We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEWARE - worst hotel on planet - i ended up in HOSPITAL from staying here!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Hibiscus Beach
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Kalutara
Farnham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“BEWARE - worst hotel on planet - i ended up in HOSPITAL from staying here!!”
Reviewed July 26, 2011

BEWARE - This hotel is horrific. Everything is a lie that you see. The photos are not relevant they must of been taken 20 years ago - so much so I did not recognise this hotel as the one we stayed in. We went for a romantic break and hated every minute.

The rooms - are a disgrace and you would never want to stay there. The hotel is so run down and everything is old and rotten. Even the bed side lamps were so old and rusty that the rust had eaten away the lamp shade so it had huge holes in it. The bathroom was unbearable.
Everything was musky and old and needs to be knocked down and started again.
I ended up with extremely serious food poising. After the most scary bout of food poising where i has to spend the best part of 3 days in the bathroom we discovered the reason for the illness. When we brought bottled water from the hotel the seal was not always new. We only realised after a few days when i was not getting any better, that the hotel was refilling the bottles with tap water.
As the room was so awful - we complained to the hotel. After much effort when they could see I was in such a terrible way they agreed to move us to their best "suite". This was one of the villa rooms. They assured us it would be clean and better standard.
When we moved (we were only staying 5 days in total) to the new room on the 3rd day we found it too to be dirty. Underneath my pillow was a dead Cockroach! Although the room was a better standard - its was still old and the air conditioning unit did not work.
I was so severely ill finally I was able to get a Doctor to the hotel who said I needed to be taken to hospital. My body was shutting down, i was extremely cold and my body shaking. I was told when back in the UK by my doctor that this was extremely dangerous. After hours spent at the hospital on drips and all sorts of medication, hours waiting for a tuk tuk to get us home - I just wanted to leave the hotel. We had had enough and my partner was also feeling ill from the water too.
At the hospital we asked the doctor for a medical report in case we decided to claim on our insurance. The doctor wrote "food poising".
When we returned to the hotel we said we wanted to leave 1 day early and wanted to fly home. We showed the manager the medical certificate - which he said was a lie!! He called the doctor (small town and everyone knows each other) and made the doctor tell me it was not food posing. The manager said he would not let us leave early - that we had to pay for the 1 night we were not going to be there for - and if we wrote anything on trip advisor he would tell everyone we FORGED a medical certificate and that was a criminal act! He would also close the gates and security would not let us out until we paid.
This hotel is a disgrace. The hotel rating and photos do not reflect the facilities at all. You will be shocked as we were if you go. The hotel is just geared up to take money from foreigners and everyone should be WARNED about going there. You take your welfare into your own hands going there. I would advise NEVER going, unless you want to be ill and waste your money. It may be cheaper than other hotels but it is not worth going at all. We took this hotel as it was a bank holiday and the only one we could get at short notice. This was a mistake.
We managed to get out of this hell hole of a hotel and for our last day checked into the Hilton - where we were very happy at the Hilton with international standards and proper bottled water.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Natasha029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    55
    28
    17
    13
See reviews for
31
50
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2011

we had our safe broken into and credit cards stolen.
2 weeks later 10,000 CHF in charges at a jewerly shop
Funny how the owner of the jewerly shop at the hotel lived at the hotel and watched TV in the lounge area every night scoping out the guests....Just saying.

And the agrro beach ooys fighting over eachother for business.

ANU....you real read about him on other posts too. Aufpassen....Be careful...Pay a little more and stay somewhere nicer.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vestagon12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kalutara hotels

Budapest, Hungary
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2011

We stayed at the hotel with my husband from 24 Februaryr to 17 March. We were on Sri Lanka 6 times . It's very nice country. The Hibiskus hotel is comfortable and clean the staff is friendly and helpful. The garden is beautiful. Especially Rajith Indika (reception) Foods was good, delicious, varied. Congratulation for the hotels's director...

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank legradiek1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2010

We went to this hotel with one of my freind and his wife and small baby .the hotel gave us a good deal and we desided to stay thier .they had 2 pools which was the baby pool and the adult pool.the disapoint was when i inquire about the big pool they told me all the locals use the baby pool. which leads to think that they don't want the local crowed to use the large pool
the food was ok(not that many selection). and the staff was not that helpful.aslo the rooms are not that large

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerRanitha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mb
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2010

It is a nice hotel, service is good and the rooms are ok for the money we have paid.
I would just like to warn you about one beachboy ( middleage guy named ANU or MR. Bean). He is a local travel guide. We went on a 3day trip with him. He didnt take us to the good hotels like he said, and we didnt see Dambula but some small cave temple. Soo, if you will go with him, make a deal in Rs and stick to the cities you want to see. Dont let him change your plan.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank j0shi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2010

My husbands phone was stolen from our room, couldent care less about the situation, took a day and a half to get WORKING batteries for the safe, TV didnt work, kept tripping electrics, took 3 days to sort out. 2 rooms were booked together, when we arrived, other half of the family were other side of hotel,we were moved closer to the family after a few days.
Apart from that, the staff were lovely, beds had flowers on after being made, we were there on valantines day, the staff made a huge effort to make it romantic, tables were put around the pool, for dinner, it was lovely.
The food was divine, and as im a cat lover, it was a delight to have resident moggys there.
There were good things and dissapointing things, no-one would like their personal belongings being stolen, and i certainly would not like my friends/family or anyone to go through that, so i can't recommed this hotel to a friend.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hippykat82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2010

Even though the booking was confirmed with an advance payment at the point of arrival at the hotel we were neglected by 30 minutes, no means of welcome was given, the staff at the reception was not efficient, by the times that the room key was given to us we were exhausted by having to sit at the reception and wait, no hospitality for the sri Lankans. Food is not up to the standards and the service is very poor. The holiday that we were hoping to have at this hotel by checking on all the positive reviews were glamorous how ever at the end we felt that we were been ripped off as at the end of the day we did not receive the service or quality what we expected and paid for , so please do stay away from this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jessey2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalutara
0.5 mi away
Tangerine Beach Hotel
Tangerine Beach Hotel
#6 of 11 in Kalutara
1,145 reviews
0.9 mi away
Turyaa Kalutara
Turyaa Kalutara
#5 of 11 in Kalutara
776 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
#2 of 11 in Kalutara
1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Coco Royal Beach Resort
Coco Royal Beach Resort
#7 of 11 in Kalutara
196 reviews
0.1 mi away
Club Waskaduwa Beach Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Citrus Waskaduwa
Citrus Waskaduwa
#1 of 1 in Waskaduwa
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hibiscus Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hibiscus Beach

Property: Hotel Hibiscus Beach
Address: Mahawaskaduwa, Kalutara 12000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Kalutara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Kalutara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Hibiscus Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Hibiscus Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hibiscus Beach Hotel
Hibiscus Beach Kalutara
Hotel Hibiscus Beach Sri Lanka/Kalutara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing