We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
AVANI Kalutara Resort
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Kalutara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 9, 2013

I have just returned from the Avani Kalutara after two weeks spent there and highly recommend this hotel to any visitors looking to travel to Sri Lanka. The hotel itself has recently been refurbished and looks great. The layout and pool is very stylish. The rooms are lovely - it is worth paying that little extra for the superior sea view to enjoy the sights and sounds of the Indian Ocean. The staff are superb without doubt the most friendly and helpful I have come across. Nothing is too much trouble and everyone will greet you with a smile. All of the staff were excellent but In particular some need mentioning: Dulanka and Melaica on the front desk - so helpful and went out of their way to ensure we had everything we needed, Donald the Restaurant manager - for always ensuring we had a great experience - loved the cocktail party on the beach on the last night! He will arrange special tables, meals and just generally make you feel like a film star.
The chef is superb - he and his team consistently provided a varied and delicious selection of freshly prepared delights. If you get a chance to attend the seafood market night - do! Fresh lobster,crab and fresh fish all cooked to order.
Len - our room boy - he looked after the room and arranged the bed with flowers and messages.
Su - for some great pool entertainment/games.
We did have one issue with noise one night when a band was playing outside. They finished at 12. It was only because we had to be up at 4.30 that this was a problem however the manager acted immediately and offered us alternative accommodation so I was impressed by his desire to resolve the issue.
We went on a couple of trips, mainly booked through the holiday company however also booked through Fernando on the beach for a bargain tuk tuk into town.
Also try the spa - is truly excellent. A little pricy but well worth it. My husband and went for the Ultimate full body massage -90 minutes of sheer pampering!
We had a fantastic holiday and I wish I was still there!

Room Tip: Go for a Superior sea view room away from the pool and on first floor so you have privacy and a balc...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,763)
There are newer reviews for AVANI Kalutara Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

899 - 905 of 1,763 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2013

Recently returned (last night) from two weeks at this resort and overall it was just what we needed. Len looked after out room really well, did some wonderful things with towels to make elephants and made us feel really welcome. Donald and all his staff likewise were wonderful and the chef (sadly cannot remember his name but will post a photo of him) prepared some great food for our stay. All in all a pleasant experience. Had room 227, nice sea view room but do not expect to see much of the sea as there are lots of Palm trees between you and the beach but the noise of the surf whilst sipping a drink on the balcony is great. Would not recommend the lagoon side as the train is on the other side and starts at 4 in the morning and likes honking its horn! Only recommendation is they should concentrate more on the relaxation and less on the karaoke for the evening - the dancers, guitarist and saxophonist (playing you guessed it "I'm dreaming of a White Christmas) we're fantastic. The band, disco and karaoke were really out of place. All problems were dealt with well and quickly, staff could not do enough. I have mentioned a couple of members of staff but in reality I would like to thank them all. My wife had a birthday whilst out there and they not only gave her a cake but we had three of the staff singing happy birthday to her over dinner -lovely.

Room Tip: Room 227 (sea view) good room but cannot really see the sea, only hear it which is beautiful. Be war...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We arrived at the hotel after a very long journey, the staff were very welcoming we had requested a room for three and we were informed at time of booking that the superior rooms were very large... Great size for two adults but definitely not three a third bed had been placed at the bottom of the main bed. We had to upgrade at an additional cost, the manager did sort this out quite quickly. The hotel staff were very nice and helpful. The hotel it self was lovely and the swimming pool area very nice... Unfortunately the beach was a bit of a no go area as beggars and sellers were constantly pestering you for money .... Also the red flag was up all of the time we were there so the sea not suitable to swim in.... Food in the hotel was generally not very good... Breakfast was fine and lunch at the pool bar was the best option... However main Restuarant food did not have much choice and quality of meat was poor.....we had the all inclusive package... When booking it did state that wine was only served at meal times ... On the first day wine was served at the pool bar however after that we were told that you could only get it in the Restuarant, was a bit surprised that wine was only included at meal times as it was one of the cheapest drinks on the menu... We went on a overnight trip that was well organised and the guide was very good , we stayed at the cinnamon hotel and that was nice.
Overall holiday at this hotel was good and very relaxing however I do feel that they miss a trick as there is no shop and nothing that is any good near by... Day time activities was only water polo however due to constant requests water aerobics was carried out on our last day.

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor sea view, this comes with a nice patio areas itch sun beds.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Princess186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Myself and my partner recently went on a holiday to Sri Lanka and stayed at this fantastic resort for two weeks. From the moment we arrived to the day we left the service was fantastic! The staff were friendly, helpful and always eager to please. The three housekeeping boys were exceptional in their standards and manner.
We would definitely recommend this lovely resort for any prospective holiday makers!
Thank you to all the team at the Avani Kalutara Resort for making our stay so memorable :)

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Absolutely amazing, the people, the country and the hotel. Our room was excellent overlooking pool and sea view. The staff couldn't do enough for you. If you go on the beach and ask or speak to Mark, a local man, he has a tour business and his trips are very good prices and he will give you an excellent trip. Again couldn't do enough for you, he will stop or take you anywhere on top of the planned trip as he just wants you to experience as much as you can and really enjoy it. The country is amazing, you have to get out and experience it. We will definitely go back again and recommend the hotel and the place. The hotel was always spotless and our room done everyday with decorations on the bed too, beautiful. Our best holiday ever.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johngaynor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

This is first time I travelled to Sri Lanka, Wonderful people and great resort location makes a perfect second honeymoon. The restaurant manager is very nice person and give personal attention. The entire resort staff is always with smiling faces and gives great feel about your stay..

I felt that they are still learning about hospitality and trusting people.. If resort focus on Asian tourists too will be great value addition. Make sure when you book transportation through resort they use high way with toll for pick up and drop.. else you will be wasting huge time in travel.. Service at reception poor but service by rest of the staff is excellent.

Room Tip: Try to get rooms from ground floor and sea facing
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shilpa1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLML, General Manager at AVANI Kalutara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for selecting our resort for your first visit to Sri Lanka and we are happy to know that you had a wonderful stay with us. Your kind sentiments about the service efforts of our staff is greatly appreciated and will encourage our staff to strive even harder in providing and maintaining exceptional service levels.

Please rest assured that we view all our guests as patrons of our brand and do not alter service levels. However we understand your concern and we will certainly strengthen our training programs to orient our staff to interact better with different customs and communication methods of the different Asian cultures.

I will personally review the service levels provided to you at the reception as well and training and coaching will be provided to staff in this area. I apologize for any miscommunication or inconvenience you may have experienced and hope this will not discourage you from returning to our resort in the future.

I thank you again for the kind remarks and please do not hesitate to contact me if you require any further assistance.

Yours sincerely,

Jude Silva
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Hi
My wife and I have just returned from the Avani Kalutara. We stayed for 7 nights all inclusive, and would recommend this hotel very highly. The staff are fantastic from the managers right down to lads looking after the ground's who incidental will climb a palm tree for you if required (honest). Even the lad who sprays your room every night always smiling they all take a great pride in what they do well done!!. Room clean everyday, swept ,bed made, towels changed if required. Food, well always plenty choice some nights are theme nights ie Indian / Mexican / even a night inside the kitchen seeing how all the food was cooked. My wife thought she would struggle with food choice in Sri lanka but not the case at the Avani. We had a romantic meal on the beach one night which at first I thought was a bit pricey! But on watching the staff through out the day setting up for our evening meal and the finished result with the candles / bonfire I started to feel a bit bad about hacking the price back. The standard of food that night was excellent fillet steak cooked just how I like it. Courses came a bit to quick, could have done with a bit of time in-between but we were a bit late in dinning. Great welcome when you arrive at hotel and and does not stop until you drive out get gate, Rooms are great and of very good decorative order shower fab and plenty hot water / air con works well and quiet / bed big and comfortable, on the whole most of the guests were most impressed with this hotel and so were we so well done too all at the Avani Kalutara

Ps. If you do go watch out for the day,s sight seeing turning into shopping trip (which I add is nothing to do with hotel)

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalutara
3.0 mi away
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
#2 of 11 in Kalutara
1,269 reviews
2.8 mi away
Tangerine Beach Hotel
Tangerine Beach Hotel
#6 of 11 in Kalutara
1,166 reviews
10.4 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Turyaa Kalutara
Turyaa Kalutara
#5 of 11 in Kalutara
791 reviews
9.8 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
10.8 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVANI Kalutara Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVANI Kalutara Resort

Address: St. Sebastian's Road | Katukurunda, Kalutara 0001, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Kalutara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kalutara
#2 Family Hotel in Kalutara
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kalutara
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kalutara
#3 Spa Hotel in Kalutara
Price Range: $93 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — AVANI Kalutara Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breathe in that fresh sea air and feel the warmth of the sun against your skin. Before you, lies the ocean; behind you, the Kalu Ganga river, twisting almost 100 miles back to Sri Pada, the sacred mountain believed to be the footprint of the Buddha. Where the river meets the ocean, you'll find AVANI Kalutara Resort, and discover a place where your dreams of an island paradise come true.. This hotel was formely known as Kani Lanka Resort & Spa. Skim the white waves of the Indian Ocean on board a traditional fishing boat, or watch the sunlight glitter on the water as you kayak along the riverside... it's almost like you're paddling through diamonds. Later, draw close to the warmth of the beach-side fire and share stories of another incredible day. Savour every bite of that juicy fresh seafood and enjoy a sunset that's beautiful beyond belief... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your AVANI Kalutara Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
AVANI Kalutara Resort Sri Lanka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing