We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Mermaid & Club
Nearby Hotels
$146
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$51
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Turyaa Kalutara(Kalutara)
$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$233
$200
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$59
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,608)
Filter reviews
1,608 results
Traveler rating
999
465
96
34
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
999
465
96
34
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspushpakumara yahoosuresh toursred mohicansports centrebeach boyselephant orphanageday tripsri lankacheeky chappiemoonlight jewellerspalm treesdeluxe roomsports teammoonlight gemstuk tuksports facilitiesgreat holiday
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
606 - 611 of 1,608 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We chose the Mermaid having read the reviews and were not disappointed.
This traditional Sri Lankan hotel is truly lovely and it's staff quite outstanding.
We arrived at 7am and were shown immediately to our rooms, which were traditionally and beautifully decorated and furnished, room boys maintained the rooms to a great standard throughout our stay, and the floral bed displays were beautiful.
The restaurant is charming, a balcony table with views of the ocean and a cooling sea breeze soon became a favourite, where we enjoyed the most unfailingly delicious meals every day, freshly prepared and far too many choices resulting in several courses to ensure the sampling of many delicious delights. Waiters simply exceptional - attentive, warm and friendly, they really 'go above and beyond', of particular note the wonderfully friendly Sammi, funny Cheeky Chappy who as well as doing a fabulous job kept us all thoroughly amused, Eranga,
Staff in other area all fabulous - the management have a fabulous team of staff of whom they should feel very proud.
We booked our tours with Reshni who I had been in touch with prior to our arrival, (he's licensed) and goes out of his way to make you feel welcome and to make sure you are happy, going far beyond what he needs to do. He's a wealth of information and keen to share his fabulous local knowledge during tours which always included far more than we expected. Reshni arranged a firework beach party for us which was great fun. He took us to local shops where we got much better prices than some of the ones around the hotel, and if you mentioned to him you wanted something, it arrived, my son got sunburnt having fallen asleep and Reshni arrived with fresh Aloe Vera for some very welcome relief.
We had an amazing time in Sri Lanka, at the Mermaid and touring with Reshni, and would thoroughly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hlnjmsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Very nice hotel with firendly helpful service. Excellent food in very cosy restaurant - every day you can choose from many kinds of food - british style of breakfast, lunch consisted from two kind of soups, many kind of a main dishes (curries, meat, salates etc) and fruits + desserts -as well as supper...
In hotel resort is also sports centre - there you can play water polo, cricket etc. For me was the most important wonderful yoga practice - with really great yoga teacher Shiva. I recommend him to all people who love yoga - beginners and advanced...
In hotel are also very good massages - but quite expensive... I study ayurveda, and i appeared on the beach next to the hotel (in old pink house) great Ayurvedic masseur, this very nice man massages your body the hour - the best massage I've experienced - and price was great 1000 LKR!!! It must be experienced:)
Trip to Sri Lanka was really wonderful and Hotel Mermaid & Club is a great choice!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tereza l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

For the first time ever we decided to go all inclusive and this proved to be one of the most amazing holidays we have ever had, thanks to booking with Elegant travel. This hotel lived up to everything I had researched on-line including the glowing reports from previous guests. Our room had been selected with considerable thought and we couid step out onto the lawn to sunbathe in a peaceful part of the grounds. The food was excellant the staff most polite and a high standard of cleanliness.throughout. Highly recommended. Mike & Gill Collins

Room Tip: 161 162 163 all quiet, ground floor and open onto lawn
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MikeGilH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

The Boss (she who must be obeyed) was concerned about booking a 3 star hotel when travelling such a distance, however the reason it was 3 star made it. No sterile air-conditioned dinning room but one on the first floor with an open veranda and windows at the back meaning you had a lovely sea breeze keeping you cool. It also had a high ceiling meaning that it felt light and easy going while enjoying a lovely meal. Again the bar was below and open which gave it a lovely friendly feeling. The local whiskey (me) and rum (The Boss) were good enough and you could order some decent wines with your meal at the same price as in a UK restaurant.

The staff could not be faulted, helpful, attentive and smiling (but not false).

The rooms are good with decent beds and air con unit and a good shower. There was a slight smell from the drains occasionally but nothing to distract us. There are a couple of cats living at the hotel and the female is lovely though no oil painting. There are some dogs on the beach belonging to some tour guides etc and again friendly so if you left your pets at home you can get your pet fix, though helps if you can take some food out for them (the female dog with no tail understands "Sit").

The only things which we didn't like were the "Tour Guides" and other hawkers standing on the beach in front of the hotel ready to pouch on you when you go down to the sea. Also, although the hotel made some effort to keep the beach reasonable clean some more effort is required. However going into the sea was like entering a warm bath, but with some strong under-currents, so be aware.

Did a couple of trips, which we enjoyed (Elephant Orphanage/riding and Temple/boat trip/Galle). However both included stops, one Spice Garden, another mine (not asked for). which were both hard sell at high prices for various massage/herbal medicines etc/jewellery. These can be bought considerably cheaper elsewhere.

We were told that it wasgoing to be modernised, I hope there do not ruining it.

Room Tip: We had a standard room which was more than good enough for the two of us
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeremy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Last night of 17 night stay, well how many people say they don't go back to the same hotel because the worlds a big place. This is our second stay in 10 years, so took a bit of time however great stay and the staff and food just as good as I remembered. Cheeky who was our waiter for our stay and he certainly lived up to his name and made our stay even more enjoyable. The accommodation been upgraded with some beautiful suites facing the sea. We met the same beach boy (Indie) who arranged our trips again to the elephant orphanage, one you can't miss. He even took us to his home for new year celebrations, were all the neighbours do like a house swop and share food and sweets, you don't see that in london. This is one of those little gems of hotel so book soon so you don't miss out.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 112 right on the beach
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keno12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews