We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kamili Beach Villa
Nearby Hotels
Turyaa Kalutara(Kalutara)
$57
$49
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$114
$75
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$82
$47
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$61
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$107
$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
AVANI Kalutara Resort(Kalutara)
$80
$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$52
$45
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$194
$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$198
$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (164)
Filter reviews
164 results
Traveler rating
55
69
24
10
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
55
69
24
10
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscandle light dinnerfamily outingsmall hotelindian oceanenjoyed our stayrelaxing holidaycurriesseacolombofacilities
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 164 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Beautiful new Hotel with small houses (always 4 Rooms) and nice greenery and palmtrees inbetween and around, nice pool, beautiful view at the sea from the restaurant, exellent service, great food! No aircondition necessary in the restaurant, because of the gentle brise from the sea, I really enjoyed this. Every room has a balcony and a view to the beach. I did not try the Spa because of our short stay of only 4 days. Trains pass now and then, but I got used to it very fast. It was an ideal location to relax, after having done a great round trip in Sri Lanka!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

My fiancé and I really enjoyed our stay at Kamili Beach Villa. The staff were amazing, very friendly and helpful.
The rooms were better than we expected and the property with private beach was gorgeous.
The only downside was that most things we wanted on the menu was unavailable and when we ordered a club sandwich we received one without any meet but were charged the full price.

Other than that incident everything was fantastic. Highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nethalie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Kamili Beach Villa is only a year or so old and accommodation is excellent. The staff could not do enough to help. The restaurant manager, Mangele and Sura the sports organiser, in particular were very helpful. Staff began by serving indifferent European food but we asked for Sri Lankan food and got some superb curries etc.
S The hotel is bounded on one side by the sea/beach and on the other by the main rail line to Colombo which is fairly noisy because they sound hooters to warn residents and cattle alongside the track. Again, we quickly got used to it and it didn't bother us. Transfer from the airport took three hours in the morning due to the traffic but half that time on the return at night. Self drive is not to be recommended as the traffic is horrendous and there are no rules! There's an excellent beach but it is worth travelling around. If we were to go again we would definitely book more than one hotel and engage a guide/driver to take us between them. Kandy is very definitely worth a visit. From Kandy we went up into the mountains to the tea gardens, my personal highlight because of the beautiful countryside (like Scotland) fantastic views etc, visited a tea factory and on to Nuwara Eliya (again lots of old colonial buildings and impressive views across the mountains.
We struck lucky with a fantastic guide. Former three times Mr Sri Lanka body builder Leo Rageewa Thissera. singithi27@gmail.com mobile Tel 0094 728585555. His mobile is the best way to contact him initially at least. He has an offical guide qualification and the car provided by Silver Tours was an almost brand new Honda Civic which proved very comfortable. Leo is a very smooth driver (hard to accomplish when all around is complete madness) and we felt very safe with him. he was well known wherever we went and was able to smooth passage, avoid queues etc. He comes highly recommended. So too do Silver Tours run by Priyantha De Silva and his brother 0094 775328952. They are based at Waskaduwa opposite Kamili Beach Villa.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

A lovely quiet hotel right on the beach: even though the place was full, it never felt crowded. The accomodation is superb. While not being 'designer' it is very stylishly put together, with a lot of dark wood and natural colours. Everything worked perfectly, and the housekeeping was excellent while we were there.

The catering, sadly, is another story. If you are vegetarian, be prepared to eat lots of fruit and heavily-vinegared salads, as you will have little other choice. The New Year's Eve Gala Dinner was astonishing: loads of carefully carved fruit and veg in a Thai style made it look amazing, but the food itself was almost exactly the same as every other night - poor. (The roast beef smelled fermented.)

Do wander across the railway tracks to the main road. The bakery (around 100m towards Columbo) is very good, and small shops sell groceries, drinks etc. Apart from that, there really isn't much else in the area, but Tuk Tuks are easy to get on the main road.

Overall, an excellent hotel, but poor food.

Room Tip: First floor rooms have much more privacy. Ask for a sea view.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roundhillers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Kamili Beach Villas is perfect if you're looking for a smaller hotel in a quieter area - that still delivers luxury facilities and excellent service. After a long search on trip advisor I'm really glad I chose to stay here! It was exactly what I was looking for as part of a surprise 30th birthday present for my girlfriend - luxury, a fantastic beach side location, great service - but without hundreds of other guests, a crowded pool etc. The whole team at the hotel are excellent, from the Manager who personally introduced himself, through to the gardeners and cleaners. In particular the restaurant manager/guest liaison, Mangala, was fantastic, and really went out of his way to make sure our stay was special. It's a quite new hotel, so all the facilities are modern, but very tastefully done, from the overall design of buildings (villas with solar panels) down to the local hardwood furniture inside them. I can't recommend Kamili highly enough!

Room Tip: Go for a deluxe room if you can - they are huge and closer to the beach so have a better view. There are only a few villas and 24 rooms in total I think though, all with similar facilities and all facing the beach, so you'll get a great room whatever you choose.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews