We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't want to come home!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Mermaid & Club
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Kalutara
Reviewed September 28, 2011

What a fantastic holiday! The mermaid Hotel exceeded all our expectations. Excellent!

All the staff were very polite, helpful and couldn't do enough for you. They
just wanted to make your stay as happy and as memeorable as they possibly could.
Any problems were resolved quickly and efficiently.

A big thank you to all the sports staff, especially Chaminda, Sujith and
Shiwantha, for keeping us entertained and for their welcoming smiles every
morning. Aqua aerobics and cricket will never be the same again!

We could not fault the food - there was a good variety of food which catered for
all diets and tastes and the A La Carte is a must! You have to try the
traditional Sri Lankan chicken curry - wow!!! A big thank you also to Shanaka
and Jagath for looking after us in the restaurant and their warm and friendly
welcome and smiles whenever we saw them.

There is also a spa on site with such friendly staff who just want to make your
holiday even more special. They offer a variety of treatments at reasonable
prices and I have to say is well worth a visit or two or three!!! It was excellent.

The rooms in the hotel are very clean and spacious. We stayed in a deluxe room,
but would have been just as happy in one of the standard rooms. Tea and coffee
are available in the room and the folwers on the bed are a really lovely touch -
and are different everyday. Just another example of the Mermaids attention to
detail.

There has been a lot of "bad press" about the beach boys. DON'T believe
everything the tour reps say. Be brave and make up your own mind, or at least
listen to what they have to say before you make up your mind. I'm really glad we
did! They are friendly, great fun and a fantastic local source of information.

I would highly recommend Suresh. You will find him on the beach outside the hotel. We booked a 3 day/2night trip with him. He personalised it to what we wanted to do and see. He
was absolutely fantastic and we couldn't fault anything at all. He made the 3
days a really memorable experience and immersed us in Sri Lanka and its culture.
Thank you so much Suresh.

All in all the Mermaid hotel offers high quality service, fantastic food and
incredibly friendly staff.

A big thank you for such an incredible and memorable holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lisa429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
myfacebook, Sales & Marketing Manager at Hotel Mermaid & Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2011

We thank the reviewer for sharing their holiday experience at Mermaid Hotel & Club and the excellent comments made about the hotel in every aspect.

We are delighted to hear about the special comments made about our food and very specially about our staff. Our staff is the soul of the hotel and we are very proud of our staff as they make a significant contribution to ensure that our guests have a very pleasant stay.

Thank you for making such favorable comments and we are very pleased to note that our team was able to exceed all your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,551)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,110 - 1,116 of 1,551 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2011

we stayed at the mermaid hotel from 6th Sept 2011, and we had a great time the room was basic but cleaned every day and the room boy was very friendly they also have a room boy to come in at night to set it up for the night mosquito plug and flowers and to turn the bed down, there is tea/ coffee and freshwater in the room which is topped up every day,in the fridge there is cola,crisp and mars bars at extra cost if your on all inclusive.
The food was lovely with a great selection from salads, fish, meat and veg dishes and the deserts were lovely all buffet unless you wanted a la carte at extra cost,drinks were served at the table wine was also extra cost.
Breakfast was continental or very English with bacon,sausages, eggs,fried,poached,boiled,hamlet or scrambled, beans, toast or cereals.
The snack room had tea,coffee, cake,sandwiches, biscuits and fruit all day.
The pool bar was ok nothing fancy, the main bar was good all the staff were great friendly and up for a laugh especially the night the bar was drank dry by us and the people we met, the lads from down south who were the for there sri lankan friends wedding, the 2 sisters and their partners from Bournemouth, Ryan and Emma and the other young couple they had befriended. Entertainment was ok mainly cultural but a couple of good singers for 2 nights.
There is two pools the main one near the bar and the other near the gym and spar, I had a massage at the hotel which was very nice and also one up the beach in a little restaurant which was just as good.
Even though there is trains running past the hotel you don't really notice them, across the track is a jeweler's where I had some jewelry made a necklace, ring and earrings which I designed you can watch them being made we also went to the tailors just out side the gate to the right (not across the railway ) and had a suit made a few people we met used him you could also watch your clothes being made they were are very good.
There are chipmunks running round all day which you can feed and at night as its going dark you can see large fruit bats flying over head.
The beach was nice sea was a bit rough the first week but it was calm enough to walk in by the 2nd week, the beach boys/girls do try to sell you stuff and trips but if you don't want to know they will leave you alone, we went on a trip with Suresh to the elephant sanctuary/ elephant ride and stopped of night at Kandy it started to rain when we went on our trip but we had a good time went too a spice garden where we had a massage tried creams and lotions and drank herbal tea unfortunately we left the stuff we bought in our room 253 when we came home we are gutted was looking forward to using them. While in Kandy we went to a cultural show unfortunately the rain got heavier so we cut a trip to the water falls the next day and went back to kalutara,we also went on a boat trip where we saw monitor lizards king fishers and a baby crocodile which could hold. We also went to a turtle sanctuary and saw baby turtles.
A great hoilday would go back and recomend to friends and fam.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dlimb0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
myfacebook, Sales & Marketing Manager at Hotel Mermaid & Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2011

We thank the reviewer for sharing their holiday experience at Mermaid Hotel & Club and the excellent comment made about the hotel.

We are delighted to hear about the special comments made about our food and our staff.

Thank you for making such favorable comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Had an amazing time in Sri Lanka it’s so alive so beautiful and full of animals and so many things to do.
hotel- very clean food fantastic lots of variety and very tasty the best me and my boyfriend have ever had abroad (take away breakfast and lunch are not so great always the same considering the amazing quality of the food inside the hotel it was a disappointment).plenty of sun beds, everything was kept clean (pool could done with being cleaned more often as lots of bugs) pool bar was good when there was someone their but mostly had no one working there. Room -beautiful kept really clean and air con was great room was always lovely and cool.
the beach -outside was kept nice and clean the sea was mostly very rough the dogs on the beach are lovely and friendly i took them water and food every day the beach boys kept half a coconut for me and i filled it every day the beach sellers are a pain as they hassle you constantly.
But the beach boys are great.

Staff -fantastic helpful, all spoke good English, and most of them where very funny (had a bar man hit on me but nothing I couldn’t laugh off) Nashan the bar man was our favourite so funny, waiters all fantastic and the waitress. The manager was at hand for any problems very friendly and talking to the staff everybody seemed to loved him which probably helps make the hotel the success it is.

Trips- GO WITH THE BEACH BOYS TILANS TOURS tel no +940774499636 or find Thanu Silva on facebook for trip details before u go.
we booked 2 trips one with the beach boys (2day trip to Kandy - elephant orphanage, elephant ride botanical gardens sigiriya turtle hatchery and lots more )one with Hayes and Jarvis(2 day trip safari) the beach boys do the same trip cheaper with more things added the hotel was fantastic and Thanu our guide was lovely. the trip we done with the rep hotel not great the trip was good but knowing someone else had done the same trip with the beach boys for £40 cheaper they had a lot of things included that we didn’t very disappointed. If I could re do my trips id do both with Tilan but instead of the 2 day trip to Kandy I would have done the 3 day trip so I could have seen Polonnaruwa its 6 hours away so you could not do it in a day trip and its next to sigiria rock which we visited on our second day of the trip.
Tuktuks- again go to beach boys as there are a lot of scams going on at the front of the hotel, Tilan will set you up with a good driver and we found them cheaper and they take you where you want to go with no problems.
best bits- food amazing(that coming from an extremely fussy eater) , staff amazing, dogs on the beach i loved them and wanted to bring them all home.
bad bits- noisy crows but that cant be helped i love animals but if i had a gun they drove me so mad i think i would have shot them. Pack lunches where rubbish. No cider not just the hotel i didnt find it any where in Sri Lanka (my favourite drink).

holiday tips - use insect repellent, change your money up at the black market (ask the beach boys) change your money into small notes as everyone in Sri Lanka expects a tip (not once did any staff from the mermaid ask for anything)
if someone approaches you and tells you they work at your hotel walk away it’s a scam, the tuktuk drivers are on commission they will take you lots of places you don’t want to go and try to get you to spend money.
the prices for tourist are alot more then the prices for locals they pretty much add a 0 on the end for our prices ask around befor you buy we got ripped off alot on out first couple of days. the tailor over the road charges £60 for 2 dresses they where fantastic but the following week abit further down the train track a women offered to make me a dress for £10.

Room Tip: ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jodie-burgess-ports
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We stayed in January 2011 as part of a tour. So much has been said already but just to echo that I thought the hotel was great value for money and I loved the pool. I would also recomend the ayuervredic and other types of massage we had an hours treatment and it was fantastically relaxing
We used the beach boys for a tour. More specifically Anura or Anu as he is sometimes called. Recognisable by the fact he is dressed in a smart white shirt and formal trousers. The travel reps try to instill a bit of fear about the fact that you are not insured... not sure how that works as if you took a cab anywhere on holidays you wouldn't have insurance (other that your own travel insurance)?? We had a day visiting the fish market, trip on bentota river, turtle sanctuary, moonstone mine and a glass bottomed boat plus a lunch stop. It was a great day and one which the tour company would have charged about 5-6 times as much. Its a real shame they make the trips so expensive. Any way use Anura he is very polite and kept to the agreed price - we also met his charming family

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JJ2b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
myfacebook, Sales & Marketing Manager at Hotel Mermaid & Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2011

We thank the reviewer for sharing their holiday experience at Mermaid Hotel & Club.

We are very pleased to note that the reviewer enjoyed treatments at the Sahana Spa. Sahana Spa is our own Spa brand and another Sahana Spa is located at Saman Villas in Bentota, our associate hotel which was chosen as Sri Lanka’s Best Boutique hotel.

Thank you for making such favorable comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We have just returned from our first holiday in Sri Lanka. We stayed at the Mermaid Hotel in Kalutara and were looked after beautifully. We arrived at about 6.30am after a journey which lasted almost 24hrs door to door. We were very tired and our initial impression had not been good. The journey from the airport took around 2 hours and even at that early time on a Saturday the roads were busy and very bumpy. When we eventually arrived at the hotel we were worried to say the least. The main entrance is literally right next to a train line which was dusty and we feared, very noisy. There were lots of people just hanging around on the actual lines with seemingly, nothing to do. We need not have worried. As soon as we entered the gates of the hotel it was like entering another world. The staff in reception were great and quickly got us sorted into our rooms. We had requested luxury rooms but unfortunately they were fully booked so we were given rooms which were the next best thing - standard rooms with a sea view. We were not disappointed and to be honest wouldn't actually bother with paying the extra for a more glamorous view. We had top floor rooms facing the garden and pool and could also see the sea. The first look from our balcony was breathtaking and we were delighted by the chipmonks playing in the tree outside our window.
Sam looked after our rooms for us and did an amazing job, they were always clean and nothing was too much trouble for him. Early evening another person came round and turned on our mosquito lights and turned down our beds and always left a flower with my nightdress which was lovely.
We cannot fault any of the staff, they were always cheerful, helpful and a pleasure to be with. All of them spoke English and many of them spoke several other languages as well. The food was brilliant, always with several choices and the restaurant, like the rest of the hotel, was spotless. There were 3 full meals a day plus snacks which were available by the pool constantly. The bar was open from 10.00am every day. We had our favorites among the waiters who always looked after us, but they were all great.
There was a fence at the end of the hotel gardens where the beach started. This was to stop the beach boys (and girls) from coming onto the hotel grounds. On the first couple of days every time we ventured outside the fence these boys would follow us and try to get us to go on trips with them. They never got unpleasant if we said no and we did get to know several of them quite well while we were there. We did however, use Babi as our tour guide, once we had settled with him the others left us alone. They do have a sort of code between them that says if you are with one of them you don't try to poach them. Babi was brilliant and we would highly reccommend him to anyone else who wants to go on any trips. He took us to Yala on an overnight tour which was great and also to Kandy on another overnight trip. He knew all the good places to go and patiently explained things to us which he has probably explained to a million others before us. The only draw back to these trips is the distance. The journeys are long and the driving is something that you could only dream of in your nightmares - Single roads with tuk tuks being overtaken by motorbikes being overtaken by buses on both sides of the road and horns blowing all the time- this doesn't seem to faze the drivers and we trusted our driver who was a family friend of Babi's to keep us safe.
Babi treaded us very well. We were celebrating a birthday while we were there and Babi asked his wife to make a cake which we shared on the beach with Babi and some of the other beach boys while we watched fireworks that had been arranged by Babi.
Many of the holiday reps warn against taking tours with the beach boys but we found them to be cheaper and very knowledgable - after all it is their country.
As long as you remember that outside the hotel there are still some very poor people and you can cope with that you will be fine. There are still signs of the Tsunami in some areas but it can't take away from the beauty of the country.
Overall we were very impressed with our stay in Sri Lanka. We had clothes made by the tailor in the shop next door to the hotel and jewellery made in the little shop opposite the hotel gates. Both places again treated us well and charged us fairly.
Loved it all, 2 weeks was not long enough.
Chris, Terry, Linda and Dave.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are fine. The higher the room the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ukchrisunitedkingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
myfacebook, Sales & Marketing Manager at Hotel Mermaid & Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2011

We thank the reviewer for sharing their holiday experience at Mermaid Hotel & Club and the excellent comment made about the hotel.

We are pleased to note that the reviewer liked our standard rooms; they are very different to the rooms that you will usually find in other hotels. The design and décor of our rooms are a Sri Lankan classical theme, simple elegance. Hand woven green and purple colored cotton fabrics have been used to complement the exotic teak furniture highlighting its rich grains along with the brown shades. The blend of color schemes have been carefully selected to create a relaxed atmosphere.

We are delighted to hear about the special comments made about our food and our staff.

Thank you for making such favorable comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

I stayed at the Mermaid Hotel near Kalutara for 10 days and found the service excellent. The staff attended to my room twice a day in a friendly manner. All the staff at the hotel were cheerful and always found time to get to know those staying at the hotel. I enjoyed the food, the organised sports, especially the water volleyball, and I was impressed that the hotel even had a watercolour artist who came in and spent a day with us!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malcolm W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
myfacebook, Sales & Marketing Manager at Hotel Mermaid & Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2011

We thank the reviewer for sharing their holiday experience at Mermaid Hotel & Club and the excellent comments made about the hotel.

We are delighted to hear about the special comments made about our food and very specially about our staff.

We are pleased to note that the reviewer enjoyed activates on offer at the sports centre. Most guests seem to like the water color painting classes as its one of the most relaxing activities.

Thank you for making such favorable comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We arrived at this hotel on 7th September 2011 expecting 3* but found it was more 4 or 5*. The rooms were lovely and very spacious, they were always spotless clean, The restaurant always had a large slection of differnt food available.
The travel time from the airport (3.5 hours) and not much to do in the evening so this was the only down side.
Please do not book your tours through your Rep as they are very expensive, we would certainly recommend Anu from the beach, he was fantastic and took us on various tours and gave us VIP treatment. He is easily recognised on the beach as he always wears long trousers and long sleeved shirt (very smart). He went out of his way to ensure everything went perfect. On any of the tips we went on we always felt safe and comfortable. He arranged for us to feed the elephants milk, bought food for them, paid for foods for us all at no extra cost. All of the trips we booked cost us less than half the cost booking them through the Rep. We met his family and they were fab. He is well known in the hotel. If you would like to ask me any questions please get in touch brenda.sherlock@pertemps.co.uk

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sherlock09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
myfacebook, Sales & Marketing Manager at Hotel Mermaid & Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2011

We thank the reviewer for sharing their holiday experience at Mermaid Hotel & Club and the excellent comment made about the hotel.

We are delighted to hear about the special comments made about our food.

Thank you for making such favorable comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalutara
0.5 mi away
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
#3 of 11 in Kalutara
1,285 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tangerine Beach Hotel
Tangerine Beach Hotel
#6 of 11 in Kalutara
1,188 reviews
0.8 mi away
Turyaa Kalutara
Turyaa Kalutara
#5 of 11 in Kalutara
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The Blue Water
The Blue Water
#3 of 10 in Wadduwa
1,414 reviews
13.3 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
22.0 mi away
Heritance Ahungalla
Heritance Ahungalla
#1 of 2 in Ahungalla
3,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mermaid & Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mermaid & Club

Address: Mahawaskaduwa, Kalutara 12000, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Kalutara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kalutara
#1 Family Hotel in Kalutara
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kalutara
#1 Spa Hotel in Kalutara
Price Range: $77 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mermaid & Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mermaid Hotel & Club lies on the golden sands of Mahawaskaduwa; a cosy fishing village in the city of Kalutara which is of religious significance, just 24 miles south of Colombo and 45 miles from the International airport. It is cleverly nestled in a vast coconut grove along a stretch of golden, sandy beach; a perfect get-away for sun, sand and sea lovers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mermaid & Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mermaid And Club
Resort All Inclusive Mermaid
Mermaid Hotel Sri Lanka
Hotel Mermaid & Club Sri Lanka/Kalutara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing