We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delivers what it says on the packet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tangerine Beach Hotel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Kalutara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 2, 2014

The name, Tangerine Beach Hotel, tells you what this hotel offers: it’s a tourist hotel and we’ve marked it accordingly.

It is well managed, has friendly and actively helpful staff and deals with a large throughput of guests. We travelled with Mercury Direct and our deluxe room was a good size, immaculately kept by the room boys, with a balcony overlooking the pool. We were offered an upgrade on arrival but declined the offer.

Food. The buffet-style restaurant offers a reasonable choice of Sri Lankan or western food at each meal. It’s not gourmet food, but its well presented and of perfectly acceptable quality.

Facilities. The facilities are good. The pool is large and the water is warm and soft. Once in, you don’t really want to get out. There’s a games room and organized sessions of mini and crazy golf each day. There’s also daily water aerobics.

Externally, the beach is not as good as at, say, Galle. The sand is gritty and the sea can be dangerous – there’s an undertow, apparently, and our representative warned us there had been a couple of people drowned. There’s also a low perimeter fence that keeps hawkers out but gives you the choice of dealing with them.

Tours. We did three tours and were particularly happy with the three day Cultural Triangle tour arranged through Aitken Spence – a travel specialist associated with the Tangerine Hotel Group. It cost £270 each, slightly more expensive than a similar tour offered by a local tour operator, but used quality hotels for each of the nights away and provided a professional guide.

We used a local tour arranger for a one-day whale-watching tour to Merissa and then on to Galle (£75 per person), and for a two-day tour by train and mini-van to Ella in the hill country (£165 per person). The whale-watching is a bit hit-and-miss, we saw four whales but no dolphins or turtles – and it takes a two-hour boat trip each way to get to where the whales are. The rail trip from Colombo to Ella was a real experience (make sure you get a reserved seat in an air-conditioned carriage). The hotel at Ella was government-run and needs investment to bring it up to an acceptable standard (we stayed in the old, colonial part), but the views over the Ella Gap were outstanding.

The local tour arranger was slightly cheaper and offered tailored tours, although the difference in price was marginal over the more professionally operated, guide-accompanied Aitken Spence tour.

Summary. If you’re after luxury and gourmet food, this hotel will probably disappoint as that is not what it is set-up to deliver. If you’re looking for a relaxing poolside holiday, in a well-managed environment, it’s a good place to go.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BandWT4647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,202)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

464 - 470 of 1,202 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2014

This is our third visit to Tangerine Hotel.

We really like the atmosphere of the hotel. This has been improved over the last time due to many problems with Eastern guests. Witch is already described by former guests with there complaints.
General Manager Mr Lakal has listen to the complaints of the EU/UK guests, especially about the restaurant problems and offered the possibility to the Eastern guests to have a no “all inclusive” formula. This gives them the opportunity to have cheap but very good meals in private restaurants on the streets, adapted to the wishes of the eastern guest, with big lobster etc. This solution is a wonderful idea from Mr Lakal that improves the stay comfort for everybody, whiles nobody is offended or excluded. For the record, the private restaurants are not from the hotel, so they have no responsibility over these restaurants. No problems are reported. But visiting is at own risk.

You already see the positive changes in the hotel, especially in the restaurant and at the bar. Now you can fully enjoy the All Inclusive facilities off the hotel. The dress code at restaurant is international standard so I don’t understand the people who complaint about this since this is an air-conditioned restaurant.

The staff is very friendly and helpful. There is a new guest relation called Jean from France. If you’re an EU/UK citizen and you have a problem, you can speak to him in your own language, witch is more convenient.

If you have a problem with your room ask for the housekeeper manager
Mr Shantha. A very polite man that will help you in any way he can.

The take away breakfast from the hotel, witch is given on excursions, is very good and up to international standard. Bottle of water, fruit, sandwich with cheese, etc.

This is a very good value for money hotel. And more EU/UK guest would improve the hotel atmosphere.

Tip at arrival airport: Buy a Dialog SIM card (with credit card) for cheap calls local and EU and 3G internet for tablet or smart phone. Send “DBB 299” to 678 for 1GB internet valid for 1 month or see #678# menu. Changes may apply without notice.
You can reload SIM with Herby, see below.

Tip hotel: they have renovated luxurious rooms and suits witch are upgrades for reasonable price. Ask information about this at the reception.

Important Tip: for all excursions best price quality call Herby Tours at 776308607. He will watch over your safety and take care of your needs and wishes.

This review is given without guarantee and subject to change without notice, use at own risk.

Room Tip: Ask for luxurious room upgrade prices at reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Christ0pher_C0l0mbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

One thing which is simply killing - staff attitude.

"What's your problem?", "That's just the way it is", lying and ignoring questions - it is about hotel standard and seems to be the problem related to management.

Our default/standard room appeared to be horrible. I have decided to pay extra to upgrade to better room - higher floor, bigger size, better balanced colours and having ocean view. I give Tangerine hotel 1 star just only for this room which was the only good thing (but not really as you will see later) but we had to pay extra!

Giant cockroaches 5cm+ and they can fly! Disgusting. We asked to clean our room but it didn't help.

We had 1 hour tennis game in the hotel area. The ball got into the water pipe which wasn't protected and which was on the ground level. Imagine what happened next - we had to pay for the ball! I said - it is not fair because this tennis court design issue. I've never seen water pipes at tennis courts before. There was 1/1000 chance the ball can hit the hole on the ground but it happened! Why do I need to pay for someone being lazy and leaving hole unprotected?

We've got a strong feeling that we'll have to pay even for the air... hotel is greedy and trying to make money on everything. You paid for the New Year dinner and then you'll have to purchase water separately!

Wi-Fi quality is low but it costs same price as I would have to pay in Kyiv for one month and having speed x100 faster!

Of course I can imagine difference between two countries infrastructure... but then why our previous Sri-Lanka hotel (having similar cost) provided free Wi-Fi over the whole stay? High restaurant quality food? Wonderful staff attitude and many other things making vacation relaxing. Such a huge contrast... which probably explains our shocking experience. The funny story - our travel agency strongly recommended Tangerine but didn't recommend another hotel (whose name I'm not going to mention as I'm not about marketing).

I would advise not to rely on local Travel Agencies which often have hidden deals with hotels. The deal conditions are simple - Agency advises Hotel X to a tourist and then hotel provide significant discount for the travel agency... now guess what? You'll pay full price anyway. But the travel agency and hotel will make money on you, making it again and again.

We will never come back to Tangerine and we do not recommend this hotel to others!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank vid_ua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed at the Tangerine beach hotel for 11 nights over the Christmas and new year 2014. Our room was cleaned every day and the room staff added a personal touch each day, such as fresh flowers in the room or other extra touches. The food was very good with always something new on the menu and the Christmas eve and new years eve banquets were great despite the large attendance. The whole staff including the reception, the room staff, the catering staff, the poolside attendant and the bar staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful and could not do any more to make our stay more enjoyable. We hope to return again

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank galwayco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

went to tangerine beach in sept 2013 for 10 nights to attend a wedding .......the hotel was lovely clean and relaxing the staff were 5 star plus as was the food and service ....absolutely excellent ....will def be re visiting and highly recommended

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ferretlady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

10 family members from Ireland and Australia stayed in the Tangerine Hotel Kalutara for Christmas and New Year. . We are still talking of the fond memories we experience. We can't praise the hard working Staff enough for their dedication , friendliness , and professionalism at all times. They were all the Catering Staff.
Room Service Staff, Pool Staff, Recreational Staff ,Bar Staff and Reception Staff. They just couldn't do enough for Guests.it was a pleasure meeting up with Prasanna and his colleagues at meal times. We found a very good variety of food . The Staff put such a lot of work into the Christmas Eve Dinner and New Years Eve Dinner and coped to their best with such a lot of Guests at both functions.
There was a lot of activities all day provided, so you never needed to be bored.
Over all , looking at the bigger picture and what Staff delivered for our stay in the Tangerine Hotel was marvellous.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roscommo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

On arrival we were greeted with a smile, cold flannel & a welcome drink after a very long flight which made us feel very welcome.

We were extremely happy with our room which was very spacious with plenty of hanging and cupboard space. The bathroom had a very large shower with continuous hot water (a rare thing in some hotels). The AC worked all the time and the bed was very comfortable with great pillows. The room was cleaned daily and the amenities re-stocked when necessary. The linen, which is white, was replenished when needed and always looked clean which can be an issue with white linen

The hotel pool was large but we felt needed some attention due to loose tiles on the bottom of the pool. Also we felt that the pool staff should be more pro-active in cleaning the sides of the pool where the waterline finishes and collect the leaves that fall off the trees into the pool.

There are plenty of sun beds around the pool and the garden areas. We did not have any issues obtaining a sun bed but we felt that the towels used for the sun beds are old and could do with being replaced.

The staff at the hotel, whether bar staff, porters, maintenance, restaurant staff, chefs, pool staff were always very courteous and attentive to our needs which helped us relax and enjoy our stay at the hotel.

We were on an All Inclusive basis and the food in the restaurant was of a very high standard with plenty of variety. There are plenty of snacks also served during tea times. However we did find that during meal times on more than one occasion the buffet was not replenished quickly enough. This was also the case for the plates, teacups and cutlery.

Overall our experience was very good and we really enjoyed our stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TKB7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalutara
0.2 mi away
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
#3 of 11 in Kalutara
1,301 reviews
1.5 mi away
Turyaa Kalutara
Turyaa Kalutara
#5 of 11 in Kalutara
832 reviews
1.3 mi away
Citrus Waskaduwa
Citrus Waskaduwa
#1 of 1 in Waskaduwa
1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
The Blue Water
The Blue Water
#3 of 10 in Wadduwa
1,431 reviews
0.6 mi away
Club Waskaduwa Beach Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Coco Royal Beach Resort
Coco Royal Beach Resort
#7 of 11 in Kalutara
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tangerine Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tangerine Beach Hotel

Address: De Abrew Road | Waskaduwa, Kalutara 12000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Kalutara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kalutara
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kalutara
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kalutara
#5 Spa Hotel in Kalutara
Price Range: $76 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tangerine Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tangerine Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tangerine Beach Kalutara
Hotel Tangerine Beach
Tangerine Beach Hotel Sri Lanka/Kalutara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing