We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Mermaid & Club
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Citrus Waskaduwa(Waskaduwa)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Turyaa Kalutara(Kalutara)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Privilege(Wadduwa)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,608)
Filter reviews
1,608 results
Traveler rating
999
465
96
34
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
999
465
96
34
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspushpakumara yahoosuresh toursred mohicansports centrebeach boyselephant orphanageday tripsri lankacheeky chappiemoonlight jewellerspalm treesdeluxe roomsports teammoonlight gemstuk tuksports facilitiesgreat holiday
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
868 - 873 of 1,608 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Just returned from a weeks stay at the Mermaid.Very friendly staff, excellent service and comfortable rooms. Food good, the a la carte is reasonably priced if you fancy a change from the buffet we enjoyed the sea food platter and beer battered fish and chips. Wine is not part of the all inclusive package so if this is your tipple expect to pay around 3300 rupees including tax and vat. To buy outside from a wine shop(in Kalutara) about 1700 rupees.
We used Suresh with the red stripe in his hair ,one of the beach boys for our trips he was very reliable and would not hesitate to use him again if we returned to Sri Lanka. We did a trip to the Elephant Orphanage then on to Kandy for the Spice gardens, tea plantation, Tooth Temple and cultural show. The hotel we stayed in for the night there was very good. The other trip we made we Suresh was by Tuk Tuk to the Turtle Hatchery one evening. His trips were very good value and we could do things at our pace, we even got him to stop at the wine shop on the way back to our hotel on both trips.
The beach is long and narrow, safe to walk along. However, the sea is quite rough and the current very strong.
Never had a problem getting a sun bed,even though people "reserve" them leaving a towel on them.
Evening entertainment ok.
Snack room was a good idea you could make your own tea, coffee all day.Cakes ,biscuits sandwiches and fruit available mid morning and afternoon.

Didn't think much of our rep Tissan,we were out when he called(3 days after we arrived) so he left a note to call him. When we did he asked" what do you want?" He seemed to think that we should know the days he was visiting the hotel without being told!

Be warned the journey from the airport took us just over 2 hours, the traffic is terrible.

In all a very good trip and I would stay at the Mermaid if I returned to Sri Lanka

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dilip S, General Manager at Hotel Mermaid & Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

We thank the reviewer for their stay at Mermaid Hotel & Club and sharing their holiday experience.

We were delighted in reading the favourable comments and thank you for expressing them for the benefit of visitors to this website.

We wish you will return and look forward to welcoming you to Mermaid Hotel & Club.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We have recently returned from the Mermaid which we chose, based on Tripadvisor recommendations, we were not disappointed, the hotel is clean and comfortable, the food is amazing, buffet style, but always fresh and plentiful and lots of choice. What made the Mermaid special for us, was the attention and friendliness of the staff who cannot do enough for you, also as the hotel is relatively small you quickly make new friends,(Thanks everyone :) evening entertainment is based around the bar area, with local dancers, and musicians. A minor negative is the location which is away from Kalutara, although tuk tuk's are always available and cheap. Sri Lanka is a wonderful island and we did a 3 day trip (elephant orphanage,Kandy,Yala etc) organised by Suresh, who again we discovered through T A, and made our tour unforgettable, we used him for money exchange and also arranged a boat trip at Bentota and beach party, very honest and trustworthy. It is worth going whale watching at Mirissa, although from the Mermaid it is a very early start and 2 to 3 hour journey. Overall a very memorable holiday.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keefers666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dilip S, General Manager at Hotel Mermaid & Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

We thank the reviewer for their stay at Mermaid Hotel & Club and sharing their holiday experience.

We were delighted in reading the favourable comments and thank you for expressing them for the benefit of visitors to this website.

We wish you will return and look forward to welcoming you to Mermaid Hotel & Club.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I stayed already the fourth time in Mermaid and I enjoyed every minute again. Very friendly staff, comfortable rooms and excellent food. The spa offers a variety of difference massages in a relaxing atmosphere. The animation team is lots of fun The location is only 1 hour drive from Colombo. The beach is amazing and the water just perfect I´ll surely come back. See you soon.

Room Tip: Choose the DeLuxe rooms. I just love laying in the bath tub overlooking the beach.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank heikbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dilip S, General Manager at Hotel Mermaid & Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

We thank the reviewer for their stay at Mermaid Hotel & Club and sharing their holiday experience.

We were delighted in reading the favourable comments and thank you for expressing them for the benefit of visitors to this website.

We wish you will return and look forward to welcoming you to Mermaid Hotel & Club.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed between January 22nd and February 5th 2013. The room was perfect, spotlessly clean, the decoration of flowers on the bed every day was beautiful.
All the hotel areas inside and outside were spotless, the Chipmunks in all the trees were an great added bonus. The staff couldn't do enough for us and very polite. Activities and entertainment were very good.
The food was terrific, very varied every day and catered for vegetarians!
This is the best hotel we have stayed in and would highly recommend it, We hope to be able to go back next year.
Sri Lanka is absolutely fabulous.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michael w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dilip S, General Manager at Hotel Mermaid & Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

We thank the reviewer for their stay at Mermaid Hotel & Club and sharing their holiday experience.

We were delighted in reading the favourable comments and thank you for expressing them for the benefit of visitors to this website.

We wish you will return and look forward to welcoming you to Mermaid Hotel & Club.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

we had a lovely week at The Mermaid for our 40th Anniversary the staff are always happy to make your holiday special, Nihall who looked after our room left messages on our bed to wish us happy anniversary it was lovely, also special thanks to Saviantha (sorry if I've spelt it wrong) from the animation team was lovely with his "Hello" to attract our attention when doing Aqua Aerobics we really did have a laugh with him, we didn't go on the beach much as the sea was quite rough but we did book our trips to the Elephant Orphanage and the River Safari through Harry's Tours who was very professional and between him and his brother spoke many languages. My only gripe really is that you have to pay for Diet Coke. Our thanks to all involved

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LiverpoolChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dilip S, General Manager at Hotel Mermaid & Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

We thank the reviewer for their stay at Mermaid Hotel & Club and sharing their holiday experience.

We were delighted in reading the favourable comments and thank you for expressing them for the benefit of visitors to this website.

We wish you will return and look forward to welcoming you to Mermaid Hotel & Club.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews