We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
AVANI Kalutara Resort
Nearby Hotels
$146
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$110
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$52
$47
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$118
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$51
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Turyaa Kalutara(Kalutara)
$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$233
$200
Priceline
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,868)
Filter reviews
1,868 results
Traveler rating
897
626
213
89
43
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
897
626
213
89
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskani lankared lobsterbeach boyssri lankatuk tuklagoon viewour honeymoonhalf boardday tripindian oceanpool area isroom boycurriesturtle hatcheryrestaurant managerevery eveningtwo weeks
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,531 - 1,536 of 1,868 reviews
Reviewed December 23, 2007

Having stayed at this hotel in December I can thoroughly recommend it. The room was fantastic, well worth a little extra for the junior suite, waking up with the sun coming in the room and a view over the ocean or the lagoon was great. The hotel staff were brilliant, nothing was too much trouble and they were all really friendly. The food was great, the pool was great and although, as other reviewers have noted, the hotel did get used for a couple of local weddings at the weekend this was in no way intrusive and if anything added to the experience. The hotel is quiet and is probably more suited to couples without children rather than as a family destination, but that suited us.
We had looked at other reviews prior to flying out, in particular the write ups on the local beach boys and the trips they offer and had decided to at least try them out and we're glad we did. On our first full day at the hotel we met Sunny, there was no pressure selling, just the offer of a small 'taster' trip to see if we liked it, with the opportunity of other trips if we did, but if not we would be left alone. Needless to say the first trip was excellent and we ended up using Sunny for all of our trips whilst we were at the hotel, he arranged whatever we wanted, including overnight accomodation at Kandy, entrance to various places and guides as appropriate. We got one to one service which we wouldn't have necessarily got with the rep and at a fraction of the price, also the advantages of having your own local guide with an in depth local knowledge cannot be underestimated. If personal recommendations count in your books then Sunny has ours and it is well worth looking him up if you go to the Kani Lanka. We will certainly be keeping in touch with him for our next visit.
Sri Lanka is a fantastic place to visit, the people are really warm and friendly and it is the sort of place that when you've visited it once you will want to go back.

Stayed: December 2007
4  Thank stanley10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2007

What an amazing holiday! Sri Lanka is the most beautiful country, the people are friendly, helpful and so dignified. The Kani Lanka hotel is situated in such a beautiful setting, we woke up and looked out on a view of paradise every morning. The hotel itself was excellent, from the accommodation, to the staff and services. The food was good and varied but it would have been nice to have had more fresh fish.
The hotel staff can’t do enough for you – if you mention to one of the cooks that you like something in particular, it will appear – either regularly in the available dishes or, as in the case of one guest we knew who liked blue cheese, as a side dish brought to him every evening!

We used the beach boys for all our trips. Almeda, Mark and Frank were all excellent and Almeda came with us on all our trips out – we booked the longer trips through him and also went out with him in his tuk tuk on shorter journeys. When we stayed away the hotels were good and all the places we stopped at for refreshments/meals were excellent.

Laundry is cheap and quick at the hotel so cut down on the packing. This will then enable you to have some clothes made (incredibly cheaply) to take home. I had trousers and shirts made at Aida in Bentota (they have Next catalogues etc for you to choose designs or take in a favourite item of clothing) but also casual trousers made in Kalutara (total cost of these was about £3 pair!) – to a place Almeda took us to.

Please visit the little shop just outside the hotel grounds and see Anthony – a lovely man, severely disabled but so pleased to see you and serve you. Many of the things he sells are actually cheaper than elsewhere – we wished we had gone there early in our holiday.

As far as gripes about tipping are concerned, the Sri Lankans are a very poor people, please tip generously, it means a lot to them – and lets face it, if we can afford a holiday in Sri Lanka then a £1 tip here and there is not going to hurt us. We also made the mistake of not tipping the restaurant staff until the last day of our holiday and not all the waiters who had served us so well, were on duty.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Jemonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2007

We stayed at The Kani Lanka Resort & Spa in May for our honeymoon. Overall we had a fantastic time. I recommend using the beach boys for all the tours, especially Mark and his sidekick Fernando.
It did get very busy at weekends with lots of Sri Lankians using the hotel and taking the place over, so try and do all you site seeing then.
The rooms were very clean and the room boys always turned down our bed in the evening and decorated it with fresh flowers. The rain shower was great.
If you get the change you should use the spa as it is very relaxing. All in all we enjoyed our stay here and we would come back for another visit.

7  Thank melonpips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2007

My wife and I booked this hotel for two weeks via first choice holidays and did not have huge expectations.The Hotel has recently been refurbished and the facility's were very good.
The staff without exception were always polite and cheerful,and took the trouble to remember your name.
The room was not the largest but was well equipped complete with dvd/cd player,also offering fantastic views over the lagoon.
The shower was excellent as well!
The food was a little disappointing,considering that there is an almost unlimited amount of local fresh fish available it didn't appear to be used,alot of the food was bland and became a bit samey!
The Pool boys organized games of cricket which was great fun,and helped us meet and become friends with many of the guests.
We were discouraged to use the "Beach Boys" for excursions however having read previous reports on this site did so with confidence and without regret.
We Used Sunny,who 1st took us to the turtle sanctuary in Berwula (25 mins in a tuk tuk),which we enjoyed greatly,We then booked a 3 day 2 night trip to Kandy to take in the sites and some test match cricket.
We were the only people in our very comfortable air conditioned minibus,together with sunny and his driver,we had a excellent time at the Elephant Orphanage before being taken to lunch at a lovely hilltop restaurant.
Sunny did offer to take us to various other places(gem factory,spice gardens ect)but he was perfectly fine when we declined.
The hotel in Kandy(thilanka)was excellent with a terrific spa(half the price of Kani Lanka),and some highly entertaining monkey's swinging around the place.
We ended up spending 2 days at the Cricket and this Change of plan was not a problem for Sunny.
We ate the Green Bamboo once,its basically a restaurant at the front of the Owners(Patrick) house but don't be fooled by the appearance- we had the most delicious fresh lobster and were entertained by Patrick and his Family.
In terms of the gripes some people have on this site about tipping..please get real this is a developing country which is incredibly poor and is still trying to recover from the devastating affects of the tsunami,so if you think a couple of quid is too much to give to the people who on average earn less than $30.00 a month then don't,but personally a small tip is not really going to change your life but certainly improve there's.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank littlebriton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2007

Amazing holiday :-) Im not very good at these kinda things so bare with me. eveything about the Hotel, Food, Staff where perfect. They couldnt have done more for us from the moment we arrived. the reason for our visit was to get married and it was a experiance i will never forget thanks to all the staff especially Watsala (wedding co-ordinater. She made eveything perfect, from the flowers to the ceremony. I would highley reccomend this hotel to anyone that just wants to get away for a well earned rest and relax alongside the pool/beach. Day trips out are a deffo, we went to the elephant orphaage and we also took a boat ride and a safari and believe me its amazing. Our guides where Michelle and jambo and they where fantastic, so nip along the beach nd say hi, one thing to point out tho is they will try and take you into places like the jem factory where the owners are very persistant.
like i say im not very good at wrinting these kind of things so i will just say a few words to describe our holiday.......... AMAZING, PARADISE......... WANT TO GO BACK :-)

Ps, i allso want to thank Laurel & Ron, Sandy & karl (friends we met) for making our wedding a day we will never forget ....... THANK YOU XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Donnamr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews