We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (1,704)
Filter reviews
1,705 results
Traveler rating
1,070
484
102
34
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,070
484
102
34
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pushpakumara yahoo red mohican suresh tours beach boys sports centre elephant orphanage day trip sri lanka cheeky chappie moonlight jewellers palm trees sports team moonlight gems deluxe room tuk tuk sports facilities great holiday
Filter
Updating list...
508 - 513 of 1,705 reviews
Reviewed March 26, 2015

This is how 2nd time in the mermaid hotel .the food and staff are amazing.freindly .the food you have plenty of choice . hotel is very clean the bedroom each day are done and the boy who cleaned how room was so nice always polite
We also did a tour with the beach boys suresh he was fantastic with his red mohican you can't miss him. He arranged a trip to gala with a stay over in a tree house it was amazing he even arranged for a chef to come and cook us a meal a suresh you are just amazing thank you

Room tip: Just ask staff they will do there best to help you
Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank karen r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2015

Had a great 9 night stay at the Mermaid. Its has a really nice feel to it - all the staff are very friendly and helpful but not in a intrusive way. The main pool is lovely with views to the gardens and the sea - the activity area is totally seperate and doesn't intrude on the tranquility of the main hotel. There is entertainment in the evening but its very low key. The food is good and the local beer and spirits are fine - you can buy wine and its reasonably priced (cheapest about £12 and pretty drinkable). A la carte available at a charge if you a change from the all inclusive. There's not much outside the hotel, but nice walks along the beach and a few souvenir shops in walking distance. Wifi is pretty poor - but good excuse to escape what's going on in the world. My tips would be: ask your driver to use the highway for your transfer - may have to pay the tolls (not much) but will save you at least an hour; the deluxe rooms are well worth the small extra charge; take advantage of 15% off wine on Weds & Sat - you can pre order for subsequent nights too; take high factor sun cream and mosquito repellent!

Room tip: Go for the deluxe rooms
Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank hoveharvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2015

Very friendly establishment...well managed and arranged in the most part. We stayed for a few days as part of a longer trip around the country.

People like to read the simple facts I feel so here you are folks...

1. All inclusive here is at it says in most world parts...meals plus drinks (local derivative etc). Times are specified pretty much. All just fine.
2. Some facilities - sports, pool etc all ok.
3. Room quality consistent.

We are looking at a standard all inclusive location; not in the midst of activity nor local beauty.

This place more than meets its requirements given the location.

The sports team of Muditha, Priyantha and Shiwantha are stars in their arrangements of daily activities. The Spa guys do the BEST overall massage packages we have tried in SL for a long time...AND if you spend say £40 as a treat for a special meal (over and above the included food) you will part take in a FINE sea food feast! SPLENDID. However...the management need to think on their sale strategy for this...not good to offer their kind of "under the table in a whisper" style. Be proud and honest. It is very pleasant and competitively priced. Simple as that. Blue swimmer crabs...OMG!

WiFi service (if that is important to you) not great.

Some of the music folk/entertainment not first class...but hey ho.

Beach not linked to hotel; but does not matter.

Overall; personally I hate all inclusive but my wife quite likes it. Mermaid did a very good job. They just need to market the "very good extras at a cost goodies" a bit better and tidy a little...and vuala. However...do not expect to wonder about in the outside village/town and be that excited; this area of SL has been designed for tourism for ages...and is a way off the more trendy spots! It is what it is. Enjoy!

Date of stay: February 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Devonrilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2015

This was our third visit to the Mermaid. We like it's relaxed style, the fact it isn't too big, the wonderfully welcoming staff, the lovely garden, the large pool and the fact you can easily get out and about to explore. Some things have improved - wifi is better for example and they have dealt with the 'tips' issues. We enjoy the Sri Lankan food and the curries which are consistently good and we rarely eat the European options even for breakfast! Try tempered pineapple and some very interesting tempered vegetables. Fruit (wonderful pineapple of course) and tea and coffee are available all day and the beach/garden bar is a bonus (not too far to walk for a fill-up!).

There are always enough sun-beds to go round in this hotel even if some people do seem to rise at dawn to bag their favourite spots - it really doesn't matter as the staff will move the beds about for you. Sunbeds come with mattresses and fresh towels every day. The swimming pool was rarely busy (ie more than three or four people) so you can swim lengths if you want to. When we have been there the children count has always been low. The beds are comfortable, bedlinen good quality, towels could be better but are changed daily. This time we enjoyed the spa massages and rate the head and shoulder massage as very good, great value and recommend it.

Staff throughout are helpful - restaurant, beach, club, spa, reception, roomboys. The hotel and rooms are kept clean but sometimes the damp smells linger in rooms when there has been a lot of rain.

This time we upgraded to a Superior Room with sea view and ended up in 262 - which was smaller than a standard room and had a very small bathroom with a plastic shower curtain - not what we expected from the web site and all the other rooms have the glass walk in showers. There are just six rooms in the hotel like this and they charge more for them! 261 would be a much better option but better still don't bother to upgrade and instead ask for a standard room at the sea end the block - or go Delux.

Can recommend the tailor next to the hotel on the right. And also the driver with the (new) blue tuk-tuk - Sandy? He prices fairly and will introduce you to some local surprises (eg a spice factory, a trip round the fisherman's huts).

Date of stay: February 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank RandDtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2015

Believe all the positives. The staff take pride in their work and appreciate their guests.
To mention individuals would be unfair as everyone from the managers to the gardening team play their part in making this hotel special.
The food is so good. Try the curry at breakfast, even if its just once.
The delux rooms are worth the premium, however you could spend that money on a three day, two night trip exploring the wonderful sights and history this country has to offer.
Take a Tuk Tuk into town, try yoga with the sports team, walk along the beach and chat to the fishermen, have a gin and tonic, lie back on your comfortable sunbed and relax....you made the right choice.

Date of stay: February 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gustov140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews