We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scenic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tangerine Beach Hotel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Kalutara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Its a nice property with lots of open space for relaxation. its a beach resort. staff is very nice and organize lots of activities to keep you busy. although their focus is more on foreigners and not indians but we enjoyed our stay. rooms are good although not spacious but hygenic rooms.

Room Tip: Opt for pool view room or beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PoojaKhare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,202)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

542 - 548 of 1,202 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

Was there last week good hotel very welcoming friendly staff, loved the surrounding garden and the beach its a shame it rained would have been a excellent if not,liked the lunch good variety lots of desserts, breakfast average i would say, the hotel seemed improved a lot as i have been here with ma mates couple of years back rooms are better quality and colorful. view was quite good air con was working and good, toilet was clean and new was looking for soap then ma wife found it in a box,the only thing i didn`t like here is the watery welcome drink i think its watermelon with less melon anyways would recon this hotel and would come back for sure.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kanga-trav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had a great two weeks at Tangerine beach hotel. Reception staff was very welcoming & with warm smiles. Our room was Spacious and had a lovely view of the Ocean with the calm & peaceful atmosphere. Restaurant was very clean & we enjoyed our meals there.Food had plenty of variety. The Hotel was very good for a long holiday. We went to Pinnawela Elephant Orphanage and thought it was fabulous. Sri Lanka is a beautiful country we will definitely come back again & also visit Tangerine again as we had great value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jhon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We had a lovely weekend at Tangerine Beach Hotel. From the reception staff to room boys and restaurant staff, everyone was polite and friendly. It was a real difference from most hotels in Sri Lanka who offer second class treatments for Sri Lankan Guests but at Tangerine everyone was treated equally. Had a good choice of food in the buffet and the quality of the food was excellent too.Only problem we had was bad weather so we could not enjoy the outdoor activities. All in all i would definitely return back to Tangerine and the staff is a definite plus point to the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rashmi400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed here for four nights April 2013. The rooms were large and I think pretty much all of them have good balconys facing the garden, the beach and the sea.

Although the surroundings are quite serene the hotel bar/restaurant plays quite loud music until midnight.

The staff didn't smile and throughout they didn't seem to care much about their guests. After being disappointed when they couldn't give us information about where to see a doctor for a small infected wound (they offered us a doctor to come visit the hotel for 11 times the money a private clinic charge 2 km away) we saw the manager and he said he was sorry and offered us a fruit plate and one hour of free internet on one of their computers, now or later during the stay. The next day we wanted to used the computer and then he had changed his mind saying first that he wouldn't let us use the computer with reference to "management decision", then he said the offer to use the computer was only valid yesterday and he finished saying they had done nothing wrong (they had only followed their "system" of not offering any other information to guests than the doctor they earn commision on calling for). I tried to explain that we we're customers and were staying for several days, paying a fair bit of money for it, and that we didn't feel like we'd been welcome to their hotel. He was completely insensitive to my appeal for his assumed customer friendliness. I think a similar situation would be completely unthinkable in one of the global hotel chains that will invade Sri Lanka in the coming years so, I say Good Luck to Tangerine ;-)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 77ErikH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBHMGTDGM, General Manager at Tangerine Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear Sir / Madam,

We take note of your comments and believe that the comments were based on an issue needing a doctor for the ladies leg injury and wish to state that our front office staff had provided the necessary information correctly. Reputed Hotels does have a doctor on call for a nominal fee, Medical facilies are not offred free of charge as expected by you. We also believe that you had incured a much higher price for the medical attention received, due to your own course of action by visiting a Private medical institution, which is certainly beyond our control.

With regards to the noise factor from the music, management staff did attend to you promptly and effected a room change with apolagise and a complementary fruit basket. Despite all the assistance given it seems you had not been happy, hence the negative comment? We are extremely sorry to hear same.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Nice location and good rooms can't outweigh the terrible experience of the unfriendly and unhelpful staff. Also really bad breakfast (it smelled bad in the resturant) with eggs boiled until they were green/gray. We felt like supposed criminals when we couldn't bring our bags in to the buffet. Plenty of noise from the bar at night until 12 midnight, earplugs not enough.

We stayed in about 9 hotels in Sri Lanka the past three weeks and this was doubtlessly the worst experience. If you can avoid the restaurant and the staff you can have a nice time in the garden but you're probably best off without this hotel. The hotel next to it ( Golden Palm Beach hotel) belongs to the same chain but we din't stay there.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 189894Johanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBHMGTDGM, General Manager at Tangerine Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear Sir / Madam,

We have already responded to the comment posted by 77ErikH under the caption "Great Location But Poor Management" as this one too is linked to the above, trust the response would speak for it self

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stayed for six nights in room 314 inthis hotel after a one week travel arround in Sri Lanka.
The service was really nice in this Hotel. We have a warmly welcome and all staff was very friendly.
The Room was clean. The reception was very frendly.
The Poolbar was very nice and the whole place very good.
The beach is awesome!

The only thing I dislike was the meal. When a lot of people where here he food was good but when less people where here the meals quality getter worser.
\All over i would come again.

Room Tip: we had 314 it was to the garden side and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalutara
0.2 mi away
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
#3 of 11 in Kalutara
1,301 reviews
1.5 mi away
Turyaa Kalutara
Turyaa Kalutara
#5 of 11 in Kalutara
832 reviews
1.3 mi away
Citrus Waskaduwa
Citrus Waskaduwa
#1 of 1 in Waskaduwa
1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
The Blue Water
The Blue Water
#3 of 10 in Wadduwa
1,431 reviews
0.6 mi away
Club Waskaduwa Beach Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Coco Royal Beach Resort
Coco Royal Beach Resort
#7 of 11 in Kalutara
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tangerine Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tangerine Beach Hotel

Address: De Abrew Road | Waskaduwa, Kalutara 12000, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Kalutara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kalutara
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kalutara
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kalutara
#5 Spa Hotel in Kalutara
Price Range: $76 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tangerine Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tangerine Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tangerine Beach Kalutara
Hotel Tangerine Beach
Tangerine Beach Hotel Sri Lanka/Kalutara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing