We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$86
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/28/22
Booking.com
$50
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/03/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.com
$48
View deal
Priceline$50
Hotels.com$86
Travelocity$85
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (219)
Filter reviews
219 results
Traveler rating
61
81
39
21
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
61
81
39
21
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sri lanka small gym indian ocean villa pools quarantine mr country foods
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 219 reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2020

I am reminded of a phrase coined by Abraham Lincoln saying 'that you can not please all of the people all of the time' and so on...Looking at the Tripadvisor comments, 48 said excellent, 78 said very good, 38 average, 21 poor and 15 terrible. We belong in the average department, could be less but certainly not over average. On arrival we were shown to a room that was 'dirty'. That was the house keepers comment. Dust everywhere and dirt ingrained in the decrepit furniture. There was wet and dry mold in the bathroom and around the shower base. The safe was out of order and other fixtures were in a questionable state. The management said the room was deluxe, it was insalubrious. We changed rooms and our new location was better.

The food was in most cases 'samey, ' monotonous, repetitive and unvaried and generally cold. More culinary imagination needed. Some furniture needed to be replaced. Out of five or six rattan chairs near the bar, four had broken seats. Some of the loungers were in a poor state of repair. The bar needs to properly managed and upgraded to compliment its specific activity. This hotel needs to be closed for as long as it takes to be re-invented and refurbished top to bottom. Then the media publicity will not hide the actual reality of the hotel

There is a plus side to all of this. The hotel is located on an attractive beach. The hotel grounds are kept in good order and all the staff are to be commended. Would we go again? Easy answer No. We travelled over 5000 miles for the holiday of a lifetime and it wasn't. But then there are many other places in the world to see

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nerjanits
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2020 via mobile

The rooms are neither very cramped nor very spacious. Comfortable stay with all amenities in the rooms. Sleep quality was very good. They have a private beach which they close at night. Breakfast and dinner buffet spread is very impressive. All staff were polite and courteous. Overall - wonderful stay.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Traveled with friends
2  Thank amarsharmam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2020 via mobile

About this hotel rooms should Reconstruction , its very important because environment in this hotel was so so beautiful , have 3 pools in-front of ocean ,very polite staffs, they do their best all of them. Want thanks to Nadima(i hope i call correct name) food was so normal not variety so much but tasty. Good location near handicraft stores walking distance. I hope owner of this hotel make a think for Reconstruction the rooms .and corridors. Was a bit dark. I like outdoor of this hotel but rooms was awful.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank FrankAmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2020

It's a shame that whoever owns this hotel doesn't love it a little bit and make some minor improvements. The staff, by and large, are wonderful and attentive and very friendly which was lovely. The rooms need a lot of refurbishment and work. Linens are very old, dull, and yellow. Bathroom was dirty as were the floors. Basic maintenance isn't being completed and there's mould, rust, and scale deposit on fixtures, etc. that could easily be remedied if management cared a bit more about the property. The pool is very large, has a nice view of the beach, and it's warm. The beach is gorgeous. The restaurant serves very good food - you cannot say anything bad about the staff at this hotel. I did raise a concern with management via our travel agent (Olanka Tours - avoid if you can) and they refunded $60.00US which I'm guessing is the cost of one room (we had two in total for one night). And while I appreciate that decision, one wonders why it was necessary at all? They have an incredible location and they need to focus on the basics - would never consider staying here again. Had we been staying for more than one night, we would have left.

Room tip: Stay elsewhere - rooms are beaten up and need a lot of work.
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank traveltilithurts
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam-Rajapaksa, Manager at Hotel Hibiscus Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2020

Dear Madam,

Firstly please accept my apologies for the room what you had. I agree the room you had bit old room. However hotel has much better rooms which were occupied on this day. If you spoke to the management about your room We could have changed your room immediately.

With my apology for your stay with us I kindly invite you to be a guest to our hotel in the future. Definitely You will have better room experience with warm hospitality.

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2019

We had a good holiday at avani kalutara. Nice location , good room facilities and food also good . Special thing is very friendly staff who alwaya think about guests. Nice place to spend your holidays .

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Osanda1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews