We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stunning, a well deserved break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Mermaid & Club
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Kalutara
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“stunning, a well deserved break”
Reviewed March 11, 2011

As stated before the staff at this hotel are excellent. All friendly and helpful. It did not seem that staff were looking for tips all the time. Some staff I spoke to have been working here many years.
Rooms, we had standard room, were adequate in size, a large bathroom with good shower. Never any problem with water temperature or pressure. Any problems, we had a bulb go out were fixed quickly and efficiently after a trip to reception. Room boy kept room clean. Large balcony with chairs to sit out on. A british style plug socket in room which is unusual but helpful for our kettle for morning coffee. Safe supplied in room.
Food, never a shortage of good food to eat. Breakfast either english, continental or sri lankan with an egg/omellette cooking station.
Lunch and dinner, good selection of cold starters, plus a very good soup at each mealtime. Good variety of main courses on buffet plus sweets.Drinks served by waiters usually quite quickly. Also a selection of a la carte meals available if required. Food was consistently hot. Dining room is upstairs with steps to top food area. Could have done with a handrail there and not ideal for those with any mobility issues although the hotel provided room service if required.
For a change of scene there are some beach shacks on the beachfront turning left at hotel on the beach. We had some great prawns at Sundown, perched up in tree's like a treehouse.
Swimming pool was cleaned and maintained every day by the pool boys who also looked after the sunbeds. Could do with a few more umbrella's but shade near beach under tree's also.
Bar was fine, all-inclusive covered draught Lion beer, local spirits and soft drinks(not diet) No cocktails included as these were charged extra.
Another swimming pool by massage centre used for games which meant the main pool was quiet. Massage was nice in hotel. Lots cheaper down the beach but we did not try them.
Reception was helful and have details of train times and such. There is a hotel taxi driver but we did not travel around this time so had no need of his services. Local beach boys seemed to all be quite good for trips for those who used them.
Sea is quite rough and shelves steeply, some sand is very coarse. We did not swim in sea as red flag was up each day. Some did but beware current is very strong!
We walked the local area both beachside and train track side. Locals like to chat but we felt happy walkng around. A few more shops up by Tangerine beach hotel.
At Mermaid we had some clothes made by the tailor over the train track(with elephant statue in garden) Very freindly and good quality and price.
We did not watch any evening entertainment preferring early bed or reading.
All in all I would have no hesitation in returning to the Mermaid as it was superb.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank norfolknic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
myfacebook, Sales & Marketing Manager at Hotel Mermaid & Club, responded to this review, March 22, 2011
We thank the reviewer for sharing their holiday experience at Mermaid Hotel & Club and the excellent comment made about the hotel in every aspect.

We are very pleased to hear about the excellent comments made about the our food and very specially about our staff.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    927
    454
    91
    31
    13
See reviews for
270
903
54
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Melford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2011

This was our fourth trip to Sri Lanka (yes, we love the place!) but the first time at the Mermaid Hotel. The hotel is classified as a 3 star but the service is definitely 5 star, the staff were wonderful and nothing was too much trouble. Our room boy Sammy was such a sweetie and made sure we had everything we needed and Fernando the Captain of the room staff was brilliant. We particularly wanted an ocean view room which on arriving we didn't have but within half an hour he had "arranged it" and we were given a wonderful room on the top floor which as so peaceful and relaxing with a super huge comfy bed and a lovely sea view. The restaurant staff were fabulous with beaming smiles and always ready to help. Saman, Jagga, Mahi, Shanaka, Rasika, Chethana, Eranga, Amila and Suji the funniest waiter ever who knew all the rhyming slang in perfect English kept us in stitches for two weeks!!!! The whole place from the gardeners to the security staff and the receptionists to room boys were all wonderful and made our stay very special. I know some people find tipping tiresome but come on - 100 rupees is only just over 50p so it’s no hardship to leave 200 rupees at mealtimes and on your bed each morning for the room staff, they only earn the equivalent of about £3 or less a day and every little helps and its very much appreciated. The reception staff will always change a 1000 rupee note for 100 rupee notes so there’s no excuse! Speaking of money – if you exchange a large sum of money ie travellers cheques its better to go into Kalutara to one of the banks as the exchange rate is much better than the hotels, I can recommend The Peoples Bank, the staff are very efficient unlike our experience last year at a different bank (can’t remember which one) which took over an hour and a half!!

There is a large area by the pool with easy chairs and coffee tables, there’s a bar there and also a small air con room with tea/coffee and juice, there’s also little sandwich’s and cake mid morning and afternoon. You can fill your water bottles up from the water cooler as you’ll be charged if you buy bottles of anything at the bar, all drinks are served by the glass and all inclusive of course!

Sanjeewa is a lovely lad who lives the other side of the railway line, (ask any of the lads out there and they'll call him) he has a Tuk Tuk and is honest, reliable and a real delight, he'll take you anywhere and won't rip you off, just tell him Carol & Brian recommended him and he'd be thrilled!

The railway isn’t a problem, it didn’t disturb us or anyone else at the hotel. If you get the chance to take the train its good fun and a real experience – our health and safely bods would have a field day! You can get the train in Kalutara and go to Colombo, Galle etc and it SO cheap, we also used the bus and if you want to know what a sardine feels like in a tin now’s your chance to find out!

Well worth a visit is the Gem & Jewellery shop called Moonlight, it’s the other side of the railway track opposite the hotel (avoid the one over the way to reception, we heard they have been known to have ripped guests off by selling precious gems that weren’t very precious!) The chaps at Moonlight are very nice and friendly and the workmanship is excellent, they can make anything to your specifications and are real value for money, I had a beautiful white sapphire in yellow gold ring made and I’m thrilled skinny with it! Sanjeewa gets a small commission if you let him introduce you, its very normal practise in Sri Lanka and every little helps, Sanjeewa is the tuk tuk chap afore mentioned – just ask anyone out there and they will call him - I also have his number.

Once again we met many wonderful Sri Lankans who are an absolute delight, we didn't do much travelling this year as we've done quite a lot over the years but my advice is to get a good guide book and decide where you want to go and book it with Sanjeewa, I know tourists are a bit scared of booking with the boys but they really are fine - just have a chat with them and choose someone you feel comfortable with and agree a price, its much cheaper than the hotel and you will see much more and get more time to see it. They all get a small commission for taking you to places like jewel shops, mask making places and the like but if you don't want to go just say NO, THANK YOU. A word of warning, if you do go to the Spice Gardens or get "taken there" DO NOT BUY ANYTHING its a major rip off! We didn't use any of the beach boys at the Mermaid so I can't comment on their trips but we stayed at the Kani Lanka (Kalutara) for the last three years and met some wonderful guys, Desmon is the best and if you would like his number I can let you have it. We have been friends with him and his family for 4 years and do what we can to help him as much as possible, like thousands of others he lost everything he had (which wasn't much to start with) in the Tsunami (and yes you will hear what people call sob stories from some people to persuade you to part with your money but think how you'd feel it you had a family to feed with absolutely no income) but Desmon is a wonderful person and will really look after you, get good accommodation while you're on a trip and make sure you see what you want to see and go where you want to go. We keep in regular contact with him throughout the year and really look forward to seeing him and his lovely wife and children again next year.

The beach is good and you can walk for hours, you can also walk out a long way into the ocean and still only be waist deep but beware of the rips and currents and never underestimate the power of the waves. The ladies selling sarongs are very sweet and cheeky and will get you just about any colour in any design you want and they make ideal inexpensive light weight presents to take home! There are two pools, the main one and another by the spa and fitness centre, most days there is an aqua aerobic class and yoga. There's also a small cricket area - Sri Lankans are cricket mad! There's often a wedding at the hotel and Monica the ceremonial elehpant is usually there in her pink frock too - she's adorable!

I would highly recommend the Mermaid, it’s not fancy or posh but friendly and clean with plenty of very good food, lots of room to laze about and there's always plenty of sun loungers too! The spa is nice and we had good massages there although many staff used the beach massage places which they said were basic but the massages were fabulous and only about 1000 - 1500 rupees, mega cheap!!

We had a wonderful time at the Mermaid and were so well looked after, we’ll most definitely be going back again next year. There’s so much to see and do if you choose to get out there and do it or simply laze about by the pool or ocean – what ever you do you’ll not be disappointed - any questions just ask!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Caz35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
myfacebook, Sales & Marketing Manager at Hotel Mermaid & Club, responded to this review, March 22, 2011
We thank the reviewer for sharing their holiday experience at Mermaid Hotel & Club and the excellent comment made about the hotel in every aspect.

We are very pleased to hear about the special comments made about our food and very specially about our staff.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiltshire england
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2011

We, two 70 year olds, stayed at the Mermaid for a month from 27 January to 24 February 2011. We chose it because of the good reviews from other guests. As has been said many times, the staff are 5* and only a few changes would make the hotel 4*.
The rooms are a good size, comfortable and practical and the grounds are immaculate. The choice and quantity of food in the restaurant is large and varied to suit all nationalities and tastes. Accolades to all the hotel staff would take up too much space but Abirama, the female receptionist, and Rasika, one of the restaurant Captains are exceptionally helpful.
Our only criticism is that there is a lack of communication between the hotel and guests. There isn’t a general notice board with a ‘What’s on’ section so one has to ask about activities if one is interested. The animators, Chumika, Suji and particularly Shiva, who takes Yoga sessions, try hard to keep guests informed as to what’s happening on the sports side. They are most helpful and encouraging.
On the subject of ‘Beach Boys’ and the trips they offer, we found Indi of Indi Tours listened to our wishes and organised a one day trip down the coast and an overnight one to Udu Walawe and Yala National Parks for us. The vehicle he used was comfortable, the Chandrika Hotel in Tissamaharama in which we stayed was excellent and his organisation was good. We can recommend him.
all in all a good holiday.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jilldec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
myfacebook, Sales & Marketing Manager at Hotel Mermaid & Club, responded to this review, March 22, 2011
We thank the reviewer for sharing their holiday experience at Mermaid Hotel & Club.

We are very pleased to hear about the special comments made about our food and very specially about our staff.

We have noted your comment about the lack of awareness of the daily programmes. We will take adequate measures to place a notice board in a visible area so that guest are aware of the daily activities.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk, wirral
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2011

Just had two weeks at the Mermaid Hotel and it certainly did live up to all the reviews. The grounds were immaculate. The pool boys, Dinouka in particular, were efficient, polite and friendly. Sam our room attendant was so nice and the flowers on the bed each morning and each night was a lovely touch - thank you. All members of staff work so hard and the service was impeccable. Special thanks to Nuan, Chamika, Susil, Nishan, Neil, Silva and Cheeky. Sorry if I have left anyone out, you all deserve a big thank you. The reception staff are excellent and nothing was too much trouble and as previous reviewers have said, if you book a trip they will offer you a breakfast and lunch boxes along with water bottles - and not forgetting the essential early morning call!

The rooms are basic and very clean, a good size and plenty of storage space.

The food was excellent and nicely presented at all times. There was always a good selection available and you would have to be extremely fussy not to find anything to eat. If you really couldn't find anything to eat the chefs were always willing to cook something else for you.

The spa facilities are good and the massage ok, although you can get it cheaper locally.

The animators came round and explained the facilities e.g other pool, cricket, water polo, water aerobics etc. It was a pleasure not to be pressurised into joining in the activities if you did not want to. But freely available if you wished to and it was also a plus that these facilities and are "thru an archway" and does disturb the tranquility of the hotel.
A big plus - always being able to get a sunbed and any time of the day!

We booked two separate overnight tours with "beachboys" Amith and Raji. They were absolutely brilliant, tailored the trips to our requirements and I would like to say that we found them to be 100% honest and trustworthy. If we are lucky to return we will have no hesitation in using them again.

Had a couple of dresses made by the tailor, across the railway line - the one with the elephant in the garden - one copied and one designed by themselves. Very pleased with the dresses and the service.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aliceinwonderland14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
myfacebook, Sales & Marketing Manager at Hotel Mermaid & Club, responded to this review, March 20, 2011
We thank the reviewer for sharing their holiday experience at Mermaid Hotel & Club and the excellent comments made about the hotel.

We are particularly pleased to hear the excellent comments about our staff and for complementing our food.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex UK
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2011

We stayed at the Mermaid for 5 days after we had done a mini tour of the country. It was great to be able to unpack after 9 days of living out of a suitcase.
We had stayed in other 3 star hotels on our travels and they were pretty basic, so nothing prepared us for our room at The Mermaid.
We were very lucky that Elephant Island Tours had booked us a deluxe room, and deluxe was the perfect description. The bedroom was huge with a large seating area, vast wardrobes, a massive desk and a superking size bed. The balcony overlooked the palm trees and the beach. The shutters for the windows were operated by a switch on the headboard! There was a flat screen tv and a cd player, a fridge and a safe. The air con was efficient and quiet. We thought it couldn't get any better.....then we were shown the bathroom. On the right hand side was a massive rain forest shower, loo with self closing lid and a large sink area. Great, we thought and then we turned to the left..... there on a raised platform was a double free standing bath at a window overlooking the beach. After the bathrooms we had endured during our tour, I thought I might be dreaming! And to top it all, cotton dressing gowns and slippers provided.

The hotel itself is spotless. The bar area was a pleasant spot to spend an hour or so in the evenings and that was where they laid on entertainment some evenings.
All of the meals were buffet style. There was a large variety of food to appeal to the majority of tastes. You could eat European, Chinese or Sri Lankan every lunch time and evening. Always plenty of fresh salads, fruit and delicious breads at every meal. Service was efficient and friendly. If you fancy a change, I recommend looking at the al a carte menu and having the fish platter or the jumbo prawns in chilli and garlic. We ordered them the day before and they were more than worth the £10 or so they cost.

The outside areas are immaculate. It was lovely to have the grassy areas to sit in instead of all being herded round the pool. Just find yourself a palm treee and the pool boys will set up your lounger for you and joy of joy... no having to get up before sunrise to be sure of a lounger. They were plentiful even if you don't get round to sunbathing until noon! The beach although not large made a change from swimming in the pool. The sea can be quite rough and has an undercurrent, so maybe not a good idea for children or nervous swimmers, but it was fine to stand and jump the waves, just don't go out of your depth. The beach boys and ladies selling sarongs etc were charming. We didn't want any trips but they always greeted us with a handshake and a little chat. The ladies were a delight, and the sarongs and t-shirts were very reasonable.

The all inclusive in my opinion was totally fine and acceptable. You had your choice of local beers and spirits and Sri Lankan manufactured soft drinks. Wine was extra as were any diet drinks as they are not local to the country and have to be imported. We were quite happy to buy some diet cokes in the supermarket and keep them in our fridge. Water was given by the glass and there were many water coolers to fill up at. They do not give out plastic bottles on eco grounds, and good on them for that! Alas as everywhere, you get your moaners ( it was mainly Brits we heard, I'm ashamed to say) The beer wasn't strong enough, wine should be flowing, the foods boring (always the ones saying that never ventured near the 'foreign stuff') These were also the people who got up early to get the same spot by the pool nearest the bar and were waiting for the clock to strike 10am so they could get their first 'rubbish' beer of the day in!

As has been said many times before, the staff were all marvellous. Top tip, ladies... if you fancy a real treat.... forget the massages etc....get your laundry done before you go home. It takes 48 hours and is very reasonable and think of coming home with hardly any dirty bits!

I know a lot of this review is based on the fact we had a deluxe room, but I did look round a standard room and it was far superior to any other hotel we had stayed in, we would not have been unhappy with one.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ComeonAugust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
myfacebook, Sales & Marketing Manager at Hotel Mermaid & Club, responded to this review, March 9, 2011
We thank the reviewer for sharing their holiday experience at Mermaid Hotel & Club and the excellent comments made about the hotel.

We are very pleased to hear that the reviewer in particular enjoyed their stay in one of our Deluxe Rooms which were introduced with the recent refurbishment.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2011

I would agree with the positive comment from earlier reviews. We were warmly welcomed with a fruit drink by Abi on reception. Abi is a star. Whenever our paths crossed she wanted to hear what we were up to and how she could help. Hearing we planned some all day trips she arranged lunch boxes and bottled water without charge and even a wake up call for the early start. She had the knack of making you feel special and very welcome at the Mermaid.
On to our room where Sam our room attendant introduced himself. If you need anything just ask he said. Thereafter he was an ever smiling but discreet presence as he went about his duties. Our bed was decorated each evening with ylangi petals. On departure our cases were moved to reception without need to ask. Well done Sam.
The gardeners kept the lawns immaculate. Fallen leaves were picked up almost before they hit the ground. Similarly the poolboys kept their area up to scratch with wide welcoming smiles. Sunbeds were always available and cheerfully moved to your chosen spot in the shade. No need for the dawn patrol although I noticed a couple of saddos whose antisocial habit was so ingrained they couldn't help it.
Food was as expected for a hotel of this grade. Adequate but not spectacular. Perhaps the heat affected our appetite, we found soup and bread followed by fresh fruit was enough. One niggle here. Service was good with lots of tables to choose from and many staff on hand. Some were a tad over familiar, no doubt with one eye on tip day. Others were quietly efficient. We were disappointed to find at our last meal the ones we would have liked to reward were not on duty. Perhaps a tip box to be shared by all would be a fairer system.
Suresh from the beach provided our tours at a fair price and good quality. He picked us up at reception in black trousers and crisp white shirt, drove a nearly new minibus carefully through the chaos of Sri lankan traffic. Our overnight hotel in Kandy was first class. These beachboy tours are totally professional and need not be feared. We did the usual tourist things but then on return he put us on the Kandy / Colombo train for a trip through the mountains, shades of Indian Mountain Railway trip up to Snooty Oooty. He had the driver go ahead and meet us down in the plain. Unforgettable. Well done Suresh.
We had a fine time at the Mermaid, our fellow guests were all very pleasant . No rowdyism or excess to spoil the tranquility. Children well behaved and under control.
I think what lifts the Mermaid above the average is its staff. The place is well run and the staff welcoming. What more can you ask?

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scaredycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
myfacebook, Sales & Marketing Manager at Hotel Mermaid & Club, responded to this review, March 9, 2011
We thank the reviewer for sharing their holiday experience at Mermaid Hotel & Club and the excellent comments made about the hotel.

We are particularly pleased to hear the excellent comments about our staff. We are very proud of our staff as they make a significant contribution to ensure that our guests have a very enjoyable stay.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burntwood
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2011

I was impressed by the hotel staff and my room was kept clean and tidy (loved the temple flowers at night) The room was adaquate for my needs, the tv channels kept changing but I was not there for the TV. The grounds were clean and safe as was the pool. Had a massage at the hotel and by the guy next to the hotel - they were both excellent. the guy next to the hotel on the left going out to the beach was only 25% of the price but the table was a bit wobbly. Please beware of Independance day and Poya days where no alcohol is served (get yours the day before and have a tipple in your room). Have a little respect and don't drink alcohol in public.....I think the way the staff made you feel at ease helps make friends with the other guests...I would recommend tipping early on in the holiday I suspect tips come to more than their weeks pay. If you can't find anything to eat in the restaurant then you must be the fussiest eater on the planet - it was all good....loved the devilled crab, mashed potato, chcken tikka etc...Don't forget to take some pineaple to feed the chipmunks (or peanuts if you have some....)
I would have liked free WiFi and Ice cream.....The only things that were missing to make it perfect. Music was not my taste (a bit old fashioned) but OK for a quiet couple of weeks
Dave Gibson Burntwood

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davefire49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
myfacebook, Sales & Marketing Manager at Hotel Mermaid & Club, responded to this review, March 9, 2011
We thank the reviewer for sharing their holiday experience at Mermaid Hotel & Club.

We are very pleased to hear about the comments made about the food and very especially about our staff.

We have noted your comments about the entertainment. Generally entertainment is arranged based on guest feedback. While we do our best to select entertainment programmes that suit majority of guests, it is a tough task to please all, as each person’s preference differs. Our General Manager is speaking to guests to get their feedback in order to improve the future entertainment programmes.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalutara
0.5 mi away
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
#2 of 11 in Kalutara
1,249 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tangerine Beach Hotel
Tangerine Beach Hotel
#6 of 11 in Kalutara
1,142 reviews
0.8 mi away
Turyaa Kalutara
Turyaa Kalutara
#5 of 11 in Kalutara
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 mi away
Heritance Ahungalla
Heritance Ahungalla
#1 of 2 in Ahungalla
3,487 reviews
13.3 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
14.3 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mermaid & Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mermaid & Club

Property: Hotel Mermaid & Club
Address: Mahawaskaduwa, Kalutara 12000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Kalutara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kalutara
#1 Family Hotel in Kalutara
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kalutara
#2 Spa Hotel in Kalutara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mermaid & Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mermaid Hotel & Club lies on the golden sands of Mahawaskaduwa; a cosy fishing village in the city of Kalutara which is of religious significance, just 24 miles south of Colombo and 45 miles from the International airport. It is cleverly nestled in a vast coconut grove along a stretch of golden, sandy beach; a perfect get-away for sun, sand and sea lovers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Mermaid & Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mermaid And Club
Resort All Inclusive Mermaid
Mermaid Hotel Sri Lanka
Hotel Mermaid & Club Sri Lanka/Kalutara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing