We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"I'll Be Back"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Mermaid & Club
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Kalutara
Reviewed January 21, 2013

First time in Sri Lanka and loved the peacefulness of this hotel, after the hussle and bustle of the tours. The staff were friendly and helpful, and kept the hotel clean and tidy. The food was of a good standard, and well prepared.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Silverton_Jack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dilip S, General Manager at Hotel Mermaid & Club, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

We thank the reviewer for their stay at Mermaid Hotel & Club and sharing their holiday experience.

We were delighted in reading the favourable comments and thank you for expressing them for the benefit of visitors to this website.

We wish you will return and look forward to welcoming you to Mermaid Hotel & Club.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,530)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

841 - 847 of 1,531 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2013

We chose the Mermaid Hotel after looking at the fantastic reviews on Trip Advisor. We stayed between the 22nd December 2012 and the 12th January 2013. We opted for one of the Deluxe Rooms and we were not disappointed. Upon arrival we were rapidly checked in after receiving a welcome drink. Our room was on the ground floor overlooking the beach/sea with a balcony. The only problem with the ground floor rooms is that anyone walking passed tends to look into the room/bathroom. When using the bathroom during the day you have to put the blind down to maintain any privacy. This was brought to the attention of the Hotel on the feed back form. The balcony had two very comfortable chairs where we could relax and watch the sunset. Our room had a very nice spacious bathroom which was well equipped with everything needed. The room was cleaned daily, sheets and towels changed and flowers left on the bed. The laundry service was adequate/efficient and reasonably priced. Every member of staff from the Gardeners to the General Manager could not have been more helpful. The restaurant staff could not do enough for us. In particular Dilani, Sami, Sigi (knownas cheeky chappie) were a credit to the hotel. The food in our opinion was of good quality and good variety. We disagree that the food is repetitive as there are different selections every day. The Executive Chef made his presence known to the guests on a number of occasions ensuring that everyone was happy and made it known that if you wanted anything that was not on the menu, he would do his best to get it to you. Hotel management also walked around the hotel regularly ensuring that guests had no problems.
The swimming pool is fairly large with ample amounts of sun beds/mattresses and umbrellas available. The pool boys arrange your beds/towels immediately you request them.
We used the spa facilities a couple of times. The Spa is quite expensive for massages i.e £20 per hour. There are numerous massage centres on the beach nearby which charge £5 per hour. You will see plenty of what people describe as chipmunks. They are in fact palm squirrels and they will sit on you and take peanuts from your hand. They are very friendly little things and quite funny when they are getting chased by the crows.
We booked a two day/ one night trip with one of the Beach Boys...Suresh. We had a fantastic time and stayed overnight near newa aurelia at a Hotel Rambada Falls. A great 3 star hotel right next to an impressive waterfall. The Beach boys are cheaper than the hotel reps.
Even cheaper than the Beach Boys are some of the Tuk Tuk drivers outside of the hotel main entrance. One in particular who lives opposite the Hotel is Sanjeev. He arranged a trip for a family of 4 and saved them £25 each, cheaper than Suresh. The only thing you have to be aware of with the Beach Boys when you book an overnight trip is the very basic hotels that they book you into. Wine in the hotel starts at £13 per bottle.
If you require a change from the hotel......turn left on the beach and the first restaurant you come to is the Royal Lankan. This is run by Sumi and his wife Barbara (From Nottingham)......the food is excellent. They do not have a license to sell alcohol, however, they can obtain excellent wine and beer for you to buy from another source...(very cheap)....I celebrated my Birthday there and had an excellent evening.
I have noticed a few negative comments on some of the reviews relating to the hotel, and I can only advise that if you speak to the management/general manager....they will do their utmost to rectify any problems that you think you may have. Don't leave it until you get home.
This is a fantastic family run hotel who take great pride in everything that they do. We had a fantastic time and we would recommend this hotel to anyone. The majority of the guests at this hotel are British with a few German/other european.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 186338Abernethy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dilip S, General Manager at Hotel Mermaid & Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

We thank the reviewer for their stay at Mermaid Hotel & Club and sharing their holiday experience.

We were delighted in reading the favourable comments and thank you for expressing them for the benefit of visitors to this website.

We wish you will return and look forward to welcoming you to Mermaid Hotel & Club.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed here for 10 days after a 7 day Mercury Cultural Tour, we were looking for a change of pace and a relaxing chilled out time after the tour. After some confusion with rooms at check-in, which was quickly resolved by the Duty Manager, that is exactly what we got. All the staff at the hotel, from the room boys to the Sports Team to the Spa Staff and the chefs and waiters in the restaurants and the barmen on all bars simply cannot do enough for you and refuse to stop smiling and welcoming you throughout. The quality and variety of the food cannot be faulted and we enjoyed every meal, considering it is only a small hotel the choice at every mealtime was exceptional. The opposite is true of the evening entertainment, which left a lot to be desired and was repetitive, however this did not overly affect our enjoyment. The sea here is rough but we took a daily dip just as a change from the pool which was perfectly adequate. Never a problem getting a sun lounger, the matresses and towels were provided promptly by the Sports guys, we enjoyed the daily aqua-robics, which were enthusiastically held but poorly attended. While here we undertook an overnight trip to Yala National Park with Ravi, one of the Boys on the Beach, it was much cheaper than the Travel Company trip and fantastically organised and enabled us to pick exactly what we did and did not want to do, the trip included a visit to Galle. One thing to bear in mind is that diet drinks, such as diet coke, are not included as part of the all-inclusive package, a small thing but worth knowing if that is your poison. All in all a fantastic hotel and a great way to round off a wonderful holiday with lots of fabulous memories, thank you Sri Lanka!

Room Tip: Ask for a room further from the bar/restaurant, not because of noise but just because they have bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Fiona_Tug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dilip S, General Manager at Hotel Mermaid & Club, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

We thank the reviewer for their stay at Mermaid Hotel & Club and sharing their holiday experience.

We were delighted in reading the favourable comments and thank you for expressing them for the benefit of visitors to this website.

We wish you will return and look forward to welcoming you to Mermaid Hotel & Club.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We arrived on the 15th of December to a wet Sri Lanka and the travel time from Colombo airport to the hotel is around 2 and a half hours. So when we arrived we were tired, however the hotel were very welcoming and we were shown to our rooms right away.

The food is of 5 star quality with a variety of choice! They had tons of meat dishes, pasta, and of course curries! Breakfast was also amazing. Drinks were available all the time and the alcohol brands tasted good!

The staff were of 5* quality and above, they were so friendly and made our trip even better. Nightly entertainment was great fun and we were up dancing a lot!

As we had a lot of rain (very unusual over Christmas) we made use of the gym facilities and we even challenged the staff to table tennis matches! Water aerobics as brilliant and such a laugh.

We did a 2 day trip to Kandi, with one of the beach boys Suresh, he was fantastic and very accommodating. The trip was very well organised and the hotel we stayed in at Kandy was great too. The drive back on the second day to the hotel was very long however, the driver is amazing and you can stop whenever you need to.

Christmas eve was fantastic with activities planned all day! The food spread in the evening is absolutely brilliant with everything you could think of! All the staff are there and make it a Christmas to remember!

I would definitely recommend this hotel for one to remember and enjoy! I was so sad to leave and hope I can return very soon!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah-jane9200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dilip S, General Manager at Hotel Mermaid & Club, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

We thank the reviewer for their stay at Mermaid Hotel & Club and sharing their holiday experience.

We were delighted in reading the favourable comments and thank you for expressing them for the benefit of visitors to this website.

We wish you will return and look forward to welcoming you to Mermaid Hotel & Club.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed at the Mermaid between over the Christmas and New Year period as a family of 2 adults and our two children aged 20 and 16. The holiday was truly amazing and we had a lovely 2 weeks. We weren’t expecting a lot from the hotel with it being a 3* hotel but, we were extremely surprised with what we found. The hotel and its staff were unbelievable; the staff were extremely attentive and would do anything for you. The staff were incredibly friendly, the waiters, waitress and bar staff were a great joy to talk to. So thank you to Cheeky, Sammy and Co. The food was excellent, plenty of variety and excellent quality. The Christmas and New Years Eve gala dinners were amazing, so thank you to the executive chef and his team. The sports and entertainment staff were always fun and willing to join in with any activities we wished to do. The England Vs. Sri Lanka cricket match was a particular highlight, though Sri Lanka were pretty good at one point so beware. Thank you to Gamani, the hotel taxi man, for taking on shopping trips and to the dive school. Would recommend Sunshine Water Sports in Bentota, if anyone is looking for somewhere to dive, although the week we were at the hotel a new dive school called Angel Dive School opened up down the road if anyone wishes to try.
The room were lovely, clean and very comfortable, I read a comment on here on my return regarding a complaint about room 261, this was the room we stayed in and we had no issue with it at all. There were plenty of sunbed areas and the pool was peaceful.
After reading the comments on here and speaking to other guests at the hotel we decided to find Suresh Tours on the beach (the guy with the red Mohican, accept no imitation!!!!!). I would highly recommend Suresh and his staff for wonderful trips both day and overnight, everything was excellent that was arranged and itineraries were planned to meet our needs, with some surprises on the way, which were amazing, something we felt you wouldn’t get with the tour company. Suresh and his staff were extremely friendly and we felt safe, happy and comfortable at all times. Please don’t have any hesitation on booking with Suresh who you can find on Facebook (Suresh Tours) or email suresh.pushpakumara@yahoo.com.
So thank you to everyone including the room boys, bell boys and ground staff who all made our experience amazing, we hope to return next year if finances allow. A special thanks to all the guests who made our holiday complete and helped us in so many ways, especially to Pat and Eddie, not forgetting Jill and Roy, Shirley and Graham, Liz and Steve, Jane and Dave, Ann and John, Sarah and Simon, Purple, Maria and her mum, Maggie, Max, Marina and Lizzie, Mary and Frank and all the others, thank you so much you made our festive season.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Samantha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dilip S, General Manager at Hotel Mermaid & Club, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

We thank the reviewer for their stay at Mermaid Hotel & Club and sharing their holiday experience.

We were delighted in reading the favourable comments and thank you for expressing them for the benefit of visitors to this website.

We wish you will return and look forward to welcoming you to Mermaid Hotel & Club.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Our family of 4 teenage boys and mum and dad had a very enjoyable stay at the mermaid. The staff could not have been more helpful, the sports staff very enthusiastic and the place was spotlessly clean. Overall the food was Ok, but after a week of buffet food it did get a bit monotonous. However.the a la carte plates of seafood which we did treat ourselves to on a couple of occasions were amazing value and delicious, as was the steak. We booked deluxe rooms as they were more spacious and the bathrooms were beautiful wiith a good view over the beach. I did treat myself to a massage at the spa and that was wonderful.. Having done a lot of research on trip advisor etc I booked a Two night three day tour with Suresh one of the beach boys ( red Mohican hair style) before we arrived. He booked the hotels, transport, guides, and I have to say the trip was the highlight of our holiday . Suresh could not have been more helpful and we found him great company. Use Suresh for any trip he will go out of his way to make it a real experience. The beach itself is not great but ok for a dip in the sea.ŷ

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dilip S, General Manager at Hotel Mermaid & Club, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

We thank the reviewer for their stay at Mermaid Hotel & Club and sharing their holiday experience.

We were delighted in reading the favourable comments and thank you for expressing them for the benefit of visitors to this website.

We wish you will return and look forward to welcoming you to Mermaid Hotel & Club.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Its unsual to write a review before we have even stopped at this hotel ,but we are going to stay here on May 7th for 2 weeks and again in September
The reason we are writing this is because we go to Sri Lanka 4 times a year and always stopped at the Royal Palms (Next Door) and upgrade to the Royal Suite we arrived on Dec 19th 2012 to 10Jan 2013 and the standards have gone down so much we think from 4* to 3* and we spend so much money at that hotel from upgrading rooms to holding parties for our friends that we will no longer stop there because of the standards We have so many friends in the area from beach boys to shop keepers that recommended this hotel (The Mermaid) and checking it out our self`s this is going to be our new home when we are in Sri Lanka ,and also reading the reviews on here ,so Mermaid we are looking forward to our stay

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sprintershop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dilip S, General Manager at Hotel Mermaid & Club, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

We thank the reviewer for their stay at Mermaid Hotel & Club and sharing their holiday experience.

We were delighted in reading the favourable comments and thank you for expressing them for the benefit of visitors to this website.

We wish you will return and look forward to welcoming you to Mermaid Hotel & Club.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalutara
0.5 mi away
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
#3 of 11 in Kalutara
1,309 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tangerine Beach Hotel
Tangerine Beach Hotel
#6 of 11 in Kalutara
1,210 reviews
0.8 mi away
Turyaa Kalutara
Turyaa Kalutara
#5 of 11 in Kalutara
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The Blue Water
The Blue Water
#3 of 10 in Wadduwa
1,436 reviews
13.3 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
22 mi away
Heritance Ahungalla
Heritance Ahungalla
#1 of 2 in Ahungalla
3,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mermaid & Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mermaid & Club

Address: Mahawaskaduwa, Kalutara 12000, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Kalutara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kalutara
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kalutara
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kalutara
#1 Family Hotel in Kalutara
Price Range: $114 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mermaid & Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mermaid Hotel & Club lies on the golden sands of Mahawaskaduwa; a cosy fishing village in the city of Kalutara which is of religious significance, just 24 miles south of Colombo and 45 miles from the International airport. It is cleverly nestled in a vast coconut grove along a stretch of golden, sandy beach; a perfect get-away for sun, sand and sea lovers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mermaid & Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mermaid And Club
Resort All Inclusive Mermaid
Mermaid Hotel Sri Lanka
Hotel Mermaid & Club Sri Lanka/Kalutara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing