towel decorations on the beds!

The beach is very nice although a little rough at times. If you want to book a tour the beach boys do these at a very good price, cheaper than the holiday reps. Ask for Santha he was very helpful tour guide!

Overall the stay at the hotel was excellent and I would recommend this as a good place to stay.

Debbie

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sawyer_Debbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We've jus spent ten days here where we also got married and it was amazing the wedding was brilliant there was 14 of us stay here and we've been treated like royalty Donald the Feb manager has been awesome food was great too we had a massage and wow I've never known 90mins to go to fast we also played cricket with the pool boys kalu and Suresh who we also set up facebook pages for.
We went on excursions with a beach boy called santhra absolutely brilliant we went out on morning of wedding and came at one so we could get ready so much cheaper than what kuoni quoted as for wedding I had dancers n drummers and a elephant and all the hotel staff watched and other public but didn't feel imposing at all we had a bbq on the Getty which was private and wow we had every type of food and Donald even sorted out a piper to play I recommend this if u like being lazy and chilling oh must not forget the beach is lovely we attempted swimming in sea once u get in its hard to get out!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kkattie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We (Swiss couple) stayed in this hotel for a week in January 2014. The hotel is very nicely refurbished and renovated and so are the rooms. It is a very quiet hotel, there are no animations which was more than fine for us. You hear the train from time to time, which can be annoying especially in the early mornings, but there are hotels much closer, so watch out for the situation when you book a hotel in South Sri Lanka. You should really take the time to visit the country, it's amazing and people are super-friendly (in non-tourist places... otherwise they're running after your money as everywhere else..)

Rooms: Very modern, clean and quite spacious. Bathrooms are nice and it has a good water pressure in the shower. We had a garden room on the ground floor which lacked a bit of natural light though. I would recommend taking a sea-view room on 1st floor, for the view (very nice sunsets) and also because you might hear the train less well. Beds are comfortable.

Food: Was ok, but not exceptional. Same kind of curries over and over. I couldn't eat rice with chicken curry after this week (and believe me, I'm not a picky eater!).

Service: Especially in the food area very slow. Took sometimes 45min to get a burger at the pool area. Also drinks served for the main meals took long. Roomboy was very good but in the end ran after us and insisted to get a tip, which I would have given under normal circumstances, but he was almost harassing us which bothered me so much that we ended up barely giving anything.

Reception: was ok, but not an exceptional help when we asked for tips for tours, etc.

Beach: it was nice but not very practical for swimming as there where waves and as it's public area, there are beach boys who want to sell you trips or souvenirs, which is very annoying in the end. ( I wouldn't recommend going on a tour with them, they are more expensive than a certified guide)

We ended up hiring a (very comfortable and new) car with driver to visit the country, his name is Suresh, he speaks English, he did a special education to be a guide in Sri Lanka and he lives very close from the hotel, so it's really practical if you just want to check him out. He was recommended by the hotel reception when we insisted a bit, his number is 0094 77 746 8702. He is a very nice guy, very funny, reliable and we always felt safe in any situation. We asked him to show us around non-touristic places, which he did, we ate in typical restaurants for 2 USD and saw places you wouldn't see with a tourist-bus. We paid an average of 60 USD per day for Galle & Colombo and 120 USD for Kandy & Nuwara Eliya on one long day (leaving at 5 in the morning, but no other tour offers this in one day...). If you call him, tell him that he got recommended by Nicole from Switzerland, he will for sure remember us :-)

Room Tip: I would recommend taking a room with a sea-view further away from the pool, which is more quiet as y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chiquita50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Most people staying here were there for a few days only. We made it our base for a fortnight and the best thing was that the staff at the hotel got to know us and were very friendly, remembered what we liked and generally made the holiday special. We were warned off dealing with the beach boys, but on day one, Fernando spoke to us and became our good friend, so we experienced a little bit of Sri Lankan village life too, a bit of a reminder of the holidays we had as students.
Rooms at hotel were comfortable, there was a good variety of entertainment day and night. Food was good, especially the breakfasts with the best croissants I've had outside France, as well as curry for breakfast, but buffet dinner was a bit repetitive, hence visits to the village restaurant too.

Room Tip: I think it is worth going for a sea view room. We had a ground floor room, which meant we could go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We spent a fantastic honeymoon at Avani at the beginnning of January. It's a beautiful location. All the rooms are clean and the staff can't do enough for you. Donald the f and b manager is brilliant and he arranged a private candle lit dinner on the beach for us. There was an extra charge for this but I would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a special experience.

The trips are worth doing but prepare yourselves for some long bumpy drives

The room boys were great too, leaving little messages on the bed in flowers and towels. Little extra touches that make it a bit more special. If I was to go back to Sri Lanka I would definitely stop at Avani again

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LauraJames81852014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalutara
2.8 mi away
Tangerine Beach Hotel
Tangerine Beach Hotel
#6 of 11 in Kalutara
1,265 reviews
3 mi away
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
#3 of 11 in Kalutara
1,347 reviews
10.4 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Turyaa Kalutara
Turyaa Kalutara
#5 of 11 in Kalutara
879 reviews
9.8 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
18.5 mi away
Heritance Ahungalla
Heritance Ahungalla
#1 of 3 in Ahungalla
3,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVANI Kalutara Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVANI Kalutara Resort

Address: St. Sebastian's Road | Katukurunda, Kalutara 0001, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Kalutara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kalutara
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kalutara
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kalutara
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kalutara
#3 Spa Hotel in Kalutara
Price Range: $105 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — AVANI Kalutara Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breathe in that fresh sea air and feel the warmth of the sun against your skin. Before you, lies the ocean; behind you, the Kalu Ganga river, twisting almost 100 miles back to Sri Pada, the sacred mountain believed to be the footprint of the Buddha. Where the river meets the ocean, you'll find AVANI Kalutara Resort, and discover a place where your dreams of an island paradise come true.. This hotel was formely known as Kani Lanka Resort & Spa. Skim the white waves of the Indian Ocean on board a traditional fishing boat, or watch the sunlight glitter on the water as you kayak along the riverside... it's almost like you're paddling through diamonds. Later, draw close to the warmth of the beach-side fire and share stories of another incredible day. Savour every bite of that juicy fresh seafood and enjoy a sunset that's beautiful beyond belief... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your AVANI Kalutara Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
AVANI Kalutara Resort Sri Lanka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing