We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful time in Sri Lanka”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Mermaid & Club
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Kalutara
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed in the hotel for two weeks on our first visit to Sri Lanka. From arrival till the last day the service was very good. The staff in the hotel doing their best to make you fell welcome. Nothing seems too much trouble. The rooms are a bit dated and may be the Manager should think of buying a new bed linen, but you don't really spend that much time indoors, so it dint really matter. The Hotel grounds are very nice, plenty of sun beds around the pool and close to the beech. The food in the restaurant was very good quality and always fresh. You can always find something to you taste. Also, there is a snack room, where you can have a cup of coffee, tea, juices, sandwiches, sweets and fruit.
We have booked the two nights trips with Suresh, on of the beech boys, who was highly recommended on the Trip Advisor. We had a wonderful time and everything was arranged perfectly. He did our airport transfers as well at a very good price. You can contact him on suresh.pushpakumara@yahoo.com or find him on the beech. He is with red Mohican hair.
Special thank you to Abi at Reception, Mahy in the Restaurant and chef, who made us fell special. We will return to Sri Lanka one day and definitely will stay in Mermaid again.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank oxanal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,567)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

538 - 544 of 1,567 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2014

Just spent 3 weeks at this lovely little hotel and I cant begin to praise it enough. Each and every one of the staff are friendly, helpful and welcoming. From the smallest thing (ant bite on my foot) to the bigger issues (ringing the service provider to get Wimbledon on the TV) nothing was too much trouble. The sporting facilities are the best we have come across in Sri Lanka, from badminton, squash, table tennis, cricket, pool and watersports (which are done in a separate pool, so as not to annoy relaxing guests) the sports staff are always happy to play. The evening entertainment is good and kept to background volume so you can still have a conversation with fellow guests and the bar staff keep the drinks flowing. Although the food wasn't as varied or plentiful as other resorts we have visited, we always found something to eat. The chef found out that we liked our curry a little hotter than those that were on offer and was happy to make us separate ones whenever we wanted, in fact he sought us out most days and asked what we would like! That's service for you! The pool is clean and well maintained though a few more brollies are needed especially when the resort gets to full capacity. The resort is kept spotless by the army of gardeners and the rooms are cleaned every day with fresh flowers left on the bed. The resort give guests a framed photograph when they leave as a momento, which is a nice touch. We will definitely be back in November when the England cricket team visit Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank heathermel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Just back from the mermaid and had a great time,the staff where 5 star and the food was as good as any hotel we have been to.our only complaint would be the same as Smudgewindsor that the wine was expensive but a quick ride on a Tuk Tuk into town and we stoked up at £5 per bottle.I played squash with Smudge one day but thought I was gonny have a heart attack so left him to play with the poolguys.Would definatey go back,in fact Mags is already checking prices for next year.

Room Tip: we were on the ground floor which was ideal for popping in and out
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We have just returned from a 10 day holiday. The hotel was brilliant. It may only be 3* rated but the service was 5*. Every member of staff was fantastic. There isn't much more I can say that hasn't been said by other recent reviews. The room were clean and comfortable (thanks to Neel who serviced the rooms). Food was fabulous with plenty of choice (again compliments to the chefs). Service was brilliant (Sammy, Cheeky, Silva and the rest of the team were brilliant). The spa was fantastic and the activities were fun (water volleyball etc). We met some brilliant people (guests) who also made the holiday. If I were to find a fault it would only be the lack of wi-fi outside of the reception area but that is only a very minor issue. Once again thanks to all the staff and other guests for making this a brilliant holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Andrew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

My wife and I have just returned from our first visit to Sri Lanka where we stayed at the Mermaid Hotel. We had a great time and were impressed with both the country and with the hotel.

We arrived on the first day the hotel had opened following refurbishments and as such there were only a few other guests. We stayed in an standard room although we did look at one of the deluxe rooms with a view to upgrading. However, we decided not to upgrade and were happy that the standard room was a decent size and perfectly fine for our requirements The room was kept clean and any maintenance issues promptly addressed.

We found the food to be fantastic with plenty of choice. Loads of different curries and other less spicy options if you fancy a change. The chef came out to speak to the guests everyday and asked if we were happy with the food. On one occasion, my wife and a couple of others asked the chef if he would cook a chicken gumbo dish that they had liked and he made it specially for them the next evening. The dinning room is well set out and a pleasant environment although we preferred to eat outside on the balcony overlooking the pool. The waiters are very good and if like us, you are a creature of habit, they try and keep the table you like for you.

The are plenty of sun beds in the grounds or by the pool and both are kept in great condition by the gardeners and pool boys. There is another smaller pool that is used for water volleyball so that the regular pool is left for guests to use without being disturbed. My wife did water aerobics and I played volleyball in this smaller pool quite a few times. There is also a squash court if you are feeling energetic. I played against some of the lads from the sports centre who were happy to play anytime, they even let me win a few times.

As other have said, the all inclusive package does not include wine, which if like us you are a wine drinker is a nuisance. We found that it is not easy to get wine in Sri Lanka and it does tend to be quite expensive. You can purchase wine from the wine list at the Mermaid although it costs anything from around £15 a bottle. We had to go to a wine shop in Kalutara to stock up on a few bottles but even doing that the prices vary greatly. One wine shop will charge £10 a bottle but another 5 for the same wine. £5 was the cheapest we could find.

We did a couple of trips during our stay. We booked a two day trip to Candi/elephant sanctuary through the rep as we got a good deal. We also had a one day trip to Galle including a river trip, turtle hatchery (great), herb garden (rubbish) and tsunami memorial. We paid £50 for this days trip with Thandy who lives outside the font of the hotel and normally drives a tuk tuk. He turned up in an air conditioned minibus with driver just for the two of us and really made the effort to make sure we had a good day.

We loved our holiday in Sri Lanka and found it to be a fascinating place with very friendly people. The Mermaid hotel was lovely and we cannot fault any of the staff who were all polite and friendly. If we had travelled to this hotel when our children were younger I am not sure they would find enough to keep them occupied but for a couple, the hotel is perfect. We met some lovely people during our holiday and we are glad that we decided to stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 255 which is on the second floor handy for the dining room and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Smudgewindsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Me and my fiancé stayed at the Mermaid for 10 nights of our 14 night stay in Sri Lanka in June 2014. This was our first time in Sri Lanka and this hotel has made our experience a very good one.

The rooms are very nice and kept very clean. We had a nice view of the swimming pool from our balcony, the air con in the room is very good and keeps the room nice and cool for when you return after a day in the sun. The staff at this hotel are very very friendly and helpful, they cannot do enough for you and always say hello when passing. The chef is very friendly and very good, the food was always tasty and a nice variety, the chef will even make special orders for guests at no extra cost. The hotel and pool area/gardens are kept very clean as well, there are always plenty of sunbeds available, we were able to get sunbeds next to the pool on everyday. The hotel also gave us a very nice gift (photograph of us in a frame with the date of the holiday etc) before we left, which was a very nice of them.

If you are planning any trips whilst you are staying here then I would 100% recommend booking through Suresh. You can find him on the beach most days (if he isn't there you can ask another beach boy to phone him), he has a red mohican hair cut. We booked two trips with Suresh and both of them were very well organised and very enjoyable. They weren't too expensive either, much cheaper than booking through a rep or the hotel. You can contact him before you arrive as well his email is suresh.pushpakumara@yahoo.com. He also bought us a very nice gift for booking our trips with him, if we return to Sri Lanka in the future then we definately be booking with Suresh again!

This hotel and the trips we did with Suresh made this holiday one we will never forget and I would 100% recommend that you book this hotel, do not listen to the bad reviews, we were on holiday at the same time as the last person to leave a bad review and I honestly cannot understand what they are complaining about...

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kyle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Just got back from 10 days at the Mermaid. We were a party of 5, three generations, and none of us can understand the review from the lady complaining!! We are all experienced travellers, have been all over the world, and we all loved the Mermaid. The food had something for everyone, we had three food lovers looking for the exotic, and two very plain eaters. Everyone's plates were piled high at every meal, and often we all had seconds (and more). Pleased to let Chef know that one of our plain eaters was brave and is now a fan of curries!! When we mentioned that we'd like to try a hot Sri Lankan curry, Chef had one made especially for us. Desserts were irresistible, every day. The hotel itself was fresh and modern, we had a range of rooms and all were perfect. The grounds are beautiful and so relaxing, the pool boy ensuring we had a gorgeous spot in the gardens near the pool, and all of us were together every day. Abbie at reception couldn't do more for us, and everything was arranged with such obvious pleasure. Cheeky the waiter lived up to his name, and both he and Sammy are professional excellent waiters, not to mention the girl who waitress's upstairs too (sorry I've forgotten your name). They clearly enjoy their jobs, and that is the mark of a good hotel. We had a couples massage in the spa and both of us fell asleep!! It couldn't have been more relaxing. I have been singing the hotel's praises since I returned and will be making repeat reservations, especially for my staff, as I intend to offer a stay at the hotel as an incentive. We were celebrating my mother's 60th birthday, and her bedroom decorations, cake, the attention from the staff, and the hotel itself, all made the holiday so special. We also used Suresh suresh.pushpakumara@yahoo.com for our airport pickups, elephant trekking tour, and to arrange a bonfire and fireworks on the beach for my Mum. He couldn't have done more for us, even providing a bottle of Arrack for the celebrations and gifts for us before we left. I would highly recommend his services and the hotel to anyone. My Mum will never forget her trip and we will be back!!!

Room Tip: We had two standard and one deluxe room, and all were spacious, clean, with beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank K4renC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalutara
0.7 mi away
Tangerine Beach Hotel
Tangerine Beach Hotel
#6 of 11 in Kalutara
1,263 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
#3 of 11 in Kalutara
1,347 reviews
0.8 mi away
Turyaa Kalutara
Turyaa Kalutara
#5 of 11 in Kalutara
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The Blue Water
The Blue Water
#3 of 10 in Wadduwa
1,470 reviews
13.3 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.6 mi away
Citrus Waskaduwa
Citrus Waskaduwa
#1 of 1 in Waskaduwa
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mermaid & Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mermaid & Club

Address: Mahawaskaduwa, Kalutara 12000, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Kalutara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kalutara
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kalutara
#1 Spa Hotel in Kalutara
#1 Family Hotel in Kalutara
Price Range: $111 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mermaid & Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mermaid Hotel & Club lies on the golden sands of Mahawaskaduwa; a cosy fishing village in the city of Kalutara which is of religious significance, just 24 miles south of Colombo and 45 miles from the International airport. It is cleverly nestled in a vast coconut grove along a stretch of golden, sandy beach; a perfect get-away for sun, sand and sea lovers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mermaid & Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mermaid And Club
Resort All Inclusive Mermaid
Mermaid Hotel Sri Lanka
Hotel Mermaid & Club Sri Lanka/Kalutara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing