We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel on the beach.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tangerine Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tangerine Beach Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Kalutara
Certificate of Excellence
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice hotel on the beach.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Location of the hotel is perfect, right on the beautiful beach. Nice big swimming pool and kids pool. Rooms are good, clean and spacious. The staff are very nice and helpful. Hotel offers lots of spa treatments. Very happy with that. We recommend this hotel for a family holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms facing beach to get a spectacular view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katerina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,091 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    399
    154
    50
    36
See reviews for
279
531
57
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Our experience of the Tangerine Beach Hotel is unfortunately not a good one.
We arrived (quite late) to be greeted by a terrible room (which we were told was one of the best), is was very shabby, smelt musty, you could hear the noise from the VERY busy road outside, generators were running constantly (again noisy), the room and hotel seemed to be infested with insects.

The staff were unfriendly and unhelpful, we raised concerns but no one seemed to be able to speak any English.
The food was horrific, after 15 minutes dishes would be empty and not replenished, entertainers and bands would give you the "hard sell" you while you ate your meal.

The pool at the start of the vacation was pretty good, however this soon declined and started to look messy after a couple of days.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TDISportAaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Food was really good.room arrangement is excellent.no hassle.very peaceful place.gives you a real benefit for a person who enjoys calm.and we have visited here several times.

guest relation,bell boys,reception,room boy service was excellent.

Room Tip: the room arrangement was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shakila D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalutara, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

The rooms were beautiful; stylish, in a mix of minimalist Geffrey Brawa style with traditional details. We were met by a beautiful girl with flowers and a fruit cup. The internal gardens , water and tree, were beautifully kept. Plenty of space to relax under trees by th pool. My husband is a strong enough swimmer to brave the ocen , 5o metres away, but i just frolicked on the edge. One bonus was the pool is still open after sunset so you could float under the stars and the moon, watching the shadows of chipmunks running up the tall trees. \Staff were very helpful and efficient. the roomcleaners were fantastic. \In particular i have to thank Sikkharta for his unfailing patience and help with my IPAd 2 problems with Facebook- a problem only i experienced. The range of food was good, although I personally stuck with the Sri lankan, as I found it suited my sensitive stomach better than English! Light, digestible, lots of vegetables. I would also recommend the Ayuvedic massages in the A.centre , rather than the more expensive full pamper treatment in the spa-fine for homeymooners, but for getting rid of back and muscle ache, the former is superb We loved the friendliness of the staff. Like all Sri lankans they value communication and are hurt when guests walk past without a greeting.An importan part of their culture, not a tipseeking strategy! Tips, even small ones, are very gratefully received. On eof the waiters talked about his philosophy of life with us-not money , money, but, at the end of the day, he asked himself, have i done good to anyone. .One complaint only: the incessant playing of Christmas music over a week !!!! I would also make a much stronger notice discouraging adults and children from getting too friendly with chipmunks : cute as they are, they carry diseases.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms look out in gardens and the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joanhpoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

From the time we arrived on the 6/12/12 till we left on the 20/12/12 the staff where first class.after
a 3hour drive we were meet with a cold drink and a cold towel soon got checked in,room was deluxe room very nice ,food was a mixture of western and srilankan
so food for all tastes. A good size pool to cool down in liked the pool bar.sea was a bit rough at time but still nice to see.Had a two day trip to Yala which turned out
great because we got to see all the wild animals including the leopards on my wife's birthday 12/12/12 .Then back at the Tangerine we just relaxed and had a great time not so many people there but was just right for us So a big thank you
to every one who made this holiday first class-PS watching the bats fly over the pool at dusk just great.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view because you get to see the pool ,sun set and sun rise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank g1238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

Stayed for one night on 24 Dec. Hotel has got a very good swimming pool and nice view of the beach. Sea is little bit rough, so not much to do near the beach. The facilities are excellent and X Mass dinner was really good. A few observations - found a few termites in the room on check in, which were removed after spray. TV reception was poor and picture size needed tuning but hospital stafff was unable to help. Few options for vegetarin stuff though understandable as most of the guests are European. One thing I noticed that none of Sri Lankan Hotels offer local bread in their bread basket and tendency is to ape the European hotels menu. Hotel staff did not come back on extended check out request themselves despite commiting to do so and I have to talk to them 2-3 times to get an extension. In the end, Guest relations officer did talk to me and assured to take my suggestions onboard. On the whole a highly recommended hotel for chilling and relaxing near the beach

Room Tip: Try to get room with a view of the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ashukitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moratuwa, Sri Lanka
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

this time i brought some of my friends from australia and all i would like to say is every thing and every one was exelent so thanks a million , food was great , the staff i shouldsay from the reseption to the bell boy and the guest relations were very fine.the rooms were also comfertable,

Room Tip: good and comfertable
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nirmala s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalutara
0.1 mi away
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
#3 of 12 in Kalutara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
1.2 mi away
Citrus Waskaduwa
Citrus Waskaduwa
#7 of 12 in Kalutara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
1.5 mi away
Turyaa Kalutara
Turyaa Kalutara
#4 of 12 in Kalutara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
5.2 mi away
The Blue Water
The Blue Water
#2 of 10 in Wadduwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,324 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coco Royal Beach Resort
Coco Royal Beach Resort
#8 of 12 in Kalutara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tangerine Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tangerine Beach Hotel

Property: Tangerine Beach Hotel
Address: De Abrew Road | Waskaduwa, Kalutara 12000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Kalutara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kalutara
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kalutara
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kalutara
#5 Spa Hotel in Kalutara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tangerine Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your Tangerine Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tangerine Beach Kalutara
Hotel Tangerine Beach
Tangerine Beach Hotel Sri Lanka/Kalutara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing