We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,664)
Filter reviews
1,664 results
Traveler rating
1,043
473
99
34
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,043
473
99
34
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pushpakumara yahoo red mohican suresh tours beach boys sports centre elephant orphanage day trip sri lanka cheeky chappie moonlight jewellers palm trees deluxe room sports team tuk tuk great holiday sports facilities curries
Filter
Updating list...
714 - 719 of 1,664 reviews
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We stayed here for 11 days during our first trip to Sri Lanka after having already stayed in Bentota for 8 days. The hotel does what it says on the tin, it is a 3 star accommodation hotel, however I will agree with previous reviews and praise all the staff especially all the waiters in the restaurant. The service here is 2nd to none, never having to wait for a drink or for dirty plates to be taken away - very attentive. Food is always of a very good quality with a very good selection to suit all tastes.
The 3 meal sittings a day provide plenty of food plus there is tea, coffee and fruit available in the 'cake room' all day plus cake and biscuits late afternoon.
WiFi is only available in the bar and reception so if you need more than that then this is not suitable for you
Common areas are starting to look very tired - Reception and the toilets definitely need updating. The bar area could also do with some more comfy seats.

The beach is not very nice sand (better in Bentota) plus the seas are very rough and red flags fly each day.

In regards to the guys on the beach, we spoke to Indi and although we didn't want to do any trips, he took us to his home and we met his family and had tea and cake - excellent hospitality - Indi's English is very good and would recommend him to anyone taking a trip.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FMR40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Hotel itself 3 star Slightly tired at the edges but oh my goodness the staff and food more than make up for it
Special mention to Nishan at the bar he was fabulous and Sammie in the restaurant in fact all in there they made us feel so welcome
As for the food !! I could live there forever !!
With much trepidation we used Indika who was one of the boys on the beach for our trips out What a great decision The price he quoted was price we paid but he went over and above the call of duty He even stopped and bought myself and my daughter cough sweets as we has bad throats Every place we went to we were front of the line I don't think he could have done more for us than he did !
Next time we return to Sri Lanka and we definitely will I will get Indi to organise the complete trip

Room Tip: Go for superior room but ask for upstairs one
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank desdemona2123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

I booked this holiday to The Mermaid Hotel as a surprise for my wifes 40th Birthday and we weren't let down.
From the arrival at the reception area to leaving, all the staff were brilliant and so courteous and professional they are all an absolute credit to the hotel. The lady on the front desk i think was Abi who was brilliant and so informative but as i said all the staff are a credit.
The room cleaner especially Nihal was fantastic and dressed our room daily after cleaning with fresh flowers and his attention to detail was quality.
The food is brilliant and if you like curries this is the place but they also do alternatives if not, but with loads of choice and its not repetitive and not re-heated from the previous services.
The grounds are immaculate and kept cleaned routinely by gardeners and your constantly visited by mischievous Chipmunks running about.
All in all we had an absolute quality time and will definitely be returning next year.

Well done to all at The Mermaid.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Very nice, charming hotel - not very big but it's OK. Stuff very friendly and helpful. Nice pool. Rooms clean - it is very important for me. Food - very good quality, big choice, very tasty.
I also had a massage in SPA, which was also very nice. Lot of beach beds and many chipmunks running here and there - it was great pleasure and fun to observe them. Hope to come back there one day as I felt that crew really care about comfort of guests and surrounding was lovely and every evening some live music or traditional dance show was organized.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ninetaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Just got back from a 9 day stay at the hotel after a 6 day touring experience. Hotel was fine and functional. The food was really good Nd if you are into your curries then there is plenty of choice as there is for non curry lovers. The staff are brilliant and go out of their way to ensure you have a memorable time and go away with positive impressions about their country.
The dinner staff also work their socks off always with a smile on their face. Must make special mention of Iranga who was a real star. Beach is nice but the sea as others have mentioned has strong undertows which can catch out the unwary swimmer and definitely not ok for kids. That apart no complaints and would highly recommend. Only gave it 3for the location because the railway line runs outside the property, but to be fair it follows the beach so all the hotels along the long beach will have the same issue, but it doesn,t spoil your enjoyment.

Room Tip: First floor because its on the same level as the restaurant. I,m being lazy, but what the hell, it is your holiday!
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stevek50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews