We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Mermaid & Club
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Kalutara
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“amazing staff”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

There is not much more you can say after reading all the reviews.
We loved this hotel, the staff and the food made our holiday.
Sammi was just the bestest in the restaurant.
The management have done a great job training their staff.
Well done.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank princess001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dilip S, General Manager at Hotel Mermaid & Club, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
We thank the reviewer for their stay at Mermaid Hotel & Club and sharing their holiday experience.

We were delighted in reading the favourable comments and thank you for expressing them for the benefit of visitors to this website.

We wish you will return and look forward to welcoming you to Mermaid Hotel & Club.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    927
    454
    91
    31
    13
See reviews for
270
903
54
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We have just returned from a two week stay at The Mermaid - we had reservations as we had stayed at The Royal Palms Beach on a previous visit, but we decided to try The Mermaid based purely on reviews on Trip Advisor.
We were NOT disapointed!!!
We had a wonderful time!
OK the building itself is a little tired, but the attentiveness, friendliness and kindness of the staff more than makes up for any shortfall.
We would particularly like to commend - Sujith of the animation team. What a kind, genuine, person who just wants you to have a good time, and is in no way whatsoever pushy, he made our holiday! Despite the fact that he retained his Boules and Croquet titles!! He deserves them!
Also, kind Shanaka, Mahi and the other waiters who were all very friendly and helpful - but at all times, totally professional.
The chefs are amazing - we particularly love the Sri Lankan food (apart from at Breakfast time I'm afraid) the standard of food, the variety, the choices - were a credit to you all.
We are used to the people on the beach approaching you and to be honest I too find it tiresome.
But the one to be really aware of is a lad on the beach claiming to be a waiter at the hotel, he then invites you into his home on the beach and proceeds to show you names and adresses of other former guests who have contributed to his new home (since his house was apparently destroyed by the Tsunami - and his grandfather 'apparently' died) I am a compassionate person and in no way would like to think bad of people, but I genuinley believed him!! We were given tea and met his 'family' and we were quite happy to give him a donation.
Only to find out within a day or two that he isnt a waiter at all!! This is a scam - as we were approached when out walking by someone in a car two days later claiming the same thing. When we asked him 'which hotel?' he named the one closest, but we were about 2 kms away from The Mermaid. He was very quick to apologise and say that he'd mistaken us for someone else and that he 'wasn't after our money' Yeah!!!!
Sadly this could put people off visiiting Sri Lanka - but please dont let it - just be aware, it is a beautiful country with wonderfui smiling people - who don't deserve to lose out because of a begging minority.
We took a train to Mirissa - an incredible place, the most beautful beaches, the train was fantastic! A 2.5 hr journey for 90pence!!! And on time!!
Back to The Mermaid - we would sincerely like to commend the Management of this wonderful gem of a Hotel, your staff are a credit to you, and it is THEY that make ALL the difference, Well Done to everyone.!!

Room Tip: We upgraded to a Deluxe room which was wonderful - llarge, ovely and clean, and an amazing bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PGWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dilip S, General Manager at Hotel Mermaid & Club, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
We thank the reviewer for their stay at Mermaid Hotel & Club and sharing their holiday experience.

We were delighted in reading the favourable comments and thank you for expressing them for the benefit of visitors to this website.

We wish you will return and look forward to welcoming you to Mermaid Hotel & Club.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WALES
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We are the other 50% of the party of 4 referred to in the review below "Never Again" by Lucian52 Birmingham. My wife and I dealt with the Virgin Holidays booking procedure problem that occurred when we arrived after the connecting flight was delayed for over 10 hours. Yes it took some time to resolve and was an unpleasant start to our holiday. The booking issue probably could have been dealt with better but never mind.
I urge you to read as many reviews as you can.
We have never seen so many smiling faces, staff genuinely wishing to help. There are far too many to name and single out, it would be unfair to the others. The ground staff, the sunbed boys and the sports staff were always willing to share time with us. My wife enjoyed the water aerobics immensely. As soon as we chose our sunbeds the clean towels provided were brought immediately. We tended to stay in roughly the same spot and when we looked over our balcony each morning the beds already had towels on them for us. There were always plenty of sunbeds throughout the grounds. Both pools were very clean. We really enjoyed seeing the chipmunks running amongst the palm trees, the chameleons and elephant on the beach.
The Restaurant was very good, always well staffed, the food was varied and well cooked with something for everyone. Breakfast included the usual fry up with fried egg or omelettes of your choice freshly cooked by cheerful chefs....or you could have curry.....All the waiters and a lone waitress, who was lovely, were attentive, never failing to smile, happy to serve us and very entertaining. My wife is vegetarian and always found something to eat at every meal. The beer and local spirits were good. The evening entertainment varied from Sri Lankan music and dancing to the Saturday night guitarist who did requests from The Shadows to Santana via Clapton's "Wonderful Tonight" and was brilliant, accompanied by the frogs chorus in the ponds around.
The rooms are a good size with teamaking facilities and probably the cleanest ever. The air conditioning worked well. Full marks to the houseboy Sam, he worked very hard.
We all read the reviews before we went, we all knew we would get "bothered" on the public beach, perhaps it gets a little tedious at times but just be firm and say "No"....unless you want a bargain trip etc. We were at The Mermaid at the same time as "missmeerkat21" and "BarryGail" who thoroughly enjoyed their trips with the boys as you can read in their reviews below. They were lovely people to meet. The Hotel Reps also arranged tours which we understood were also excellent. My wife and I walked to Kalutara about 4 Km along the railway track where we saw monkeys in the trees, fruit bats, cattle wandering around and a metre long monitor lizard. It was fascinating to see washing drying on the ground between the railway lines and to meet the locals. There is a fantastic temple just over the bridge in Kalutara. We wanted to return by Tuk Tuk, quite something and a must. Haggle! All part of the Sri Lankan experience; different customs and culture. There is no doubt that both couples were upset about the booking fiasco but we were well looked after, well fed in a very clean comfortable hotel by great staff and we met some really nice fellow guests.....oh yes the weather was wonderful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank NEDWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dilip S, General Manager at Hotel Mermaid & Club, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
We thank the reviewer for their stay at Mermaid Hotel & Club and sharing their holiday experience.

The group of four, arrived together has posted 2 different reviews under “Our opinion” Ned Wales dated 20th December 2012 and “Never again” Lucian52 Birmingham dated 19th December 2012. The latter may be read below.

The review titled “Our opinion” gives a true picture of the incident and about the hotel which is consistent with the reviews by the other guests. We are exceedingly grateful to the reviewer for expressing the truth. As the reviewer has said it was a "Virgin Holiday booking procedure problem". We took time to sort it out because we had to contact the Virgin Holidays office in London. There was no delay in providing 2 double rooms as requested by the guests so that they could enjoy their holiday until the technical problem could be cleared by Virgin Holidays, London.We are sorry for the inconvenience caused to the four visitors because of the delay and apologize both on our own behalf and that of Virgin Holidays for not being able to solve the problem faster.

We are delighted to read the special comments made by the reviewer on our staff, food, cleanliness and extent of the rooms, adequate sun beds, restaurant service, water aerobics, hotel pools & evening entertainments.

Dear Ned Wales, please accept our most sincere thanks for putting the record straight.

We wish you will return and look forward to welcoming you to Mermaid Hotel & Club.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Just returned from the Mermaid Hotel in Sri Lanka,the only thing we could compliment the hotel on was the friendly helpful staff. We booked our holiday in August the booking was for 4
adults (2 married couples)in 2 standard rooms. When we booked in we were given one room for three and one single room, the hotel manager insisted this was quite normal but we could have 2 double rooms if we payed extra which we refused. After three anxious days our holiday rep sorted our problem out but the hassle spoiled our holiday.My advice to anyone thinking of going there is make sure you enquire about your room allocation,
Although the hotel is on the beach there's no sun beds or umbrellas, and if you walk on the beach you'll be accosted by the locals trying to sell you something.
On reading the other reviews its hard to believe we're writing about the same Hotel.
In my opion If this hotel was in Spain or Greece it would be rated a 2 star.On reading the reviews its hard to believe we're writing about the same hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lucian52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dilip S, General Manager at Hotel Mermaid & Club, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
We thank the reviewer for their stay at Mermaid Hotel & Club.

The group of four, arrived together has posted 2 different reviews under “Our opinion” Ned Wales dated 20th December 2012, which may be read above and “Never again” Lucian52 Birmingham dated 19th December 2012. The review titled “Never Again” tries to place the blame on the hotel and unfairly rates the hotel at the rating of 2.

As the review titled “Our Opinion” by Ned Wales explains the problem of rooms was a “Virgin Holidays Booking Procedure Problem”. We took time to sort it out because we had to contact the Virgin Holidays office in London. There was no delay in providing 2 double rooms as requested by the guests so that they could enjoy their holiday until the technical problem could be cleared by Virgin Holidays, London.We are sorry for the inconvenience caused to the four visitors because of the delay and apologize both on our own behalf and that of Virgin Holidays for not being able to solve the problem faster.

We wish you will return & experience the joy of Mermaid Hotel & Club as your other travelers have done.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

I stayed 3weeks form nov 20th 2012. Had great holl at this hotel the staff realy made you feel welcome and always found time to have a chat and be as helpful as they could. I had a problem with the electrics a time or two and eventualy had to ask for another room which was done swiftly and i soon settled in another room. I am vegetarian and enjoyed the food i didn,t feel the need to ask for anything special as there was always plenty to choose from and the curries were very tasty Although i was a single traveller i met lots of fun and friendly people who i joined on trips or just to sit and chat with at the bar so thanks to all of you and of course SURESH (suresh tours)who i booked a 4day tour and a day tour with you can find him on the beach he has a red streak like mohican in his hair, i emailed him before travelling and he responded quickly, you can contact him on
suresh.pushpakumara@yahoo.com. I joined a lovely indian family of 6 to Kandy 2nights then 1night in Ella then did a day trip which included a boat safari, temple, moonstone mine, turtle hatchery and ending with a dip in the sea at Unatuwana i joined 2couples one with a daughter Hannah, Also i had a fun day out to Colombo by train with another guest and also ventured out down the coast on my own a time or two all part of the experience. All in all i had a great 3weeks Thankyou everyone who made my Adventure a happy one.

Room Tip: Single Room 111 faces the sea and on ground floor, sleep to the sound of the waves and you have seat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank missmeerkat21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dilip S, General Manager at Hotel Mermaid & Club, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
We thank the reviewer for their stay at Mermaid Hotel & Club and sharing their holiday experience.

We were delighted in reading the favourable comments and thank you for expressing them for the benefit of visitors to this website.

We wish you will return and look forward to welcoming you to Mermaid Hotel & Club.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 9 days. It was an excellent stay because of the cosy atmosphere and high-rate service. It's a perfect place to relax and have a very comportable and quiete rest. We really enjoyed the help and work of all services throughout the hotel.
The receptionist Menaka helped us with the room. Thanks to her we had a beautiful view of the ocean and stayed on the 3rd floor which was important for us.
The food was very good. Very tasty, variable, wide range of european and local cuisine. We really enjoyed the quality and the way of serving of the optional sea-food and the dinners on the balcony with the candle-light!
The cleaning service is very good. We always had our room regularly cleaned and also had all the facilities we needed. The towels are changed every day. It's important because of the climate (the humidity level is high and the things take time to dry).
The territory of the hotel is rather big, clean and well-done. It's separated from the beach by a low fence unlike other hotels were separated with a metal net (looking like a prison). The territory is well-secured by a guard. We always had enough towels for our seats on the beach.

We really enjoyed numerous chipmunks who jump and run among the palms and the visitors :))

If you come to this hotel, try the spa massage - general relaxing and green-tea for your face. It's fantastic!

All the personnel is very polite and friendly. They are always smiling and helpful. All our wishes were satisfied very quickly.

For a conclusion - it's a wonderful place for couples and families. It's valuable for those who doesn't enjoy disco-parties and noisy places.
The hotel is positioned as a 3-star hotel but it's worth of 4 stars as minimum.

We would like to say thank you to all people who work at the hotel and made our stay pleasant and enjoyable.
Ayubowan!

Room Tip: We booked a standard double on the 3rd floor with a view of the ocean. It's quiete and nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aleksandrova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dilip S, General Manager at Hotel Mermaid & Club, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
We thank the reviewer for their stay at Mermaid Hotel & Club and sharing their holiday experience.

We were delighted in reading the favourable comments and thank you for expressing them for the benefit of visitors to this website.

We wish you will return and look forward to welcoming you to Mermaid Hotel & Club.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed at the Mermaid in Nov definitly worthy of more than their 3 stars.Lovely location on the beach. Staff service was excellent throughout the hotel.Food was very good. Room always clean Management have got the good customer service right all the staff made you feel welcome and not just a number addressed you by your name.
Anyone looking to book trips, we would definitly recommend using Ravi, one of the beach boys outside the hotel. Booked a 3 day 2 night trip with Ravi who was also our guide, it was very professionally done, excellent accommodation for the 2 nights and the trip exceeded our expectations.We saw much more than was on the itinary because we had the freedom to see and do what we wanted or what Ravi recommended also alot better value than booking with the reps.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank phillip65_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dilip S, General Manager at Hotel Mermaid & Club, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
We thank the reviewer for their stay at Mermaid Hotel & Club and sharing their holiday experience.

We were delighted in reading the favourable comments and thank you for expressing them for the benefit of visitors to this website.

We wish you will return and look forward to welcoming you to Mermaid Hotel & Club.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalutara
0.5 mi away
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
#2 of 11 in Kalutara
1,249 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tangerine Beach Hotel
Tangerine Beach Hotel
#6 of 11 in Kalutara
1,142 reviews
0.8 mi away
Turyaa Kalutara
Turyaa Kalutara
#5 of 11 in Kalutara
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 mi away
Heritance Ahungalla
Heritance Ahungalla
#1 of 2 in Ahungalla
3,487 reviews
13.3 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
14.3 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mermaid & Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mermaid & Club

Property: Hotel Mermaid & Club
Address: Mahawaskaduwa, Kalutara 12000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Kalutara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kalutara
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kalutara
#1 Family Hotel in Kalutara
#2 Spa Hotel in Kalutara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mermaid & Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mermaid Hotel & Club lies on the golden sands of Mahawaskaduwa; a cosy fishing village in the city of Kalutara which is of religious significance, just 24 miles south of Colombo and 45 miles from the International airport. It is cleverly nestled in a vast coconut grove along a stretch of golden, sandy beach; a perfect get-away for sun, sand and sea lovers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mermaid & Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mermaid And Club
Resort All Inclusive Mermaid
Mermaid Hotel Sri Lanka
Hotel Mermaid & Club Sri Lanka/Kalutara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing