We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but not much in the area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Kalutara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed at the Royal Palm last week for 5 nights- the hotel was good, really big pool and lots of loungers and space, the pool bar was also good, however the place does not really cater for pool side snacks/ light meals.
The rooms are spacious and clean, some are newly renovated. There was some maintenance work ongoing but that did not interfere with anything.
The beach was good, but we expected there to be a bit more to do in the immediate surrounding area- not much at all. Reception was not very helpful in recommending any restaurants etc. in the area either
The hotel does not have a spa, there is one at the sister hotel next door, but we were not too impressed with it for the prices they were charging.
Good hotel for families- lots of families staying on all inclusive base, there are lots of activities at the hotel as well, but not really catered for the younger crowd

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurenvdm8023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,311)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

579 - 585 of 1,311 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is a nice hotel. The location is ok The choice of food is ok The room is very nice and was new .We didn't do to much sunning because the sunbeds where always takken ( even at night or if it was raining there was clothing on the sunbeds ) Arround swimming pool it was very noisy because of the ventilation air conditioning system (which came out in a high tower). There where a lot of germans here and they alway wanted the same table in the restaurant.(I found this a very bad policy. If you complaind the management did nothing.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hikerIzegem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elsworth P, Manager at Royal Palms Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear hikerIzegem,

Warm greetings from Royal Palm Beach Hotel Kalutara Sri Lanka.

Thank you very much for your comments with regards to your stay with us.
I have shared your comments with my team to ensure that should there be anything that they can improve, it will be done and I will personally look into these matters.

Again, thank you very much for your comments.

Elsworth Perera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

i have been to this hotel like a zillion times and you never feel dissatisfied. the warm,welcoming friendly atmosphere just makes it such a comfortable stay. the rooms are always well cleaned, cozy and nice. the reception staff are quite helpful. service wise its quite efficient. the pool happens to be one of the nicest out of many hotels. the sand shore look gives the first impression of a maldivian beach. food is excellent. there is a vast selection, that there is no room for dissatisfaction. im proud to say that this hotel never makes you leave uttely hopeless of the stay. either it was the same as your previous stay or much more than that.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chikita_rox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elsworth P, Manager at Royal Palms Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear chikita_rox,

Greetings from Royal Palm Beach Hotel Kalutara Sri Lanka,

Thank you very much for your kind words. My team and I greatly appreciate your feedback.
We hope to see you back with us soon so that we can show you our newly refurbished room or our deluxe room (a higher category) where it has a different set up and color scheme.

I look forward to seeing you back here soon.

Thank you.

Elsworth Perera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We have just returned from our second trip to the Royal Palms Beach Hotel. We spent two weeks there and it was wonderful. Really relaxing. The staff are the friendliest I have ever experienced, so helpful and always smiling.
I can find little to complain about, the food is great, a wonderful variety. The rooms are very comfortable and the pool area is superb.
While we were there there was a bit of renovation work going on but it did not detract from our enjoyment at all.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a truly relaxing break. if you do get bored there is always something to do, aqua aerobics, boules, water polo to name a few. You can also have a trip to the elephant orphanage or up to Kandy.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EhAnnie46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stayed in hotel from 14th to 22nd July. Satisfied with very friendly staff, delicious cuisine and original "cinnamon" atmosphere of the hotel.
There was set of local drinks offered in the bar but I would appreciate also some vine which I rather preffer instead of drinkng spirits.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vlado C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed in the Hotel Royal Palms Beach from 19th July 2013 to 1st of august 2013.
Without any doubts one of the best hotels in Sri Lanka, especially many thanks to the very friendly people and staff in the hotel.
In comparison with international standard there could be some things improved.
Some of our impressions:
No music at all in the complete hotel except in the buffet restaurant and the hurricane bar at the evening. What is about music in the background at the pool bar?

The all inclusive program, especially for beverages / drinks could be improved.
Regarding this subject you can expect from a 4 to 5 star hotel a higher level.

Internet / WLAN doesn´t work very stabile in the lobby.
It should be possible to receive a LAN connection in the rooms for free.

Nevertheless we enjoyed our holidays in the royal palms beach and make in summary our suggestion to visit this hotel.

Thanks again to the very friendly people an staff.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Volker P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed for 10 nights and had a totally relaxing and enjoyable time. All the staff were polite and nothing was a chore for them. We had 3rd floor see view, the room was very comfortable and clean. Housekeeping was in the morning and late afternoon. The food was excellent, a lot of choice of curries, salad, chicken/pork/beef dishes along with an array of rice and veg. They had themed nights, the Italian and BBQ were superb. The waiters were quick to remove used plates and provide drinks.
They request that the men wear long trousers to dinner, which complements the status of the resort, it was a shame that some did not heed this "rule". The lounge area was a pleasant place to go to relax pre and post meals.
The pool is big and sort of sectioned, "beach area" which is great for the children to paddle, a volley ball area, Jacuzzi zone and a 6' area to swim in.
The sea is not safe to swim in and as long as you know that before you go then you are warned. You will be approached by sellers on the beach but they are polite and respect your space. We ventured out a couple of times and there is a wood carving shop adjacent to the hotel which is well worth a visit and cheaper then the hotel shop.
We didn't have transfer so I pre booked a taxi for $128 return, well worth the cost considering the traffic and driving "skills" of the motor bikes, tut-tut's and dogs !!
Although we had 4 days of rain the room, TV, balcony and bars, snooker and pool kept us occupied, when it was sunny the pool attendants looked after us with beds, towels and an umbrella.
There were plenty of loungers, the foot hall was never busy, there was plenty of food and choice and the beer was cold, what more could you ask for.

Room Tip: Request level 3 sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martynwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elsworth P, Manager at Royal Palms Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Dear Mrs.. Martynwo,

Warm greetings from the Royal Palms Beach Hotel Kalutara, Sri Lanka,

My team and I are delighted to hear that you had truly enjoyed your stay with us. I know that my team are doing their best everyday to ensure that all our guests get a great experience while staying with us and your kinds words served as a great encouragement and motivation to them.

I look forward to having you back with us in the near future and please do not hesitate to let us know directly should you need to book us again.

Thank you,

Elsworth Perera
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalutara
0.2 mi away
Tangerine Beach Hotel
Tangerine Beach Hotel
#6 of 11 in Kalutara
1,213 reviews
1.3 mi away
Turyaa Kalutara
Turyaa Kalutara
#5 of 11 in Kalutara
837 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Blue Water
The Blue Water
#3 of 10 in Wadduwa
1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
12.8 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
21.5 mi away
Heritance Ahungalla
Heritance Ahungalla
#1 of 2 in Ahungalla
3,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palms Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palms Beach Hotel

Address: De Abrew Drive, Kalutara 12000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Kalutara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kalutara
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kalutara
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kalutara
#3 Family Hotel in Kalutara
Price Range: $93 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Palms Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Palms Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palms Beach Kalutara
Hotel Royal Palms Beach
Royal Palms Beach Hotel Sri Lanka/Kalutara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing