We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel and brilliant staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mermaid & Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Mermaid & Club
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Kalutara
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel and brilliant staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

This review is for 18 Nov to 2 Dec 2011. To all the staff and anyone who was there at this date,we are Kevin and Pamela, thank you for all the kindness you gave us when a traumatic event happened back in England while we were away. Sadly our little granddaughter passed away on the 7th Dec.
I'm sorry to post this on a review but do not knpw how to contact everyone.
Back to the review, the hotel may be classed as 3 star but is acting more like a 5 star for the service of the staff food and rooms. for those amongst us who wants to pick holes then you will be hard placed to do that.
The hotel is in a u shape facing out to the beach and sea. The view is a little restricted by the palm trees, but you only have to walk 50 metres from the pool to the beach, and there is your perfect view......go down to the beach. Yes there are beach sellers and yes they do hang around the entrance to the beach, but they never spoilt a moment for us, in fact it was quite nice chatting to them. they all know each other and if you say something to one they all seem to know, nosey neighbours, nah they really take an interest in you , because their life revolves around making a living..
I wish I had written all the staff names down,as they were all so good, friendly and service was definately 5 star. Sami sticks in my mind for his outlandish mannerisms, his friendship while we were there was matched by many of his colleagues and was much appreciated
The all inclusive is fine, we have travelled around a bit and it was on par to many. Breakfast,mid morning snack, lunch, mid afternoon tea then dinner.Drink was anything but branded, but if you want to pay more then you could, but why would you want to?
We took our own metal mug that you can get from the likes of wilkinson and the bar staff were always happy to fill it up. You may want to do this as an open glass may invite the chipmunks for a "little drink". We had a fresh coconut to drink from and had nearly finished to find one helping himself , both to the juice and the flesh.They are not afraid to eat from your hand, with fresh fruit or sandwiches.
The room is very nicely set, with a very nice bathroom(we only had a shower, but was fine with this) if you upgrade to the luxury both the view and room standard is better, but it depends on you , cos standard rooms are fine. the view from balcony has a sea view, only slightly restricted by the palms.
We managed to avoid most of the rain as it was wet at the time we were there, however this was rather refreshing because it is hot and humid,there is air conditioning in the rooms and setting at about 24 degrees is cooling.
We had a wonderful room man,Nihal, I hope I have spelt it correctly. he was an absolute pleasure, His attention was very welcome, as we were going through a traumatic time and as he is a family man he totally understood how we were feeling, giving us time when we did not want to go out of the room, and cleaning and changing things when we asked him.On the night of a massive storm the tv went wrong, now he is not a big man, he lugged the tv out and a new one in(don't know where he got it from,but made us smile)
We would have prefererred a slightly softer bed, but were only there 2 weeks so not a problem,looking back seem to remember 2 single mattresses on a queen base, so no rolling....lol.
We probably could say more, but suffice to say if you stay here you will not be dissappointed.We had a very nice time..
We went on 2 trips with a beach boy named Jala, he actually works from the hibiscuss, but lives just over the railway track (turn left out of hotel entrance ,then first right, his bungalow is halfway down on the right.His Tuc Tuc is probably one of the best , cleanest and newest around. He takes great pride in keeping it clean and is a very good driver compared to some we saw).He hired a friend to drive a minibus, when we went to Kandy, but he was our guide. We stayed in a mountain top hotel for the night and wow the view when we got there. Waited for sunrise to get the perfect view, only to find we were above the clouds, and they covered the view(breaking a few times to show us what we were missing). The elephant orphange in Pinawala is a wonderful experience. the tooth temple, lovely and botanical gardens (lovely but huge) We went into the mountains where the tea is grown and met the local people(The Tamals so poor, but so giving)Take lots of pencils and pens and sweets if you are going there, it will seem like Christmas.
On a day trip we visited the turtle sanctuary,an experience, went down to Galle and saw what devastation had been along the way with the Tsunami.went to the moonstone mine(don't expect too much , it is a hole in the ground, the polishing was more interesting) also the fish market was very interesting( no smell at all, we were most surprised, very fresh, straight off the boats),then there was the spice garden, again very interesting. We rode and washed and elephant, named Jumbo that was a highlight, pack your cossy, he gives a shower as well..
I know this is quite a long review, but there is so much more we could say. we would recommend this hotel to anyone, you are only a short ride from the town and a walk out is an absolutely fantastic experience, make sure you give yourself plenty of time, as when you stop to talk to someone, you could end up having tea with them and quite a long chat will ensue.
Highly recommended hotel,Jala for the tours and Nihal for room .Sami,and Jagger for restaurant(all of them in fact,just can't remember their names)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank vinniedoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dilip S, General Manager at Hotel Mermaid & Club, responded to this review, February 26, 2012
We thank the reviewer for their stay at Mermaid Hotel & Club & sharing their holiday experience .

We are delighted to hear the special comments made about food, services of the hotel, rooms and the friendliness of staff.

Thank you for making such favourable comments & looking forward to welcoming you at Mermaid Hotel & Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    872
    436
    87
    31
    13
See reviews for
250
861
50
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

The Mermaid is indeed an excellent hotel for a relaxing holiday, as its smaller both the staff and guests get to know each other quickly. There are a large number of staff looking after the accomodation, Restaurant, grounds and facilities, they all great you with big wide smiles and are delighted to help & look after you. (this is a genuine friendly attitude not tip-seeking). Comfort, Cleanliness and food are all of a high standard, and the massages are worth a mention; really excellent value and very good. The beach Boys do politely tout for customers and enterprisingly use other guests to encourage you to go on their trips, as they are not allowed into the hotel grounds. Many go on their trips and apart from minor niggles seem satisfied, although if you choose them over your tour operator to save a few rupees and something goes wrong then quite what backup you would get and whether your travel insurance would cover is debatable. Finally I would not like to single out any one staff member as they are all excellent and the management must be congratulated on the high standards of this hotels.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nogtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dilip S, General Manager at Hotel Mermaid & Club, responded to this review, February 26, 2012
We thank the reviewer for their stay at Mermaid Hotel & Club & sharing their holiday experience .

We are delighted to hear the special comments made about our staff, food, services offered and spa treatments.

Thank you for making such favourable comments & looking forward to welcoming you at Mermaid Hotel & Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ceredigion, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

The Mermaid Hotel punches above its 3 star rating. The hotel is very comfortable and has an excellent standard of cleanliness.All the staff are are very friendly and want to help you.Sami waited on our table most days and he was a credit to the hotel. Obviously this high standard of customer care does not come by itself and the General Manger must be complemented on the training of the staff.We met him at the hotels cocktail party and it was obvious that his style of management was very proactive. The food was of a good standard and well prepared.If you like you food hot and spicy you will enjoy it.
We booked a two day trip to Kandy with one of the beach boys. Indi of Indika Tours . Indi was very professional,friendly and knowledgeable .We had the best tourist guides at all of our stops and he arranged for us to feed one of the baby elephants at the elephant orphanage.We visited the Temple of the Tooth, Tea plantation factory, pineapple farm,spice gardens,elephant orphanage,Royal botanical gardens and we saw the kandy dancers. The overnight stay in Kandy was in a good standard hotel . The trip was a lot cheaper than if we had booked with our tour company and could not have been bettered. I would recommend Indika Tours without hesitation. (indisilva1976@yahoo.com)
A very good holiday.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank halfslug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dilip S, General Manager at Hotel Mermaid & Club, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
We thank the reviewer for their stay at Mermaid Hotel & Club & sharing their holiday experience .

We are delighted to hear the very special comments made about the standard of cleanliness maintain in the hotel, staff and the food.

Thank you for making such favourable comments & looking forward to welcoming you at Mermaid Hotel & Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
windsor
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

Just returned from a very nice friendly hotel, and a relaxing two weeks. I can recommend the trip to Kandy,elephant orphanage, the tea plantations,a one night away at a very nice hotel, we did this with Suresh who operates on the beach, and gave us a really interesting tour. He provided us with a high class service at half the cost, of other operators.
Staff at the hotel are first class and will help with any problems. The food is good especially if you do not mind a fairly hot curry. Entertainment was very good during the evening

Room Tip: There are no lifts,so if you have a problem with stairs I would recommend ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachbumWindsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dilip S, General Manager at Hotel Mermaid & Club, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
We thank the reviewer for their stay at Mermaid Hotel & Club & sharing their holiday experience .

We are delighted to hear the special comments made about friendliness of the staff, food and the entertainments of the hotel.

Thank you for making such favourable comments & looking forward to welcoming you at Mermaid Hotel & Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

After a horrendous 10 days further down the coast we were transferred to the Mermaid.
Kalurara looked rather upmarket but as we drove over the bridge things started to look a bit bleak. When we turned off the main road the outlook got worse! We were very pleasantly surprised as we arrived in the Hotel.
The grounds are immaculately kept. Lawns all the way to the beach with pretty flower beds to the side. Swaying palms above you. The rooms are superb. The restaurant was upstairs and you could breakfast on the terrace if you wanted. Tables laid up properly and with fresh flowers. The food was really good, plentiful and varied. Everywhere was sparkling clean. The pool was a good size and inviting. Sunbeds and mattresses in abundance. The pool guy spotted you when you arrived on the grass and was at your chosen sunbed two seconds after you with towels etc; The staff were smart in their uniforms. Helpful and kind. Smiley and efficient. The management were welcoming and interested in us.
Sadly we were only there for 4 days and didn't explore at all. Apparantly there were bars along the beach (which was kept clean and tidy). We could see there were shops outside and guests did go out and do their shopping. There are two shops inside the Hotel that stocked most things you might need. They looked good quality and the staff didn't badger you to buy things. I was very impressed that the jeweller put the GBP at the top of his currency list it remended me of when it was Sterling!
Quite a lot of repeat guests and I can see why.
We would like to have stayed longer and investigated the area.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank squeakgonemad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dilip S, General Manager at Hotel Mermaid & Club, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
We thank the reviewer for their stay at Mermaid Hotel & Club & sharing their holiday experience .

We are delighted to hear the special comments made about our staff, Restaurant service, food, cleanliness of the hotel, garden and swimming pool.

Thank you for making such favourable comments & looking forward to welcoming you at Mermaid Hotel & Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

Just got back from a week’s stay in the Mermaid only one week as wife is a teacher so could only grab a week of sun during half term. The transfer from airport to hotel is a bit long (2 1/2 hours) so make sure you have a bottle of water with you and that you go to the loo before you start out.
Hotel itself is rated at 3* but is worth more. What makes this hotel is the staff I do not think I have stayed in a hotel where the staff are so friendly. Special thanks to Sami the waiter in the restaurant for his friendliness and conversations. We stayed in a deluxe room which overlooked the beach and palm trees which was very spacious and had a walk in shower and large bath overlooking the sea. Bed was large and comfortable air conditioning was quiet and efficient. There is a mini bar in the room but items are quite pricey. Restaurant food was adequate and I defy anyone not to find something they liked from the selection available. As we were only staying a week to grab some sun from cold England we only went on one trip which was to Galle and this we arranged through Thanu one of the beach boys and I must say the trip was great and was an excellent trip and if you have any trepidations about using the beach boys for trips please do not have as Thanu was great I would recommend him and he is half the cost of the tour operators.
So all in all a great break. Yes I would go back but for two weeks first week touring the island and 2nd week R&R at the Mermaid. And no I did not want to come back to cold England

Room Tip: Upgrade to delux if you can sea view and a lot larger than standard rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pem093117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dilip S, General Manager at Hotel Mermaid & Club, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
We thank the reviewer for their stay at Mermaid Hotel & Club & sharing their holiday experience .

We are delighted to hear the very special comments made about our staff, food, room and its amenities.

Thank you for making such favourable comments & looking forward to welcoming you at Mermaid Hotel & Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
89 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

The Mermaid is a very friendly hotel, with great staff, full of smiles as is the whole island and, while the food is not as good as some we have had in Sri Lanka, it is well prepared and has a generally good variety to choose from. It is a good place to stay for an unpretentious break in the sun. Come expecting a three star hotel and you will be pleasantly surprised. If you like sports it has excellent facilities. Beware of the touts at the front and people pretending to know you because they work at your hotel; it is invariably the prelude to some scam. You can get a number of trips from here either through the tour reps (expensive) or the hotel (reasonable) or the beach boys who will do you a deal. A tuk tuk ride into bustling Kalutara City (4km) can be had for 200-250Rs each way so don't fall for the 600Rs offered out front, walk a little away and then negotiate. That is well worthwhile as a trip and a shop down Silva St is a good place to buy spices at very cheap prices. We arranged a car with a nice driver for a day to take us to Galle, and anything else we wanted to do, through reception for 7000Rs. You can get some good price tailoring done at Malinkys across the railway tracks but look to bargain and monitor the, progress to make sure it is what you want.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bossingtonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dilip S, General Manager at Hotel Mermaid & Club, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
We thank the reviewer for their stay at Mermaid Hotel & Club & sharing their holiday experience .

We are delighted to hear the special comments made about the friendliness of staff, choice of food and sport activities in the hotel.

Thank you for making such favourable comments & looking forward to welcoming you at Mermaid Hotel & Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalutara
0.5 mi away
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
#3 of 12 in Kalutara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,158 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tangerine Beach Hotel
Tangerine Beach Hotel
#5 of 12 in Kalutara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
0.5 mi away
Citrus Waskaduwa
Citrus Waskaduwa
#6 of 12 in Kalutara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Turyaa Kalutara
Turyaa Kalutara
#4 of 12 in Kalutara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
14.3 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
4.6 mi away
The Blue Water
The Blue Water
#2 of 10 in Wadduwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mermaid & Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mermaid & Club

Property: Hotel Mermaid & Club
Address: Mahawaskaduwa, Kalutara 12000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Kalutara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kalutara
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kalutara
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kalutara
#1 Family Hotel in Kalutara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mermaid & Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mermaid Hotel & Club lies on the golden sands of Mahawaskaduwa; a cosy fishing village in the city of Kalutara which is of religious significance, just 24 miles south of Colombo and 45 miles from the International airport. It is cleverly nestled in a vast coconut grove along a stretch of golden, sandy beach; a perfect get-away for sun, sand and sea lovers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Mermaid & Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mermaid And Club
Resort All Inclusive Mermaid
Mermaid Hotel Sri Lanka
Hotel Mermaid & Club Sri Lanka/Kalutara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing