We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel in Kalutara”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Kalutara
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel in Kalutara”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

I was here during the quiet season in May. The hotel is relatively small and, at the time of my visit, at low occupancy. Although parts of the buildings were undergoing renovation, disruption and noise were generally kept to a minimum.

The rooms are large and well furnished. Air-con was a little aggressive at times, but generally a welcome relief from the temperature and humidity outside. The public areas are pleasant to be in. Although there is only one pool, it is plenty big enough for the size of the hotel. There is a small but well maintained gym with a very friendly and helpful "animation" team. A Spa is shared at the adjacent Tangerine Beach Hotel which is part of the same group. This was a little dated but the treatments were good and very good value.

In general, all staff were friendly and keen to help; but some of the "trainees" needed a little more support from their supervisors. The food service in the main restaurant was good. Food buffets were varied and themed differently each night. I didn't feel much desire to try out the alternative Grill or Japanese A la Carte options.

My main gripe would be the poor quality of the bar service and entertainments. In part, this could be a result of the renovations. Nevertheless, the All Inclusive drinks package was very poor, worse than I have experienced at similar hotels. Even local drinks can be offered with a little more style! A wine option would also be nice. With that slight reservation, I would still recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 528AndrewS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    669
    402
    108
    42
    28
See reviews for
320
653
40
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We choose this hotel as our Honeymoon destination and decided to splash out as my husband had a near fatal accident and thought we should spoil ourselves. Firstly we are avid wine drinkers and our tour agent phoned Cosmos to confirm that this was included in the All Inclusive package. They confirmed it was but on arrival we were told categorically NO! and because of this we would have to pay for all wine. Our room looked beautiful but had a musty smell and the bed lined was damp and internal pillows moldy..Yuck.. The bathroom shower leaked and the main sink had a puddle underneath it. It took two attempts for the hotel to get this sorted. One evening the tiled area around the bed was soaking wet with small puddles and one had to put a towel down so one would not slip. After this and hearing other couple complain about the same things we requested to be moved. Also when staying in a 4 star hotel you do not expect to have a main train line running 10 meters behind your room. The whole site was a major building site of which we were not informed and large scaffolding and green corrugated metal sheets were being placed on the outside, whilst ripping out each room. On our second week they shut the main bar which you could relax and talk in whilst enjoying back ground music but they then moved the entertainment to the night club in the basement which was noisy. So you could sit outside in the dark on the veranda or had to go to the room. It was unsafe to swim in the sea and had a red flag for the 2 weeks we were there, plus the beach was dirty with excrement and litter. On the plus side the food was excellent and had a good variety also the restaurant staff were friendly. We would return to Sri Lanka but not to this resort.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AngieDiazWiggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

I am sure this is a nice hotel when it is not a building site, but the work being carried out ruined our stay. We were not informed of this before we arrived. Others were advised, but not about the extent of the disruption. I am not saying that some upgrade and maintenance was not overdue, but to expect paying guests to put up with the noise and closed facilities was unacceptable especially as this is supposed to be a 5 star hotel.
On the plus side, the rooms are large and well appointed and the food was nice. The staff were polite and helpful.

Room Tip: Avoid the builders!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay, food excellent, staff very charming and friendly. We were all inclusive which I would recommend. Beautiful view from room over pool looking towards ocean. Restaurant excellent, bar and entertainment great.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roxane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ash
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

stayed for 3 nights after a tour of Sri Lanka. Hotel was generally very good, particularly the pool and surroundings with lots of shade under the trees. The restaurant was pleasant and the standard of food was high.

Two things let the hotel down: the room we initially had, on the first floor (room 212 I think), smelt musty as soon as we walked in and it turned out the bedding was very damp when we got into bed. Fortunately we were offered another room the next day; this was on the second (top) floor and was absolutely fine. Another couple on our tour had the same problem with damp in their ground floor room. The other issue was bar facilities during the day; the main bar near reception had outdoor seating but it was in full sun, inside was swelteringly hot but the staff said they could not turn on the air conditioning! This meant the only usable daytime bar was at the pool, which obviously got very busy at peak times with a long wait to be served.

The above points do need to be addressed, otherwise the hotel is a nice place to stay for a few days R&R.

Room Tip: Go for the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shawfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

we went to this hotel for a day,very plesent hotel,welcome drink was super,and the room (junior suite)was very big and clean,room have two bath rooms and big balcony also,they have big pool and garden,my childrenes have nice time with that,food is good but they have no enough of variety.but overall is we had good time in this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeyachandrika3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qatar
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Well designed hotel with spacious rooms and a pleasing outdoor environment. Reasonable quality of food (fish and chips/ Italian night/ curry night etc).

Service was sometimes great (reception, bar staff, pool/snooker attendant, spa staff) but sometimes, especially in the restaurant, it was like Fawlty Towers, very amusing!

Pool/children's activities were sometimes on, sometimes not. One day the water polo was on but they didn't have a ball!

At dinner my husband was told he had to sit outside because he wore knee length shorts (it is a resort hotel, right?) but girls with hot pants and short skirts could sit inside. A little offensive really.

We were disappointed that they wouldn't put 2 children's beds in one room and we had to take 2 rooms. The rooms are very large and have plenty of space for 2 extra beds.

The biggest disappointment was on the first night when we turned back the sheets and they were dirty from the previous occupants. 2 phone calls and 2 visits from housekeeping and they were eventually and reluctantly changed; no apology was received. Not the nicest welcome.

Beach - waves very rough, only suitable for adults or older children. Red flags up for our 3 day visit.

On our last night we returned from dinner to find the mini bar all locked up (not that we wanted anything anyway) and we received persistent phone calls for us to check out before our early morning departure. We did check out and then got a call at 11.20pm because one small bill had not been included in their system! (Really, could it not have waited till the morning)

Overall this hotel has some positive features, but we did not have a fantastic experience. The dirty sheets and our final night's experience of them chasing us for payment had left us with a bitter taste and we would not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JocketteQatar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalutara
0.2 mi away
Tangerine Beach Hotel
Tangerine Beach Hotel
#6 of 11 in Kalutara
1,142 reviews
1.3 mi away
Turyaa Kalutara
Turyaa Kalutara
#5 of 11 in Kalutara
771 reviews
21.5 mi away
Heritance Ahungalla
Heritance Ahungalla
#1 of 2 in Ahungalla
3,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Blue Water
The Blue Water
#3 of 10 in Wadduwa
1,386 reviews
12.8 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
13.8 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palms Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palms Beach Hotel

Property: Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Address: De Abrew Drive, Kalutara 12000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Kalutara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kalutara
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kalutara
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kalutara
#3 Family Hotel in Kalutara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Palms Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Royal Palms Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palms Beach Kalutara
Hotel Royal Palms Beach
Royal Palms Beach Hotel Sri Lanka/Kalutara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing