We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Kalutara
Certificate of Excellence
Ivybridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We have just come back from our trip and felt I needed to have my say on this lovely hotel. Many people have written on trip advisor, that the hotel needed updating and basically running the hotel down. We had a great experience. The staff were amazing, always helpful. Yes you had to tip them, but we only did this at the end of the holiday. Come on, they don't have much, lets help them, in the only way we know, and that is give money. The AI worked for us, we were with another couple, so the men had beers and we had two glasses a wine at every meal. We have been drinking nearly all day, around pool, so that was enough for us.

There were some lovely people, there, Janet and Steve, Candice and her mum, Dane and Nicola etc. thanks to you all helping us enjoy our holiday.

The trip we had to see the elephants, was not good, the roads being so rough, but can 't be helped.

For anyone thinking of going, please do not hesitate. It was good value and I would go again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samatha-D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    670
    402
    108
    43
    29
See reviews for
321
654
40
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

When you turn up looks great, clean, excellent room, pool one of the best. Beach is a bit step and surf the week we stayed was always "up". The hotel attracts lots of inclusive holiday guests, so all buffet and cheap spirits on offer. The problem was we booked on line for B&B. We prefer to not do the buffet and eat freshly cooked food off the menu. The menu was limited but food was okay. We eat cheaper and better in other places we stayed. What was disappoting was still having paying the normal price for booze and getting the cheapest local spirts availble. Go inclusive and enjoy the organised volley ball, excercising in the pool, crazy golf competitions and you like so many there will have a great time.......perhaps a lttle bit Costa Del Sri Lanka rather than Sri Lankan luxury. There was out of season building work, so various restaurants were closed for certain n ights during our stay.

Room Tip: Not next to the building work (sept 2012)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank peter r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Me and my mum came for a nice relaxing trip for 10 nights and it was lovely. Rooms were big and we had a great view of the sea however could do with being updated which they are in the process of doing especially the bathroom. But the beds were big and comfy!

The food is great in the main restaurant, with many dishes inside, and a few outside that they made while you waited. They had a Japanese restaurant which we didn't try as felt no need to as it cost to eat there and at the main restaurants they had themes. My favorite themes had to be mexican and indian. The onion bajhis and vegetable pakoras were to die for!! A few days we had to eat in the banquet whilst they carried out work in the main restaurant which was slightly dull as the main restaurant has lovely views and had the option of sitting outside but no biggie, was only in there for 3 days.

The hurricane bar was good, could just be a few more cocktails added to the all inclusive menu.

The beach is nice with golden sand but you feel put off from going on it as many people stand at the gate wanting to sell you stuff. But all you need to do is carry on walking, try ignore them or just firmly say no and they leave you be. Also you can't go in the sea because it was rather rough. But the pool makes up for that, it is huge!!

The Sri lankan people are lovely, the pool boys, restaurant staff and guys on reception were so friendly. However some wanted tips for everything and made it slightly awkward. The gardeners make you things out of leaves and give them to you, but they want tipping for it. And also, the cleaners on our last couple of days cause they knew we were going kept opening the door for us when we came back from the pool and wanting tips. I don't mind tipping, just don't want to be asked all the time and we usually do it at the end of our holiday.

What made my trip was seeing monica the elephant come to hotel, she came twice for weddings and they are such beautiful creatures! You also had the opportunity to ride her for £5.

Overall, the holiday was great, would definitely return, just the rooms need updating and they shouldn't make you feel as pressured for tips.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank candice2411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Having spent a week touring, the Royal Palms was a welcome rest. Accommodation was fine, staff great, pool lovely and the pool bar even better. It's a non swimming beach in August so the pool was a must. Being all inclusive meant using the main restaurant and bar area (others were not included and unsurprisingly empty) but this was no issue as there were different "themes" every night so the need for "a change" never arose. The evening entertainment was local, sometimes cultural so not everyone's taste, but not unpleasant either. Staff in the pool area and grounds were very helpful and the sporty "animators" good humoured.

Minor issues, pool bar seats were not too stable even without a beer :). And the occasional monsoon downpour arriving at pace - 3 minute warnings from the staff were both accurate and essential and the accompanying dash for cover livened up the day - didn't happen every day but were dramatic when they did. Local train line was close by but didn't disturb - might have from a room that was closer.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms away from the railway line were fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigbum0204
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

Just returned from a fantastic holiday at this lovely hotel. Our Room was clean and spacious but in need of refurbishment .many had already been finished .All Staff welcoming and smiling always willing to help with any thing.food was amazing. 1st class service from pool boys ,doormen, waiter service , gardeners , nothing was a problem. We had a small problem what was dealt with good humour and efficiently (thank you ) .we had no problem with outside hawkers. Just say no thank you and walk on. We used a lovely men from the 1st shop outside the main gates for a few trips. I would highly recommend him. He is honest and has great knowledge of the areas we went to and had a fantastic driver. And a lot less than using your reps.over all our stay at this wonderful hotel was 1st class .can I just thank Campari for the many drinks he made for us.
Would recommend staying here and we will definitely return. Many thanks to all the staff for making our holiday a special one
Janet & Steve

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank bigbum0204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Level 5 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

The hotel consists of two, three story wings (blocks 1-4 on the North side, blocks 5-7 on the south side), each connected to a central block which includes reception, restaurant and main bar. The grounds are shared with the next door hotel, Tangerine Beach, although both hotels have their own pools, staff, facilities etc. The Royal Palms pool is large and irregularly shaped and curiously the shallow and deep ‘ends’ are separated by a short tunnel underneath the hotel. There is a swim up bar on the shallow side. The gardens are comparatively small for a hotel this size but are attractively laid out and well equipped with reclining sun beds; the pool staff are extremely prompt in spotting your arrival and turning up within minutes with cushions and towels. Unfortunately, there are far too few sunshades / parasols. There are recycling bins for paper, plastic and glass in the gardens – please use them! The hotel has its own animation team who organise various activities throughout the day – pool aerobics, water volleyball and croquet are all favourites, and a full programme of the day’s events is prominently displayed in reception each day. Local papers are also available to read in the lobby. There is music in the Lounge Bar most evenings, and occasionally other entertainments as well. There is a small shopping arcade in the hotel where you can purchase gifts, toiletries and other sundry items.
My room was large and well equipped – mini bar, safe, decent size TV with a good range of channels (including live Premiership football and Formula 1), effective air con and a comfortable bed. There is a hospitality tray with coffee, tea etc and two complimentary bottles of drinking water are provided each day. Every room has a private balcony with table / chairs, lighting and a pool view. The bathroom contains a bath with integrated shower, and plenty of towels are provided as well as the normal selection of toiletries. I did notice that at certain times of the morning there were problems with low water pressure – I guess lots of people were having showers at the same time.
The staff are, almost without exception, friendly, courteous and eager to please.
The food is excellent, with buffet style meals in the main restaurant. In addition to the buffet fare inside, the cooks also prepare freshly cooked meals outside on the patio area – generally barbeques and stir fries (or eggs, bacon & sausages at breakfast). Evening meals are themed – Indian, Mexican, Sri Lankan, Italian, Mediterranean etc, although there are always a couple of ‘middle of the road’ westernised meal choices available. The restaurant has a ‘no shorts’ policy for evening meals; beachwear is OK for breakfast and lunch.
For anyone staying on an all-inclusive (AI) basis, the policy, as these things go, is pretty straightforward. All meals in the main restaurant are included. Local beverages – water, juice, soft drinks, draught Lion Beer, cordials, liqueurs are included. Foreign beers and liqueurs are excluded, as is (I think) bottled Lion Beer. I didn’t drink wine during my stay, but a number of guests complained about difficulties getting a glass of wine with their meal as part of the AI deal. I was also disappointed in the very limited AI cocktail menu, although I suppose there’s nothing to stop you asking the bar staff if there’s something particular you want made. There are two bars in operation – the Lounge Bar (Hurricane Bar) in the main building, and the Pool Bar, both open from 10.00am to midnight.
There is no free internet access. There are a couple of computer terminals in reception which I believe you can pay to use, or alternatively the hotel is equipped with Wi-Fi – at a cost. I purchased a 7 day wi-fi voucher (with a maximum of 20 hours usage) for Rs 2,000 – about £10. Shorter duration vouchers are available. (I know several other Sri Lankan resort hotels actually provide complimentary internet access).
As has been noted by others, the busy Colombo – Galle railway line runs right behind the hotel. Personally, I didn’t find this a problem; I got used to the sound of passing trains during the day, and the frequency reduces as evening progresses. There is also a small village next door to the hotel with a number of irritatingly yappy dogs. As regards other nuisances, at the time of writing (late September) there was some minor rebuilding and refurbishment work taking place within the hotel grounds.
Power sockets are of the british three pin variety.
Transfer time from the airport (9am pickup) was 2 ¾ hours, reducing to about 1 ¾ hours for the 11pm return journey.

Room Tip: Rooms in blocks 1 and 7 (at the end of each wing) are furtherest away from the railway, although blo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stevo2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Just returned back from Royal Palms in Kalutara, Sri Lanka. Had a great 2 weeks for the second time in 3 years. Staff very attentive & food great, rooms have been upgraded since we last went & were fine. Took other friends with us this time who found the experience very good
Neil Thirtle

Room Tip: In rooms starting 3s
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalutara
0.2 mi away
Tangerine Beach Hotel
Tangerine Beach Hotel
#6 of 11 in Kalutara
1,144 reviews
1.3 mi away
Turyaa Kalutara
Turyaa Kalutara
#5 of 11 in Kalutara
776 reviews
21.5 mi away
Heritance Ahungalla
Heritance Ahungalla
#1 of 2 in Ahungalla
3,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Blue Water
The Blue Water
#3 of 10 in Wadduwa
1,388 reviews
12.8 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
13.8 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palms Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palms Beach Hotel

Property: Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Address: De Abrew Drive, Kalutara 12000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Kalutara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kalutara
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kalutara
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kalutara
#3 Family Hotel in Kalutara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Palms Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Palms Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palms Beach Kalutara
Hotel Royal Palms Beach
Royal Palms Beach Hotel Sri Lanka/Kalutara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing