We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet hotel but lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
AVANI Kalutara Resort
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Kalutara
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Quiet hotel but lovely”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed here end of august for 6 nights on our honeymoon prior to going to the Maldives for a week.

The hotel was nice, but very very quiet. If you are looking for lively, or somewhere you can walk or go for a nice meal in the local town, then this is not the place for you.

The food was lovely and hotel staff very kind ( especially the bar and restaurant staff) and lovely also. The rooms were great, clean and very spacious.

The pool and poolside was nice and the backdrop and sound of the wild Indian Ocean wonderful. If you like wildlife, the chipmunks are very cute to see poolside, but the crows a loud nuisance ( however I think we were there when they had baby chicks nesting and were very loud).

The main thing that we did not like here is that sri lankans, including hotel staff, try to make money from you. We had a knock on the door most evenings to ask if we liked our bed decoration ( which incidentally was beautiful), but in doing this the room cleaners were clearly after tips. We will always tip, but do not like to be disturbed in our rooms for such a thing, it turned us against anyone suggesting or hinting for a tip, which saddened us. We paid enough for his holiday and do not expect to be hounded or made to feel guilty in our own hotel. Also we were stopped by hotel staff twice in two local towns , telling us not to buy in certain shops but to come shopping with them so they could clearly get commission.

Could we suggest to the management that they address this as it did put us off quite a bit.

However a beautiful quiet place that was a nice start to our two week honeymoon.

Craig and Rhian (Swansea).

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Lrcjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    850
    580
    193
    84
    41
See reviews for
399
1,037
35
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

It is not by any means the most luxurious hotel on the island but it does what it is supposed to and does it well. Minimum of fuss, lovely setting, good food and friendly staff makes it an excellent location for a weekend out with friends or family. Considering the very poor experience we had ad Avani Benotota a few weeks ago I was quite apprehensive about the whole thing but I was proven wrong and very glad to be proven wrong as well. I recommend it as a quiet weekend get away that is value for money and not so far from Colombo.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darthteddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colombo
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

we have visit AVANI few times , really satisfied the staff is very good, very cooperative, our little grands enjoy very much the hotel stay . The pool's very clean , this hotel is very good for family stay , rooms were very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geetha_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Stayed overnight at avani kalutara and had a pleasant stay. Rooms were clean and spacious. Food also was really good with a variety of food available.
Activities not too much except table tennis and a gym. Swimming pool and the beach also is good. It's a small hotel in a super location with the reef and beach joining. Fun in the sun!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hatim75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I came here with my family in August. It was amazing! The pool was very clean and we saw tons of chipmunks! Staff is very very friendly and do anything you want them to. We got a sea view room and it was spectacular! The hotel was clean and the beds were comfy. This hotel is fantastic! If you come I really suggest going to the restaurant Red Lobster! It's down the road and it has the best food I've tasted in Sri Lanka

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was clean and tidy. We arrived at 6:30 in the morning to be told that we had to pay for our room. We were told by our travel agent "travel bag " that we had an early check in and late checkout. On arrival we were also told that the All Inclusive which we had paid for didn't start until 12:00noon which we were again informed by the hotel staff that there would be a charge for, after having a disagreement with the hotel manager we were shown to our room and given breakfast. From previous All Inclusive holidays there hasn't been a time limit on when All Inclusive begins/ends. We spent the majority of our holiday trying to resolve this matter with our rep and the hotel manager. Towards the end of our holiday we were informed that we had to purchase our own evening meal again this was because of are flight time 4am and the All Inclusive finished at 12:00noon. We were not informed of this and we would not have chosen this hotel for our holiday. This wasn't a cheap holiday and we shouldn't have to pay out more money. Beware if you go to the shops because they over charge. If you want to sunbathe I suggest you get up early to get a towel and cushioned bed cover, often they don't have enough when the hotel gets busy. The food was nice but not a great selection - the same each night.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark1891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
328 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Avani is an attractive hotel bordering the lagoon and sea. Rooms are modern, comfortable and very clean. As our stay was at the start of the new school term the hotel was fairly quiet and very few children, so if you want child free holiday think about your timing. We expected a very peaceful stay here given the location, however the hotel is very close to the railway line and trains go past every 10 or 15 minutes day and night and for some reason the drivers always use their horns as they pass the hotel, sometimes two or three times. This applies from early morning.
The pool area was nice with decent loungers for Sri Lanka, although the poolside bar didn't open while we were there, however there was the normal hotel bar adjacent to the pool. Most people seem to be on an all inclusive deal. We did find on the TV information about the restaurant. After 2 weeks of very indifferent buffet food we looked forward to have fresh fish cooked for us rather than the overcooked lukewarm food we had been having. When dinner time came we made our way to the main bar and restaurant area but couldn't find the 'Seafood' restaurant but eventually ordered off the a la carte menu in the buffet area. Food was disappointing. We had one problem which was dealt with by the GM very well and satisfactorily.
The Fitness Centre is very small with no running machine but OK for holiday exercise!Wi Fi is free and works in all hotel building but not by the pool.
All staff were very friendly and wanted to help.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jmahg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalutara
3.0 mi away
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
#2 of 11 in Kalutara
1,252 reviews
2.8 mi away
Tangerine Beach Hotel
Tangerine Beach Hotel
#6 of 11 in Kalutara
1,145 reviews
10.4 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Heritance Ahungalla
Heritance Ahungalla
#1 of 2 in Ahungalla
3,488 reviews
9.8 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
4.3 mi away
Turyaa Kalutara
Turyaa Kalutara
#5 of 11 in Kalutara
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVANI Kalutara Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVANI Kalutara Resort

Property: AVANI Kalutara Resort
Address: St. Sebastian's Road | Katukurunda, Kalutara 0001, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Kalutara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kalutara
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kalutara
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kalutara
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kalutara
#3 Spa Hotel in Kalutara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — AVANI Kalutara Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breathe in that fresh sea air and feel the warmth of the sun against your skin. Before you, lies the ocean; behind you, the Kalu Ganga river, twisting almost 100 miles back to Sri Pada, the sacred mountain believed to be the footprint of the Buddha. Where the river meets the ocean, you'll find AVANI Kalutara Resort, and discover a place where your dreams of an island paradise come true.. This hotel was formely known as Kani Lanka Resort & Spa. Skim the white waves of the Indian Ocean on board a traditional fishing boat, or watch the sunlight glitter on the water as you kayak along the riverside... it's almost like you're paddling through diamonds. Later, draw close to the warmth of the beach-side fire and share stories of another incredible day. Savour every bite of that juicy fresh seafood and enjoy a sunset that's beautiful beyond belief... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your AVANI Kalutara Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
AVANI Kalutara Resort Sri Lanka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing