We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Hibiscus Beach
Nearby Hotels
$107
$63
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Turyaa Kalutara(Kalutara)
$57
$49
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$128
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$96
$60
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$27
$24
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
AVANI Kalutara Resort(Kalutara)
$80
$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$52
$45
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$194
$182
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$198
$188
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (157)
Filter reviews
157 results
Traveler rating
34
61
29
20
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
34
61
29
20
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstandard of cleanlinesskalutara townvillaseasritukwavesrailway
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 157 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2010

It is a nice hotel, service is good and the rooms are ok for the money we have paid.
I would just like to warn you about one beachboy ( middleage guy named ANU or MR. Bean). He is a local travel guide. We went on a 3day trip with him. He didnt take us to the good hotels like he said, and we didnt see Dambula but some small cave temple. Soo, if you will go with him, make a deal in Rs and stick to the cities you want to see. Dont let him change your plan.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank j0shi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2010

My husbands phone was stolen from our room, couldent care less about the situation, took a day and a half to get WORKING batteries for the safe, TV didnt work, kept tripping electrics, took 3 days to sort out. 2 rooms were booked together, when we arrived, other half of the family were other side of hotel,we were moved closer to the family after a few days.
Apart from that, the staff were lovely, beds had flowers on after being made, we were there on valantines day, the staff made a huge effort to make it romantic, tables were put around the pool, for dinner, it was lovely.
The food was divine, and as im a cat lover, it was a delight to have resident moggys there.
There were good things and dissapointing things, no-one would like their personal belongings being stolen, and i certainly would not like my friends/family or anyone to go through that, so i can't recommed this hotel to a friend.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hippykat82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2010

Even though the booking was confirmed with an advance payment at the point of arrival at the hotel we were neglected by 30 minutes, no means of welcome was given, the staff at the reception was not efficient, by the times that the room key was given to us we were exhausted by having to sit at the reception and wait, no hospitality for the sri Lankans. Food is not up to the standards and the service is very poor. The holiday that we were hoping to have at this hotel by checking on all the positive reviews were glamorous how ever at the end we felt that we were been ripped off as at the end of the day we did not receive the service or quality what we expected and paid for , so please do stay away from this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jessey2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2010

Just got back back from what was originally a 2week stay (extended to 3 due to the volcano problems). I cannot thank the staff enough for their help in making our stay a plesant one.
First impressions of the hotel and reception were very good. The boys on the desk were helpful and their knowledge of English was pretty good too.
The food was buffet style breakfast/lunch and dinner. The food was very tasty and most of the dishes were not very spicy. we did enjoy the food, especially the soups.I have to admit that we did start to get a bit bored of the chicken or fish with rice by the end of the stay but we had the odd burger or the fantastic pink lady club sandwich.yummy!!! Burgers and chips was about £4 each and the club sandwich was about £3 so didnt break the bank.
Neither of us suffered any tummy problems at all during the stay. We did however avoid the really spicy food and curries and also drank buckets of bottled water.
Whilst there we went to the Pinnewala elephant orphanage. Booked it through a fantastic tout on the beach called Nisa. He provided a large car and was our guide for the whole day for about £45 each. Def recommend having a chat with him for a price comparrison from your own tour rep. We saved £20 but would be more saved if a larger group booked.
The hotel facilities were fine. There was a gym and tennis but we thought it was too hot to use these and we couldnt be bothered anyway!!!
The eveing entertainment was a bit lacking but we werent that bothered, prefering to take a drink and to sit down by the beach bar to make the most of the cool evening breeze.
The staff were fantastic......the waiters kept us smiling as did the bar staff. Thanks to you all for looking after us when we became stranded due to the volcano cloud.
All in all our stay at the Hibiscus was fabulous. the weather was hot, the food was tasty and the people were friendly. What more can you ask for !!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank spicybird01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2010

Arrived after long journey via Bangalore from Heathrow to discover the Hibiscus. Staff very friendly and welcoming and room clean with fresh flowers each day. Food more than adequate for what we paid and the pool area was well maintained by a vigilent pool attendant. No towels on sun beds at 5am! Kandy was an excellent trip and very reasonable for the 2 days we spent travelling around. Met Adjid and Naresh, local store owner who let us know that prices were very expensive in Kandy and surrounding area and to shop more locally which was an excellent tip. Yes, the hotel was a little tired and we perhaps could have done with more entertainment but we thoroughly enjoyed the relaxing break after the lead up to our wedding.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nickyposh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews