We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tangerine Beach Hotel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Kalutara
Certificate of Excellence
d3m0n_edge
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

me and my girl had a great stay in sri lanka last month it was the best holiday till date. we only stayed 03 nights and we had a trip to kandy and also to see elephants to pinnawela? . most importantly we loved the food from the hotel it was amazing. me and my girl we both really concern about the dishes and they really impressed us. many thanks to chef and specially thank you sanka our driver from hotel for driving us around sri lanka

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank d3m0n_Phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    470
    410
    156
    50
    36
See reviews for
285
551
59
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surgut, Russia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Price of the hotel is consistent with its quality. best price booking in agoda.ru
If possible, ask to make you in the room, which was recently renovated - they are modern, clean, comfortable and stylish although the design of all the rooms are the same.
The medium-level breakfast - standard range of food. Dinner is offered or will be, or la carte menu. If you do not eat a lot, it is better to choose the second option. The menu is always a special dish of the day, which costs more profitable. Great advantage of this hotel - a large area. Each guest will find it for themselves a comfortable place for sunbathing and relaxation. Quite polite and patient staff. Good spa, a lot of procedures to suit every budget and taste.
For entertainment in the afternoon working animator near the pool and not a very good yoga instructor. In the evening in the lobby bar area playin local live music ensemble. I advise you to go in a nearby hotel, which is the same owners.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Svetlana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We have just returned from another two weeks at this great hotel.
The staff are very friendly and give you their best attention at all times.We hope to go back early next year.
It is an amazing place to relax in and enjoy the beautifully kept surroundings.Spotlessly clean everywhere.
We notice that quite a few people visit this hotel on their own and always feel very comfortable.In fact they go back time and time again.
A special meal is laid on for people that return,it was fantastic.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lesley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2012

My friend and I have just come back from the Tangerine Beach on 5 October 2012. The hotel itself is kept spotlessly clean and linen/towels changed daily. The spa is wonderful and very very well priced. Food was not particulary good had trouble finding something that appealed, we only went to breakfast 3 times in 10 days as not worth getting up early for.My freind and I are in our early fifties and we were extremely bored, I would not suggest this hotel for younger people as there is nothing for them to do !! WiFi in this hotel is not Free so the youngsters we came across could not even amuse themselves with Facebook !!! Not happy with the fact that we cancelled one of our spa treatments(Via telephone from our room direct to spa) because we had an upset stomach and only went to pool after 12pm and when we asked for pool towels they did not want to give them to us because they said we should have been at the spa @ 11pm *** just felt like big brother watching*** not a nice feeling for 2 ladies travelling alone. Also not particularly happy with the fact wherever you went in the hotel they asked for your room number dining room/pool/bar we felt uncomfortable with this due to the fact that we had undesirable attention from the waiters in the dining room and felt eneasy about this.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CazCheshireuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

me and my family had a great stay at tangerine beach hotel last month. it was really a pleasant stay the hotel staff were friendly they went beyond to make your stay a great one, food was okey. room were nice. we mostly enjoyed the trip to kandy. sanka drove us to kandy.very nice person from the hotel car park. i would recommend him and there are lot of places to see in kandy too. unfortunately it was raining at that time. but we will come back again. thank you all

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MagicDragon417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Hello. A little bit late, but had to write a review about my fourth trip to the Tangerine Beach. I can happily say it is still superb. I had the most wonderful welcome when I arrived, from the reception staff,down to eveybody else who worked there. It made an old man very happy.
The rooms , food and the staff were all still in great order. Please do not believe any negative reviews you read about this place,they are just not true,trust me.There have not been many places I have been to, that give you a wonderful complimentary lobster and seafood meal with the management for coming back to the hotel.
The sad part is that I may not go back due the increasing costs by Mercury Direct for single travellers. Single supplements are now charged all the time, regardless if the hotel is full or not . In a way, this reiterates my saying how popular the Tangerine has become. If anybody needs any more info please contact me. Regards. Mick .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sri Lanka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Two glorious weeks spent at the Tangerine Hotel where nothing is too much trouble for the staff, who cater for your every need.

The journey from the airport is long and time consuming, however, the new motorway is 'work in progress' and will be completed next year; the journey time will be considerably reduced making the last leg of the journey much easier.

The pool area is nice and clean and you are provided with clean pool side towels on request.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RelaxedSriLanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalutara
0.2 mi away
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
#3 of 11 in Kalutara
1,210 reviews
1.5 mi away
Turyaa Kalutara
Turyaa Kalutara
#5 of 11 in Kalutara
718 reviews
1.3 mi away
Citrus Waskaduwa
Citrus Waskaduwa
#1 of 1 in Waskaduwa
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
5.2 mi away
The Blue Water
The Blue Water
#3 of 10 in Wadduwa
1,369 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coco Royal Beach Resort
Coco Royal Beach Resort
#7 of 11 in Kalutara
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tangerine Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tangerine Beach Hotel

Property: Tangerine Beach Hotel
Address: De Abrew Road | Waskaduwa, Kalutara 12000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Kalutara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kalutara
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kalutara
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kalutara
#5 Spa Hotel in Kalutara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tangerine Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tangerine Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tangerine Beach Kalutara
Hotel Tangerine Beach
Tangerine Beach Hotel Sri Lanka/Kalutara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing