We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tangerine Beach Hotel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Kalutara
Certificate of Excellence
durham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“awesome”
Reviewed July 23, 2009

great location.great staff.great holiday!!!

we went for 11 days at this hotel.very clean,excellent food and wonderful staff.
although the sea at the time was too rough to swim in,the pool area was lovely.i especially enjoyed the swim up bar where i spent most of my time!
the staff are attrentive but not intrusive and nothing is too much trouble.
you must go to the elephant orphanage(see sanka,who has a shop outside the hotel,he will organise this and so much cheaper than your tour operator).
driving in sri lanka is an experience...if you get in a taxi or tuk-tuk i advise not to wear white trousers..lol.
food from all over the world is served at the hotel as well as the local cuisine which is varied and delicious.
cost of living
large beer 80p
3 course meal approx £5
train into columbo from kalutara 60p
my particular highlight was a day at the sri lanka v pakistan test match held in galle.
entry fee?
main stand £2 standing 60p
yes you read that correct

all in all sri lanka is the ideal destination for culture,lovely people,great weather and the chance to enjoy some fabulous scenery

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank DurhamSalford_red7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    485
    412
    159
    51
    36
See reviews for
295
556
59
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
county durham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2009

We have just returned from a trip to Sri Lanka and stayed in the Tangerine Beach Hotel.
We had a wonderful stay. The hotel staff are so happy and friendly and nothing is too much trouble to them. The rooms were very comfortable with a huge kingsize bed and a view of the sea. The hotel is set in lovely manicured gardens. The food at the hotel was
fresh everyday and hot. The food mainly consisted of curries, vegetable/chicken/lamb.
Fresh rice and popodoms/pickles. Always a tasty soup or salad as well as pasta, fish
potatoes. At lunch time was the same array of good food on offer. We were on all inclusive and all local drinks were in until midnight (excludes wine but very cheap to pay for a glass). The entertainment consisted mainly of local singers and a fire eater which was fine. The spa was very reasonable and relaxing ( an awful lot cheaper than prices at home), well worth a visit.
Just outside of the hotel were a couple of shops, and the local people are very friendly.
Sanka who owns a shop nearby is the man to meet as he can get you anything you like,
even do excursions for you. We had a lovely day out at the cricket test match with Sanka, who kindly arranged to take us for the day.
The elephant orphanage is a must see trip, the amazing site of seeing elephants bathing in the river.
Overall Sri Lanka is a wonderful place to visit and the people are very grateful of the tourism.
The Tangerine Beach was ideal for a relaxing holiday in the sun.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank snoopscountydurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2009

My Husband and I spent one week at the end of May and I have nothing but good words for the Tangerine Beach Hotel.

We arrived after a long journey to a very warm welcome and very kind, friendly staff. Nothing was a problem throughout our stay and we could not fault the staff.

Our room was cleaned daily and every evening we had someone come in to turn our beds and put the mosquito repellent on.

The food was excellent, plenty of choice and varied every day. One evening we had a BBQ by the pool which was lovely.The only thing we didn't enjoy was when the musicians came and sang at our table whilst we were trying to eat. We spent a lot of time staring at the floor!

We also took advantage of the spa and we had a three day package which was incredibly relaxing. Everyday my husband fell into a deep sleep when he was having a massage and I felt thoroughly pamperd!

All in all, we would recommend this hotel for its lovely staff and a very relaxing break.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Swimchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anywhere but home
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2009

Agreeably this is a rather late reveiw but I thought I would share my experience with you.

After a disapointing trip to the maldives, due to over booking an the "tour rep" lela we flew across to the wonederful land of Sri Lanka, unpon arrival our transefer consisted of 2 taxi's a slight differnce to our promised 1, having to split my family between the two cars we set out on our 3 hour ride due to the taxi drivers going independant ways, this was a little unerving. we finnaly reached the hotel where my first impressions "Wow". the reception staff were very friendly as we checked in. Being all inclusive we were given our coloured band, which we later found out was to be a pain in the neck as locals outside the gates would try to tell you the transported your bagsand where lookin for a tip, on our next outing we had been given an invaluble peice of information to TURN YOUR BAND INSIDE OUT so that people did not know which hotel you where residing at. excited to visit the true sri lanka we travelled up the street stopping off at a couple of the loacal bars, only to befriend the landlords, we couldnt believe it when many of our fellow residants told us not to leave the hotel grounds as this was the best thing we ever did. Arranging a 3 day tour to Kandy and Pinewalla along with the famous tea plantations with a local man Reggi was superb, a very compitant driver took us through typical sri lanka away from the beaton trackin his spacious air conditioned people carrier. this was a tailor made tour taking us to all attractions we requested. I would thuroughly recomend using a local guide as the resort based ones take you to commision based places.

Out of the time we were at the hotel we reqested to move room as we where situated directly opposite the games room which was noisy during the night, our new rooms where addiquet although not of the standard we had payed for as we had paid for superior + rooms an recieved the basic, how ever the friendlyness of the staff made up for this. the resturant had had troubles with the heating of the food during our stay as nearly every dish on offer was tepid, the freshly prepared food and the selection of fruit however was superb. Although we had paid extra for all inclusive it would have been cheaper to eat out every night (as we did, bar 2).

I had booked a pedicure at the hotel spa however this left my hands I a worse condition to when I arrived. Doing our own thing away from the hotel definatly was the saving grace of this holiday.

Dispite the poor points of the hotel this was deffinatly the holiday of a life time.
My point would be:
STEP OFF THE TOURIST TRAIL AND DISCOVER THE TRUE SRI LANKA!
We left needing a holiday to get over all that we had packed into our wonderfull time.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sun-sea-sand_65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2009

We stayed here in the Easter break for a week and had a lovely time. We took the all-inclusive optional despite there being no alcohol for two days due to a religous festival we still felt like we got our moneys worth. The selection of food at meal times was excellent and varied daily.
We met a very friendly tuk-tuk driver, i think his name his Chiena who took us around the local area for a very reasonable rate. He is stationed just outside the hotel and I fully recommend him.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank deezhong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2009

having read reviews on here we were abit apprehensive about going
we went all inclusive and enjoyed the complex very much
we sign for everything and were not charged for anything
food was good and selection of spirits etc was good
only downfall we found we mossies in the evenings

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gebesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2009

Before we arrived at Tangerine Beach I was a little worried after reading some less than favourable reviews on this website. After spending two weeks here I really can't understand how anybody could be disappointed by this hotel. Granted, some of the rooms are a little tired, but the food, service and attitude of the staff is second to none. We did have a few problems with the handle of the bathroom door and the cold water in the room, both of which were sorted out within ten minutes after a call to reception. During our stay we ventured on two trips, one to Galle via the turtle sanctuary, the fish market, a moonstone mine and rides in a river boat where we met a baby croc, saw an elephant bathing and lots of other wildlife and a glass bottomed boat where we saw a turtle and lots of fish and coral. The second was a two day trip to Kandy with visits to the elephant orphange, the largest sleeping buddha in south aisa, a tea plantation, a wood carving factory and the temple of the tooth amongst other things. On both trips we went with a local man named Raja who you can find at the Relax restaurant a few hundred yards left down the beach from the hotel. He is a lovely man and looked after us very well, I would suggest you seek him out if you are interested in exploring the island. Raja also prepared us a traditional breakfast to celebrate the Buddhist new year which fell on the last day of our holiday which was very kind. We ate out a few nights at a restaurant down the beach to the right of the hotel, which was owned by a man named Tikka and his wife where the food and hospitality was second to none - fresh lobster caught to order at a very reasonble price and a table on the beach! If you go down to the beach you are more than likely going to meet Roberto; a real character, who will be happy to point you in the right direction.

We all really enjoyed our time in Sri Lanka, it's a wonderul country with some of the nicest people you are ever likely to meet and I would thoroughly recommend the Tangerine Beach as a great value place to stay. I hope to return again in the near future to see what the rest of the country has to offer.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kate12345NorthEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalutara
0.2 mi away
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
#2 of 11 in Kalutara
1,250 reviews
1.5 mi away
Turyaa Kalutara
Turyaa Kalutara
#5 of 11 in Kalutara
773 reviews
1.3 mi away
Citrus Waskaduwa
Citrus Waskaduwa
#1 of 1 in Waskaduwa
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
The Blue Water
The Blue Water
#3 of 10 in Wadduwa
1,388 reviews
12.6 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
21.3 mi away
Heritance Ahungalla
Heritance Ahungalla
#1 of 2 in Ahungalla
3,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tangerine Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tangerine Beach Hotel

Property: Tangerine Beach Hotel
Address: De Abrew Road | Waskaduwa, Kalutara 12000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Kalutara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kalutara
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kalutara
#5 Spa Hotel in Kalutara
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kalutara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tangerine Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Tangerine Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tangerine Beach Kalutara
Hotel Tangerine Beach
Tangerine Beach Hotel Sri Lanka/Kalutara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing