We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A familyholiday in Sri Lanka”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tangerine Beach Hotel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Kalutara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Its a nice hotel with a big swimmingpool. Some animators where friendly, not all of them.
The rooms where nice, big and clean with a great view at the sea.
The service was good.
Some days the dinner was 'a la carte'. For children its better when they have more choice and can take what they want.

Room Tip: Room with a view with a seaside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Judith V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,202)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

659 - 665 of 1,202 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2012

Excellent hotel with great sea view and clean, spacious rooms. The ayurvedic spa was very good. The hotel should improve on its breakfast and room service choices.
Hotel staff are very helpful.
My kids enjoyed their stay and wants to comeback to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sun1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed at the Tangerine Beach on two separate occasions during our honeymoon tour of Sri Lanka.

The rooms are clean and a good size and the hotel well presented, in the lobby at least. However the restaurant rooms and corridors feel outdated and in need of some TLC. The hotel also had a huge lack of atmosphere, the first time we stayed we only saw 4-6 other guests and there was next to nothing to do after you had finished your evening meal.

Food was OK. I can't really say much more than that, although the Dahl curry was the hottest we tasted whilst in the country!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jordanbutters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We arrived in Tangerine after multiple sleepless nights at various hotels which had leaking ceilings, dirty water, moldy walls and were filled with cockroaches. After all this the Tangerine Beach Hotel was a pleasant sight! In the Reception we were greeted by smiling and friendly staff members handing us lotus flowers and strawberry guava juice. We were checked in almost immediately and were shown to our rooms. Our rooms were gorgeous each having its own color scheme and fabulous decor. The rooms were spacious with 1 king bed and 1 extra single size bed. Each room had a lavish view of the pool and the sea water. The pool also provided relaxation for the adults because of the kids pool. The Tangerine also had an Ayurveda Spa for our parents to relax at. The most impressive area of the whole trip was the Restaurant. We found the staff very polite and patient with our large families and our 1 1/2 yr old baby. The food was fresh and was higher than our expectations. Each day we were given different kind of seafood, fruits, chicken, vegetables, deserts and sweets. When we asked for Indian food the next morning, they had it all set up for us when we arrived the at the dinner hall.
The Tangerine was also in a great area right next to the beach and fun towns like Bentota and Hickadua. I would definitely recommend this hotel to those who are planning to make a trip to Sri Lanka. - Ashley R. -13 yrs
- Trish F. - 12 yrs

Room Tip: All the rooms were spacious and very decorative! If you have small kids consider getting a room righ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Myself and my wife have just come to the end of an eleven night holiday at the Tangerine Beach hotel, and overall I'`d say we have had a very enjoyable stay.
Our first impressions of the hotel were that, from the outside it is starting to look a little dated and tired, afterall the hotel was built in the early 80`s, however internally the hotel has received a great deal of renovation and improvements. We were greeted after a very long journey by welcoming and friendly staff at the front desk who automatically made us comfortable and relaxed whilst they took care of our check in. We were then shown to our room and I have to say that we were both really impressed with the quality of our bedroom, it was modern, spacious, and finished to a high standard. As this is officially the off season half the rooms at the hotel are currenly under refurbishment to bring them up to the same standard as our room, I believe this is due to be completed by the end of August, but I would like to stress that at no point in our holiday were we disturbed by the work being carried out.
The staff at the tangerine have been a pleasure to get to know, from the pool boys right through to the managment team, everyone who we have come into contact with has been polite, smart, helpful, friendly and most of all professional. In particular Prassana in the restaurant and Nande behind the bar, these two guys have really helped to improve our time here with helpful advice and always a smile.
The food served in the restaurant has also been lovely, we have always been able to find something to our tastes. The selection does sometimes get a little predictable, many options come around quite often, however the food is always tasty and cooked well.
Ok, now for the not so great parts of our holiday. When we arrived we were left with a welcome pack from Diethelm Travel, our local reps in resort. The pack contains information and advice about booking excursions in Sri Lanka, and that if you chose to book excursions with anyone other than Diethelm Travel you will be at risk of being ripped of and scammed by dishonest con-men. In my opinion this is nothing more than scaremongering to encourage you to pay their over inflated premiums. We foolishly belived what we were told and booked a trip to Kandy, taking in the Pinnewalla elephant orphanige on the way at a cost of 85 pounds EACH! The trip was a nightmare, we spent 15 and a half hours away from the hotel and of that time we spent 11 hours in the back of a car being dragged from place to place that we didnt want to go to. We were taken to jewelery shops and silk shops and herb gardens that the driver obviously gets back handers from the owners for taking tourists to. So much time was taken up with this con that we barely had time to see the things we actually wanted to see. We complained to Diethelm Travel and got a partial refund, but my advice is if you want to book trips anywhere you would be better off speaking to one of the hotel staff and getting them to sort you a driver at a fraction of the cost charged by Diethelm Travel, and making your own arrangements.
One other thing that has been a problem for us during the holiday is the constant harrasment you get the second you step out of the hotels front gates. The local people see tourists as nothing more than walking cash machines and have come up with countless clever and sometimes devious ways to con you out of your money. You have to be constantly on guard and it becomes very tiresome and towards the end of our holiday it had really started to get us down, it just becomes impossible to relax anywhere outside of the hotel complex.
On the whole though the holiday has been a god one, I dont know if we will return to Sri Lanka, but I can safely say that if you are planning on coming to the Tangerine Beach you wont be disapointed by the hotel or the staff.

One other quick thing - We booked on the all inclusive package, just be aware that not EVERYTHING is included. Some obvious things like imported spirits you would expect, but there are some less than obvious omissions, like diet coke and certain coffees. Its not so much a big deal, but just clarify with whoever you book with about what you will and wont recieve.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Smudger1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

The teretory in the hotel is very big,green.
The personal is very frendly.
In the room clean and fresh every day.
The food in the restaraunt is fresh:every day many fruits,sea foods,chicken,vegetables,more deserts and sveets.
I very want camback to these plase.These little paradise on the Earth.

Ms.Oksana & Ms.Lydmila from Ukrain

Room Tip: I like all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank oksana l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Stayed here for 2 weeks in late June 2012. As this was off season the hotel was quite quiet. mainly Russians, some Germans and few English people.

Despite being off season the hotel still tried to provide entertainment. There was music of some type most nights -(even though often there were only a couple of people in the bar lounge), as well as some daytime activities. Really enjoyed the yoga - the hotel provide two sessions of one hour length each week. The teacher was excellent and would offer to come on other days and do more sessions which he charged 3000 rupees (15 pounds) overall- everone in the group contributed = more people= cheaper. It was a shame that there were not more sessions as the yoga was the best activity in my opinion.They also offered water aerobics but on the last few days of our stay this didnt happen which was a shame. Crazy golf and croquet was also avaliable.

The staff here were generally excellent. As the hotel was very quiet, we often had many staff trying to help. At first this was overwhelming as we are not used to such personal attention, but it did mean we got excellent service.


The food was excellent. Normally I get fed up with hotel food but every night there was a wide range of dishes in addition to Sri Lankan dishes. They had amazing puddings - huge range - I must have put on loads of weight! The only complaint I had was about the drinks available to all inclusive guests. They had no low calorie options of soft drinks (eg. diet coke) and to buy them cost about 1.50 pounds which was too high. So instead we spent most of the time drinking bottle water only (as we dont drink alcohol) which got dull after a while.

The rooms were very spacious and well kept and clean. Couldnt fault the accomodation. Good air conditioning that nnever failed, which a heat option too.

So overall we felt this was a great hotel. The only thing that marred it was the rudeness of Russian guests who could treat the staff appalingly.

Unfortunatly, the trips through mercury direct (the company we booked the hotel with) were not so great. The first trip we went on (Animal Magic) was great. Driver very safe and safari was magical. We saw lot of animals that people wouldnt normally see (sloth bears, leopards..) It was the second (most expensive) 3 day trip to the ancient cities that ruined our stay. Our driver was appauling- much too fast and spent the majority of his time on his mobile phone, reluctant to give information, unless we kept asking all the time. He changed the itinary to suit himself (too long a drive) and when we did go to some of the attractions, we got there at the wrong time (eg. missed elephant feeding time) and he also left us to find the places ourselves. The most worrying thing, was the drivier stopping to book a elephant ride for us, which cost 3000 rupees each (15 pouns) through a "idyllic jungle, then to a lake and back". We arrived and had to wait for 45 minutes for a elephant to turn up, and when it did, was hot, chained and exhausted. We were unsure, but go on the elephant and were taken through someones backyard (the "jungle") which was full of rubbish, discarded fridges ect... On the way hitting a number of trees and had to keep ducking to try and get out of the way of the branches. We were hit many times. The most dangerous part, was on the way to the "Lake"- which turned out to be a mud bath. The elephant hit a telephone pole, which then fell down, hitting my daughter across her face. We called out to the mahoot, who simply ignored us and carried on. The pole got stuck on the elephants basket, and pulled it all down. Again the mahoot just ignored it. The elephant walked about 5m into the "lake" before being ordered to turn around again. This was the hour long elephant ride, which took about 15 minutes. At the end, the "photographer" asked for a tip. I took out about 300 rupees (1.50 pounds). He saw I had a 1000 (5 pounds) in my purse and pulled it out. I was stunned. He then said he wanted another 1000 for the mahoot. The really worrying thing about this incident, was that when I told our driver about the pole hitting my daughter's face, he laughed.

The hotel and travel agent strongly advised us to use this company (Aitken and Spence), as we were told the local were unsafe. The driver on our second trip was incredibly unsafe and didnt care about our welfare and took us to a unsafe elephant ride, which he told us was great. We paid 270 pounds each for the 3 day trip! I would trust this company if we came back. People from the hotel said the locals were safe and good. I would book it from them (also much cheaper, and the money goes to those who need it more).

The hotel was brilliant though and I would reccomend people to stay here.

Room Tip: We had a 2nd floor deluxe room facing sea and pool. Ground floor would have been better though due t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Caragh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalutara
0.2 mi away
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
#3 of 11 in Kalutara
1,301 reviews
1.5 mi away
Turyaa Kalutara
Turyaa Kalutara
#5 of 11 in Kalutara
832 reviews
1.3 mi away
Citrus Waskaduwa
Citrus Waskaduwa
#1 of 1 in Waskaduwa
1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
The Blue Water
The Blue Water
#3 of 10 in Wadduwa
1,431 reviews
0.6 mi away
Club Waskaduwa Beach Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Coco Royal Beach Resort
Coco Royal Beach Resort
#7 of 11 in Kalutara
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tangerine Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tangerine Beach Hotel

Address: De Abrew Road | Waskaduwa, Kalutara 12000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Kalutara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kalutara
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kalutara
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kalutara
#5 Spa Hotel in Kalutara
Price Range: $76 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tangerine Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tangerine Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tangerine Beach Kalutara
Hotel Tangerine Beach
Tangerine Beach Hotel Sri Lanka/Kalutara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing