We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and quiet place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Hibiscus Beach
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Kalutara
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We came to Hibiscus Beach Hotel in October 2012 to have some rest and do a wedding ceremony. From the first day of our staying all the personnel was very friendly and helpful. We stayed in villa which was very good because nobody was around and all that we could hear is just the sound of the ocean. We had 3 times meal. The restaurant's menu was quite various and had a lot of spicy food! That was what we wanted to have. As I mentioned we ordered a wedding ceremony with the elefant and so on. All the procedures were done in a short time. The hotel manager found good seamstress and tailor that made a beautiful ceremony outfits for me and my husband (you can see us in the picture). We had few interesting excursions that were organised by the manager as well. After the ceremony we had a great dinner of 5 courses at the hotel restaurant. Then it was time to leave. And the last dinner was very touching (thank you Sam). So, in general we liked everything. Especially the open sky with shining stars above our heads in our villa bathroom =)
Have a good time too, like we did!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ainurchik84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 143 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2012

We liked staying at Hibiskus, because didn't expect much from the Hotel 3*
The nature and the ocean are great. Hibiskus is a very quiet place, wonderful garden, friendly staff, tasty food. The honest Hotel 3*.
If you want to see the blue ocean - go to Bentota or Induruwa, here it's rather gray than blue.
The strong plus - is an empty beach, almost no people here.
Beach boys are rather irritating, guys, remember, sri lanka people are friendly, but they DO want to make money and you are the source.
It's better to buy excursions from your guides, the same price and more professional.
We've tried food in several cafes near the hotel, but really, order meals at Hibiskus, the quality is much higher and the price is average.
The gym is

Room Tip: Just ask it to be closer to the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

This is a beautifully located property and has seen some good times I am sure. Right now it seems to have lost its looks and spirit. Its run down and has not been maintained. The suites are falling apart..no cords for the blinds, windows that dont shut , stained sanitariware, sliding shutters where the wood has warped, a general air of disrepair and depreciation. There is a huge satellite dish in the lawn ...but only three strange channels that come on the TV !
The staff seem to have picked up the look ..the service is bad. The barman is the most reluctant to serve. The stewards take forever to get you anything. The buffet is laid and then you are on your own .... noone bothers about serviec after that
The food is indifferent and the choice is limited . The beef was like rubber ...one could not get through it. This hotel does not have an ice machine ..so ice is bought and stored under lock and key ...you get some and you dont get some !
If you can get hold of some of the senior staff ..then you can get good service ..They are keen . There is an attitude problem all around .
You have to see the massage facility to believe whats going on ...its tacky to sat the least..and they are helpless..." the maaseuses have not come today " and thats the end of that. The gym has got rusty out of date machines ...some that dont work . The whole place reeks of decay
The poolside towels are dispensed from a broken shack ...and are stored in unhygenic conditions . T he Villa Pool is fed by an open water pipe ...the fancy waterfall is disfunctional .
Drinks ...if and when you can get service ...are very expensive for the type of place this is !
All in all ...a hotel that has seen better times ...a staff that needs to really pull up its socks ... a management that needs to roll up its sleeves and really focus .

Room Tip: Please do not get taken in by the photos...this place is very run down ...and the villas are a disas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank corinthus65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Any hotel set in the tropics has to fight numerous problems given by the high humidity, insects etc. Do not expect any luxury, but to say the truth this hotel is better than many 3* hotels in Europe.
Bed linen are changed daily, the hotel is clean and the garden well kept. The swimmingpoll is cleaned every morning.
The food is tasty and the chef and cooks in spotless white uniforms, as well as waiters, are carefully observed by the dining hall manager.
I was happy in the hotel, the staff was very friendly and helpfull all the time.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Tilia60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

We were given a beach front villa which was fantastic but once inside the room, the bathroom was open - which was a bit of a shock to us. The villa had it's own swimming pool which was quite appealing but one look at all the worms in the pool was enough to put any one off from stepping inside the pool.

The air con was leaking and was quickly fixed by the hotel maintenance but the way he moved the unit on the wall made me wonder if the unit will hold on through the night. We ordered room service for dinner as we were too tired to go to the restaurant. The food portion was very good but the room did not have an opener to open our drinks and by the time the waiter returned, we finished our meal.

Breakfast was very disappointing too with not much choice. The location of this hotel is fabulous but the hotel needs good investment and management to turn it around.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Shankar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

The hotel is old, needs to be renovated and get rid of the flies & mosquitoes from the villas. Pillowes need to be replaced as they smell of sweat and odor. The TV didn't work due to no satellite signals and the safe was out of order too. The hotel garden is beautiful with lush greens and staff spend more time in the upkeep of the garden vs maintaining the rooms.

We stayed for one day on the 29th of Dec and for dinner were served a vegetarian buffet and had some beef (with more fat pices) and chicken stripes as a stir fry. Even for breakfest the the selection was very poor. The foot massage at the hotel was excellent and would recommend this to every one at a cost of US$10.0

Overall the staff at the front desk and at the restaurant are pleasant and helpful. We would rate this hotel as a 2* resort

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

When we arrived despite booking four months in advance, our booking was not there. We sent e-mail 15 days prior to our arirval to Hotle directly and still room was not available. They put us in other ordinary hotel and offer Free Dinner. When we arrievd at Hotle looking at Security Guards at gate, big security walls and jsut adjourned to railway line, we noticed something was wrong as why not only this hotel but hotel's next to it also big security and while having breakfast, we heard many were complaining about the train noise. Not safe to walk outsdie the hotel. It's like a Hotel in a jail

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ajit_from_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalutara
0.5 mi away
Tangerine Beach Hotel
Tangerine Beach Hotel
#6 of 11 in Kalutara
1,188 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
#3 of 11 in Kalutara
1,281 reviews
1.0 mi away
Turyaa Kalutara
Turyaa Kalutara
#5 of 11 in Kalutara
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Club Waskaduwa Beach Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Coco Royal Beach Resort
Coco Royal Beach Resort
#7 of 11 in Kalutara
206 reviews
0.7 mi away
Citrus Waskaduwa
Citrus Waskaduwa
#1 of 1 in Waskaduwa
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hibiscus Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hibiscus Beach

Address: Mahawaskaduwa, Kalutara 12000, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Kalutara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Kalutara
Price Range: $73 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Hibiscus Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Hibiscus Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hibiscus Beach Hotel
Hibiscus Beach Kalutara
Hotel Hibiscus Beach Sri Lanka/Kalutara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing