We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic relaxing hotel - food not the best” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of AVANI Kalutara Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
AVANI Kalutara Resort
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Kalutara
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fantastic relaxing hotel - food not the best”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

We stayed here for 7nights at end of tour. This was our 5th hotel. Rooms were clean , modern & spacious. Staff friendly and helpful, although their first question is "when are you leaving" so they don't miss their tip. Same thing with the pool boy, he finds out you are leaving tomorrow then says he's not in that day so that you tip him today. I got used to this tip culture in the end, just about, by seeing the funny side of how blatant it was.
There was no tip box for restaurant staff, which made it difficult to single people out for a tip.
The food budget per head needs to be increased, the chicken was mainly just bones. The best choice & quality of food was at the Grand in Nuwara Eliya. After 2weeks of buffets I had had enough and this hotel did a great Australian steak on the beach.
I would not hesitate to return to this hotel again.

Room Tip: avoid a courtyard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank essex_paul_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    813
    558
    189
    80
    39
See reviews for
378
1,010
32
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stonehouse, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

Having spent 8 days on the road exploring Sri Lanka we used the Avani as our 'week on the beach'. The hotel is located on a strip of land with the sea on one side and the lagoon on the other. We paid extra for a sea view but having been allocated a ground floor room, we could just about see the sea through the palm trees and over the steep sand. We never asked for a move to a second or third floor room as they did not give a view over the trees. That said, that is my only complaint and I would not pay the supplement for the view, but i would pay the same amount to stay for an extra couple of nights.

We stayed in room 121 which was the closest to the pool and wishing to have some privacy the pool staff provided us with loungers directly outside our patio doors.

Fernando was our room boy and he looked after everything from cleaning, to housekeeping and sorting our laundry. He was fantastic and very funny, courteous and helpful.

Donald circulates and offers a range of dining options from romantic dinners on the beach, which at £125 per couple didnt seem to put people off, where we indulged in the fish night where we dined on Mullett, Lobster & Giant Prawns all pulled from from the sea adjacent to the hotel. You pay by the weight so prices vary but at a fraction of the cost back home.

Food choice is wide with a selection of Sri Lanka meat & vegetarian curries, together with International cuisine, which included themed Italian, Mongolian & Mexican nights.

All the staff engaged positively and were polite and helpful in addition to the 2 i have named specifically. If you are looking to say in Kalutara I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel (and ask for a room being looked after by Fernando, he'll serve you right)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OLSPBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

This was our 2nd visit to the Avani. My husband and I stayed for 12 nights in December 2013. This is a lovely hotel, set in very spacious grounds with views over the river or sea. The food is very good, with plenty of choices, rooms are very spacious and very clean and well equipped, to make sure you will have a very comfortable stay. We had a very memorable, romantic dinner. set by the beach with excellent food and service. The waiters at this hotel are very efficient, helpful and informative, special thanks to Shanaka and Monej, who made our stay even more fun.
We used Villy and Nelson (beach boys) again for all of our tours, they are honest, helpful and very knowledgeable.
Mu husband and I hope to return yet again for a very memorable holiday.

Room Tip: Rooms over looking the river are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunshinebear035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

We went there for a training, during a weekend. The hotel is very clean, friendly staff and good food. Everything was ready when we went there for our residential training, from the meeting room, Wi-Fi, power extensions, mikes to snacks and stationary.
Great value for money and since it is not very far away from Colombo, nice place for a short getaway.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kusalika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

The staff were amazing, the food was incredible and the hotel itself was marvellous! Me and my husband came here for a honeymoon and we loved every second of it. We had a private romantic dinner at the beach set up by the hotel which was the highlight of the trip. The best seafood I have ever had! The room was amazing, very clean and spacious. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cece_Bay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mellor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
247 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

This was our final hotel and one of the best. Modern, good bedroom and bathroom, always good service, food varied between very good and excellent and a nice location between the beach and the river.
I'd have given this place five stars if we hadn't sensed a bit of hustle about tips from the room boy(s) and one or two others I won't mention here. They knew when we were leaving and appeared to give us a lot of unwarranted attention on that day.
Special praise for the chef. Some of his dishes were lovely but the highlight was a romantic dinner on the beach on the last night,- a bit cheesy in some ways but it was a delightfully relaxed experience with some very smart food, not too distant from the sea and within earshot of an outstanding guitarist in the hotel's outdoor bar.
Lovely way to finish our holiday.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elpee182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

It was our first time in Sri Lanka and we are glad that we picked the perfect place. The hotel is a beautiful property, strategically located with the beach on one side and a lake on the other. We were welcomed with immense courtesy and warmth and had everything prepared for us in advance.The staff are very friendly, warm people, who obliged every request and never missed an opportunity to greet us or make a conversation about our stay or to know more about our culture. My husband arranged a wonderful seven course dinner for us by the jetty on our last evening and this was the most special evening there. The restaurant manager Donald ensured that everything was arranged impeccably and we really had a wonderful evening. Our stay was a really special, memorable one and we would highly recommend Sri Lanka as a travel destination and Avani Kalutara as a beautiful place to stay. We can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tishudeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalutara
2.9 mi away
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
#3 of 12 in Kalutara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,158 reviews
2.8 mi away
Tangerine Beach Hotel
Tangerine Beach Hotel
#5 of 12 in Kalutara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
10.4 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
4.0 mi away
Citrus Waskaduwa
Citrus Waskaduwa
#6 of 12 in Kalutara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Mermaid & Club
Hotel Mermaid & Club
#1 of 12 in Kalutara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVANI Kalutara Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVANI Kalutara Resort

Property: AVANI Kalutara Resort
Address: St. Sebastian's Road | Katukurunda, Kalutara 0001, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Kalutara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kalutara
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kalutara
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kalutara
#2 Family Hotel in Kalutara
#2 Spa Hotel in Kalutara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — AVANI Kalutara Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breathe in that fresh sea air and feel the warmth of the sun against your skin. Before you, lies the ocean; behind you, the Kalu Ganga river, twisting almost 100 miles back to Sri Pada, the sacred mountain believed to be the footprint of the Buddha. Where the river meets the ocean, you'll find AVANI Kalutara Resort, and discover a place where your dreams of an island paradise come true.. This hotel was formely known as Kani Lanka Resort & Spa. Skim the white waves of the Indian Ocean on board a traditional fishing boat, or watch the sunlight glitter on the water as you kayak along the riverside... it's almost like you're paddling through diamonds. Later, draw close to the warmth of the beach-side fire and share stories of another incredible day. Savour every bite of that juicy fresh seafood and enjoy a sunset that's beautiful beyond belief... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Agoda, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your AVANI Kalutara Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
AVANI Kalutara Resort Sri Lanka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing