We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Royal palms- royal service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Kalutara
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Royal palms- royal service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

The staff are so friendly and helpful, went beyond their duty to help me with my food allergy. Food was brilliant with a huge variety every day.
Such a nice atmosphere and relaxed environment to go to after working silly hours. I certainly didn't want to leave. I'm now regretting the 5 day trip added on to the Maldives and would have much rather have stayed at Royal Palms.
I will certainly visit again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monkster21uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    614
    391
    104
    42
    28
See reviews for
302
616
36
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

What can I say except - WOW! 5 star without a doubt - now don't get me wrong, things can go wrong ANYWHERE, at any hotel, but its the way in which the management deal with these things that proves if a service is a good service or not - and they proved they give a good service. The room was MASSIVE and it was only a standard room, it was clean when we arrived and kept very clean by the room boys (200 rupees per day, left on the bed helps them - its only a quid after all). The balcony, which was large and welcoming, had a table and chairs and a sea view - they all do as far as I can tell. The shower room, which was very well appointed, was a vast and comfortable affair with everything one could need.

We chose to go all-inclusive and found this to be the best option - especially for drinks in the various bars. Although wine IS NOT INCLUDED (we found this out at reception on the first day) the other drinks are plentiful and the measures are doubles by UK standards. You can have local beer by the glass only - NOT BY THE BOTTLE. This apart, we found everything was plentiful and very adequate. The food, which was buffet style so you take whatever you want AND in whatever quantity, was always superb. It was always well cooked and the variety of different dishes was immense. the girls who welcome you to the main restaurant at EVERY MEAL are enchanting and the chefs and waiters are always very busy, so do be patient.

Everything that guests could want is there - a fully equipped gym - if you feel so inclined. There is a massive pool with a pool bar and the bar staff are very friendly. The Japanese restaurant is by the pool (at extra cost), we didn't use it, because the food in the main restaurant was so good and the themed nights - Mediterranean - Italian - Sri Lankan - Chinese etc. were a delight. The Cabana restaurant - we did use this - for the seafood and unlimited wine meal night and it was superb. The reception hall and main bar area are superb too and there is a sub-zero night club for those who want to dad-dance the night away.

The gardens are extensive and well kept and there is NO SHORTAGE of sun loungers, with a very accommodating attendant (100 rupees or about 50p is a good tip - each time he gets you a mattress and towel - they don't earn much after all). I was a bit disconcerted to learn that the next door hotel - The Tangerine Beach - a cheaper place to stay - has no restriction on their guests being allowed to use the Royal Palms grounds and presumably their facilities (there are no fences) - but we could also use theirs - so it swings both ways I suppose!

The staff - without exception - were efficient - effective - kind - polite - happy - accommodating - friendly - able - smart and good at their jobs.

Just one point I found - tips are well received and some of the staff will stand there hopefully at every opportunity - but wages ARE low - so don't be stingy! As far as I am aware it is not in the Russian psyche to tip and I didn't observe any being given. There are a lot of Russian guests in Sri Lanka now - they seem to have taken over Sri Lanka from the English and Germans as a popular place to visit - I found them to be charming people on the whole, but they don't seem to get behind the tipping ethos - lets try to change that eh!

Summary:
If you go all-inclusive you will NOT be disappointed and you will have a great holiday at this hotel - If you want a good tour company to pick you up and drop you off after having had a wonderful tour experience - wherever you choose to go on your tours - BOOK WITH BLUE LANKA TOURS - ASK FOR DINESH AND SAY RAY SENT YOU.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raymond K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

This is the hotel I will always visit on my trips to Sri Lanka. The staff, decor, food and atmosphere are completely faultless.
I particularly like the fact that there were local specialities available in the restaurant as well as more westernised options.
The location of the hotel is also fantastic, located right on the beachfront!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mark9874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astana, Kazakhstan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

I was at Royal Palms Hotel in November'13 as a tourleader of a famtrip group. I have really enjoyed my staying there. Everything in a hotel with a good quality. Very nice and spacious rooms, delicious food, big and beautiful territory, good service. Thanks a lot to hotel's team, especially to manager of guest relation department Mr.Menaka

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nazira N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

beautiful resort. all rooms are sea view/ pool view. all rooms have private balcony giving you the best views. the hotel is on the beach and have direct access. the odd is that hotel is next the railway tracks , entrance side. there is loud sound when the train passes. service is excellent , staff are very nice and helpfull. nice restaurants, good food. dicotheque opens on wed and sat only. there are few restaurants near to resort at walking distance. good beach resort all all age groups.

Room Tip: all rooms are sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amarthale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karaganda, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

I've spent a week in Royal Palms Beach Hotel, Kalutara, Sri Lanka with my wife.
Can not compare Royal Palms to any other in the area for we only stayed in that one. Anyway, if I wished to complain it would take quite a time to think out a reason. The service is impeccable, infrastructure contains all we ever needed to enjoy our time, service staff is friendly and efficient and always eager to help.
Breakfasts with wide choice of national and European food deserve highest compliments as the rest of food offered in the hotel with its three restaurants.
Our rating is "Excellent" and we'd be happy to stay there again, should we have a chance to visit Sri Lanka once more.

Room Tip: If you live in the first floor it takes just one jump over balcony railing to get into the swimming...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sergey k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Wonderful service, beautiful hotel.

We spent ten nights at the royal palms and enjoyed every moment. The staff were very friendly and happy to help with any requests.

We travelled to Sri Lanka for my girlfriends birthday, the staff decided to send up a cake on the day with out me requesting which was a lovely surprise.

The hotel has lovely facilities and lots of options when deciding on where to eat. It’s a good location and a short tuktuk ride away from Kautara.

Thank you again, from Mo and Carly.

Room Tip: Sea view is better and less noisy (train line quite close)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelLog786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalutara
0.2 mi away
Tangerine Beach Hotel
Tangerine Beach Hotel
#6 of 12 in Kalutara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
12.8 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
1.3 mi away
Turyaa Kalutara
Turyaa Kalutara
#4 of 12 in Kalutara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Citrus Waskaduwa
Citrus Waskaduwa
#7 of 12 in Kalutara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Blue Water
The Blue Water
#3 of 10 in Wadduwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
13.8 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palms Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palms Beach Hotel

Property: Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Address: De Abrew Drive, Kalutara 12000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Kalutara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kalutara
#3 Family Hotel in Kalutara
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kalutara
#3 Spa Hotel in Kalutara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Palms Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Palms Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palms Beach Kalutara
Hotel Royal Palms Beach
Royal Palms Beach Hotel Sri Lanka/Kalutara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing