We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (1,705)
Filter reviews
1,705 results
Traveler rating
1,070
484
102
34
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,070
484
102
34
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pushpakumara yahoo red mohican suresh tours beach boys sports centre elephant orphanage day trip sri lanka cheeky chappie moonlight jewellers palm trees sports team moonlight gems deluxe room tuk tuk sports facilities great holiday
Filter
Updating list...
1,226 - 1,231 of 1,705 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2011

just had two great weeks at the mermaid hotel. the staff were amazing, we were made to feel very special, thank you to shanaka, jageth, and samy, and to the room cleaners of 309 who were fab. the hotel was very friendly, clean and comfortable, we made lots of friends there,hello to steve and karren, send us a text, we lost your number. we booked our trips with rathner on the beech, he was amazing, he took us to the elephant sanctuary, he organized for me to bottle feed one of the babys, that was amazing. He took us on a safari to yala, he booked us in a great hotel bed and breakfast, its too far to go in a day, he was wery flexile with travelling, im travel sick ,and we stopped lots of times, we saw places we didnt know about, he took us to a beach so we could have lunch and swim, all at a slow pace, he looked after us like family, he took us out for a great meal, we met local people and learned so much about srilanka, go to the beach and ask for him by name, he is very trustworthy, and has been doing this for over twenty years, he lives across the railway track, he is very well respected by everyone, and comes to the hotel reception to collect you and bring you back. we can recomend the tailors outside the hotel gates, the one one the right as you enter. richard had two shirts made, two pairs of cashmere trousers, and two pairs of shorts, total of around $60. Also i can recomend the jewelry shop across the railway, i had three rings made, they are fab, i also bought two necklaces from the hotel shop, again im very pleased, you would pay double at home for the same things . Tip, take english money, and rupees, rathner gives a great exchange rate on the beach. Srilanka is a great place to visit, we will be returning, there is so much to see, wish we had gone to the rainforest, it looked amazing, perhaps next time, summery great hols, fantastic people ,safe to walk out of hotel, will return.

Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank yvonne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
myfacebook, Sales & Marketing Manager at Hotel Mermaid & Club, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2011

We thank the reviewer for sharing their holiday experience at Mermaid Hotel & Club and the excellent comments made about the hotel.

We are delighted to hear about the special comments made about our staff and our food.

Thank you for making such favorable comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Mermaid for a week at the end of a 4 day tour and found it very a relaxing place with really friendly staff who couldn't do enough for you. We stayed with our 2 children aged 7 and 9 and although the hotel did not have a kids club they did seem to be busy all day . They played crocquet and table tennis with other kids along with spending most of the time in the 2 swimming pools. The animation staff would come and round guests up for various activities, my husband really enjoyed the cricket, and kids the painting, whereas I enjoyed the peace when they were busy..he he. The service in the restaurant and food was amazing. The rooms were a good standard , and cleaned really well every day by the really smiley and chatty Nihal. Our room overlooked the beach...lovely!! When we booked we asked our tour company for interconnecting due to the ages of our children but on arriving at the hotel we were told that they did not have interconnecting rooms, however I am not sure that the fault lies with the hotel and it didn't by any means spoil our holiday. We used the tailors (Malinky) outside the hotel and the jewellers next door to it. Really pleased with the speed , quality and fit of suits made and the jewellery shop designed pendants for my daughter and me along with a lovely ring. Both shops I would highly recommend a visit. There is a wood carving and batik shop half a mile to the left along the beach , nice people and very reasonably priced crafts. Lots of beach boys outside fence trying to sell various trips and change money etc. A polite no thank you is enough for them to stop although plenty of guests did use them with no hassles we had already toured and just wanted to chill. Dont feel threatened by them when you see them at the fence they are only trying to earn a living and most are harmless!

Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LloydSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
myfacebook, Sales & Marketing Manager at Hotel Mermaid & Club, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2011

We thank the reviewer for sharing their holiday experience at Mermaid Hotel & Club and the excellent comments made about the hotel.

We are delighted to hear about the special comments made about our staff and our food.

Thank you for making such favorable comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We had a fabulous family holiday at the Mermaid in July. The staff
really do make this a very special place, nothing is too much trouble and the
attention to detail means that you are receiving 5 star service. We must thank
our room boy Neel who went out of his way to look after us - immaculate rooms,
spotless bathrooms and unfailingly cheerful at all times.( Can I recommend that
you use the hotel laundry, incredibly cheap and efficient - I put most of our
things through and came home with suitcases full of clean, ironed and
beautifully folded laundry instead of the usual mountains of dirty holiday
washing )
There was a great selection of food available in the restaurant and we
particularly enjoyed trying all the Sri Lankan food. On our last night we paid
extra for the a la carte seafood selection which has to be seen to be believed -
excellent value, absolutely delicious and thoroughly recommended .
All in all it's difficult to find fault with the Mermaid, it suited us as a
family and we hope to return.
HOWEVER please be warned about the travel company reps - We travelled with
Holiday Genie and their representative was Bradley Weiman from Asian Adventures
who came to see us at the hotel shortly after we had arrived. He immediately
issued us with a printed sheet warning us of people offering cheap transport ,
day tours and overnight tours where the guide will take you to places where he
has deals arranged - his advice was to book with Asian Adventures to avoid "any
unhappy circumstances".
I had tripadvisored our holiday and used the travel forum to get some ideas
about trips that we wanted to take so we were aware that there have been some
issues with trips taken with the beach boys.We particularly wanted to avoid
finding ourselves in a high pressure sales situation as others have at the
Gemstone mine and the Spice Gardens . Unfortunately thats exactly what happened
despite these places not being on our itinerary. We did tell the driver that we
didn't want to visit these places but we were still taken there and quite
literally dumped - it was really embarrassing and quite unnecessary.
.With hindsight we realise the rep arrived at the hotel very shortly after we had
arrived to make sure that we didn't talk to any of the beach boys ( we arrived
at the hotel at around 7am after travelling for around 48 hours and Bradley was
there at approx 11.30am ). Other people at the hotel went on similar trips with
the beach boys and when their itinerary had shown the Gemstone mine, Spice
Gardens etc they had said we don't want to include that and there had been no
problem. When we got back to the hotel we contacted Bradley who said
he would investigate, he asked us to put it in writing which we did and said
he'd get back to us - it took him 5 days and the only response was that the
company weren't prepared to do anything. We asked him for a written response so
we could take it up with Holiday Genie when we got home and we're still waiting !
We weren't looking for a full refund but a goodwill gesture would have been
nice - perhaps the difference between what we paid and what we would have paid
if we'd gone with the beach boys.
The whole experience left a nasty taste, it appears that the holiday reps are
the touts and should be treated with extreme caution.
We did take a further trip with Thanu (Dan-oo) one of the beach boys who has
been recently recommended by another reviewer, we can only endorse that review
we had an absolutely brilliant day and we can thoroughly recommend him - our
only regret is that we didn't book our other trip with him.

Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cath04T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
myfacebook, Sales & Marketing Manager at Hotel Mermaid & Club, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2011

We thank the reviewer for sharing their holiday experience at Mermaid Hotel & Club and the excellent comments about the hotel.

We are delighted to hear about the special comments made about our staff and our food.

We noted the reviewers comment about Asian Adventures and I have personally spoken to the senior management of Asian Adventures to take correctly action.

Thank you for making such favorable comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

Everything is 5 star,the staff are excellent and nothing is to much trouble for them,the staff are friendly and very helpful.The Sports centre is excellent,with regular games taking place throughout the day,the animators who run the sports centre are fantastic,Chami,Shiva and Suji were all very kind and organised a number of good sports events.The restaurant has lovely food,of excellent quality, the waiters are very helpful and take care of any demands,Jagath was a very good waiter.The stats speak for themselves on this hotel roughly 90% of people have given this hotel either 4 out of 5 or 5 out of 5.What else can I say if you still think well he has not mentioned whatever,well let me confirm it will be brilliant!!!

Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank OllyDCFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
myfacebook, Sales & Marketing Manager at Hotel Mermaid & Club, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2011

We thank the reviewer for sharing their holiday experience at Mermaid Hotel & Club and the excellent comments made about the hotel.

We are delighted to hear about the special comments made about our staff and our food.

Thank you for making such favorable comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We have just returned from a 2 week stay at the mermaid hotel and spa, although this is a 3* the staff (waiting staff and bar staff not the senior members if staff) make this a 5*. upon arrival everything was quickly sorted and we were taken to our room. We booked our taxi airport transfers with the hotel, but when we arrived at the airport there was no one there to pick us up, we therefore had to arrange alternative transport which turned out to be in a nicer vehicle and $15 cheaper!

The rooms
Lovely and clean, big spacious bathroom. Safe availinle to use with no charge, hairdryer in bathroom, CD player in ever room, we didn't take any. There is a mini bar which you have to pay to use.

Food
Great variety, always a new curry on offer. Puddings are very repetitive and not as much choice! Meat they use tends to be extremely fatty.

Drinks
The bar staff introduce you to new drinks, arrack and passion fruit is a must. The Arrack is the local drink, myself and my husband thought it tasted like whiskey/tequila! Bar closes at 12midnight. But no drinks availible to purchase after that, so everyone is off to bed early.

Pool
2 pools, one for general use and one away from all guests sunbathing which they use for the variety of activities they offer. Great idea as it makes the main pool lovely and quiet and relaxing!!

Spa:
Nicely laid out, both myself any my husband booked a massage. We booked different massages but both got the same. Slightly over priced I felt too. Plus the noise of games outside makes it not as relaxing as we would have liked.

STAFF
The staff at this hotel make up for anything it is lacking! The bar staff Nishan, Nande and Susil deserve a special mention! Such lovely genuine people. They made our holiday! Kept us entertained, even taught me singhalise!

Date of stay: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kjlawrence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
myfacebook, Sales & Marketing Manager at Hotel Mermaid & Club, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2011

We thank the reviewer for sharing their holiday experience at Mermaid Hotel & Club and the excellent comments about the hotel.

We are delighted to hear about the special comments made about our staff.

We deeply apologize for the incontinence caused to you on arrival where the hotel vehicle was not available for your pick up upon arrival. We conducted an inquiry with the respective chauffer and he admitted that there was a delay due to heavy rain. The vehicles at the airport are cheaper as they run one way hires and awaits the 2nd hire to get back to the air port. Furthermore since the airport vehicles are registered with the Aviation Authority they pay a monthly rate for parking and entrance. When the hotel has to arrange airport pick up service we arrange a vehicle from Kalutara. The vehicles are liable to pay a higher entrance and parking fees and therefore the hotel prices are generally higher.

We noted the reviewers comment about the similarity of the massages booked. The massage techniques followed in all Aromatherapy massages are the same; the difference is the type of oil used. We have also noted the reviewers comment about the disturbance caused at the spa due to the music. Based on the reviewers comment we have decided to change the location of the speakers and reduce the volume to minimize the disturbance.

We have also passed on your comments about the puddings and the meats to our Chef

Thank you for making such favorable comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews