We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location... the sea and the lagoon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
AVANI Kalutara Resort
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Kalutara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 24, 2013

The Avani resort, Kalutara is situated in a very strategic location - The Kalutara beach is in front of the hotel and a lagoon on the other side. So, you can enjoy both sunrise and sunset in this resort - which makes it one of the most awesome properties on the southern Sri Lanka beaches.

The room however was quite disappointing - quite small. Funnily the height of the bedside table is 1 foot below the bed height, so to keep and pick anything you need to bend down. The housekeeping is also not up to the mark, they missed out quite a few things while arranging the room - had to call up even for a TV remote which they forgot to keep in the room.

The breakfast is sumptuous and tasty. It has a huge spread of Sri Lankan delicacies - hoppers, sambals, chicken and fish curry. Also a nice spread of standard breakfast too - like eggs, sausages, bacon, porridge etc. Try the poached egg hoppers there - really great.

Overall though comfort wise the hotel has some way to go, the scenic beauty makes up for it - sunset on the beach and sunrise on the lagoon.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eroych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,828)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,042 - 1,048 of 1,828 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

As stated this hotel has recently bee refurbished to a good quality. The rooms are compact but well appointed well finished high end fixtures and fittings. The public areas are well appointed as well and the grounds well maintained.

We went on a half board basis and found the drinks were of a reasonable value compared to European prices although probably considerably marked up price wise compared to local prices. We found that the food in the restraunt could of done with a little more variety, as some repetition the best elements of the meals were the soups and desserts, hoped for more local choices even I know of several styles of curry, but the same chicken one seemed ever present even at breakfast. There are meals available at the bar and these we found to be excellent.

Unlike some previous reviewers we found the staff to friendly and approachable however they were always looking for tips I don't mind rewarding good service, but surely this should be after you had received it and not before, even the room boy was fishing for a tip although we had only been in the room less than a minute. Found that a but rude, I realise they are probably not well paid but does not exactly endere them to you.

Location wise the hotel is very isolated. With very little choice outside with only a couple of small restraunts and a couple of tiny shops. The town a short tuk tuk ride away, but does little on appearance to I rice you to visit it properly, but we would next time if staying longer than a week to explore the island fully.

Over all did enjoy our stay, and would consider it again.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mikeyk64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

If you'd read my very first review, of Kani Lanka Resort, as it was known then, you can expect not much of change since then! Like the last time, although I was promised sea-side rooms, with early check in (as part of a group) when we got there, it was another story. Ended up getting rooms facing the lagoon. Much to my surprise the view from these rooms was actually very nice. Perhaps even better than sea-side view.
Food was mediocre, and need to caution that many in my group suffered from diarrhea during the three days we were there. Desserts were good.
The hotel grounds and facilities are maintained well. The rooms were definitely well refurbished and the toiletries were nice.
Overall, a good stay at a charming location.

Room Tip: The lagoon facing ones do have a serene view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anuk_t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on the last seven days of our honeymoon having travelled on a tour for 7 days. At this point we were ready for total relaxation and we were not disappointed.

This hotel us set in between the lagoon and the ocean really is beautiful. The hotel has home through a refurbishment so all areas are very nice modern and clean, making it one if the best settings we have stayed. We found this frustrating as this hotel could easily be fabulous as there is so much going for it, but some of the staff seem disinterested in doing anything and very lazy expecting a tip for doing nothing. Don't get me wrong there are some that were especially nice to us, but it just got annoying after a few days when the hotel wasn't busy that the staff were not more attentive.

The hotel was not busy at all whilst we were there unusual for time of year as some if the staff were telling us. This meant at times it lacked atmosphere and the restaurant seemed sparse at most meal times. The food was ok, but we would have liked more options other than the same restaurant for all 3 meals. We ate from the snack menu couple of times which we enjoyed. We stayed on all inclusive and found this very good value although a shame you could only have wine with your meal.

As we were on honeymoon we were treated to a spa treatment each which we both enjoyed and I booked in for another one the following day which for just under 30 pounds was decent value, as it was a 2 hour foot ritual.
We also had a special candlelit dinner but the restaurant staff put us right next to the evening entertainer set up so rather than peace and atmosphere we had 90's pop blazing out. A quick word to guest relations and they moved us to the lagoon but bad planning on their part really.

On a number of occasions we had to go and to the bar to get a drink and there would be about 7 staff perched at the ed of the bar having a chit chat you felt you were interrupting. One of them could have been circulating the pool offering to get some drinks for people. If they had they would have been tipped for sure...

In summary we relaxed and enjoyed the sunshine, however unlike other hotels we stayed at in Sri Lanka we did not feel spoilt or offered excellent service which was a shame for latter part of our honeymoon, if you want to justify a four star rating service must improve.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank annie_is_lovely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

One of the best hotels I've ever been and definitely the best I stayed at Sri Lanka. Calm and not overcrowded hotel, great rooms, good facilities, free wifi and Internet access, nice beach, variety of delicious food, very kind staff however entirely lazy. Yep, the service is hotel's blind spot...
Good choice for lazy holidays if you love sun bathing and don't expect much of nearby Kaluthara city as far as there is almost nothing to see and do.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jemand0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Facilities and infrastructure of the resort are pretty high quality with all the required amenities, etc provided.

However, in a word the service - SUCKS!

First learn Basic english so you can interact with your guests (I am srilankan by the way, but I still expect a SERVICE INDUSTRY INDIVIDUAL to know english!)

Secondly be accommodating to your guests. You are trying to run a resort, I can sincerely say out of say 30 - 40 staff I interacted with, atleast 90% of em had only a scowl on their face at any time, maybe 1 or 2 had a smile!

Food was maybe a 2.5-3/5 for quality.

4  Thank Dimitry N
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

What a lovely hotel. We had a great 10 day's at the Avani. The rooms are excellent , being kept spotlessly clean and sheets and towels changed daily. The food really made it for us. The choice is outstanding for curry lovers and non curry lovers. I personally managed to have some form of curry with each meal, even with my breakfast bacon and eggs. But that was my choice.
You will find good and bad comments about the beach boys. They can be a pain but if you tell them you are not interested they will leave you alone. We did go on one trip with one of them by tuk tuk to Bentota and I have to say we had a great day which included a trip on the river in our very own boat with a very knowledgeable skipper who pointed out wildlife on ever step of the journey. Just one word of warning they will try to get you to visit gift shops where I guess they earn commission. We told them up front no shops and all was fine.
A walk along the beach heading north gives outstanding views of the ocean, beach and coconut palms. We had a beer in one of the small restaurants on the beach whilst watching the fishermen haul their nets in. We were told that the sea food served in these beach restaurants is superb but not being a fish eater I can't confirm this. A trip in to Kalutara is interesting, we visited the Buddhist temple and chose a guide to take us round. You don't pay for the guide but you are asked to make a donation to the temple.
I only rated the spa average and this was because we did not use the facility and there is not an option to say I don't have any experience.
All in all I would certainly recommend the Avani

Room Tip: Sea and river views are available on request. We had a courtyard view which did not bother us at all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martinrharper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalutara
2.8 mi away
Tangerine Beach Hotel
Tangerine Beach Hotel
#6 of 11 in Kalutara
1,261 reviews
3 mi away
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
#3 of 11 in Kalutara
1,344 reviews
10.4 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Turyaa Kalutara
Turyaa Kalutara
#5 of 11 in Kalutara
878 reviews
9.8 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
18.5 mi away
Heritance Ahungalla
Heritance Ahungalla
#1 of 3 in Ahungalla
3,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVANI Kalutara Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVANI Kalutara Resort

Address: St. Sebastian's Road | Katukurunda, Kalutara 0001, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Kalutara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kalutara
#2 Family Hotel in Kalutara
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kalutara
#3 Spa Hotel in Kalutara
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kalutara
Price Range: $105 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — AVANI Kalutara Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breathe in that fresh sea air and feel the warmth of the sun against your skin. Before you, lies the ocean; behind you, the Kalu Ganga river, twisting almost 100 miles back to Sri Pada, the sacred mountain believed to be the footprint of the Buddha. Where the river meets the ocean, you'll find AVANI Kalutara Resort, and discover a place where your dreams of an island paradise come true.. This hotel was formely known as Kani Lanka Resort & Spa. Skim the white waves of the Indian Ocean on board a traditional fishing boat, or watch the sunlight glitter on the water as you kayak along the riverside... it's almost like you're paddling through diamonds. Later, draw close to the warmth of the beach-side fire and share stories of another incredible day. Savour every bite of that juicy fresh seafood and enjoy a sunset that's beautiful beyond belief... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your AVANI Kalutara Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
AVANI Kalutara Resort Sri Lanka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing