We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay with ocean sounds”
Review of Turyaa Kalutara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Turyaa Kalutara
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Kalutara
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great stay with ocean sounds”
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed the stay. The room were very . Spacious, clean and organized with nice lighting. The swiming pool and beach view were really great from the room. Beside. That the swimming pool was very big and clean really. My family enjoyed swimming. Foods great taste. The things we didnot like the one of the reception staff called to our room to ask us to pay the spa service we used . His manner was unpolite really, Dealing with us like this . Another receptionist male didnot pay back the change and keeping make us laughing and making jokes to let us forgeting the money change he must pay back to us . Wifi signal not reaching the room . Although these things happen . We really like this hotel .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rescues999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    270
    88
    34
    23
See reviews for
258
308
20
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We had a wonderful stay! No complaints on anything until we were ready to leave. The staff were amazing. Best service! Food was Just what we were craving for. Paid up and ready to leave and then we find a scratch on the drivers side of the car. The scratch started at the front and ended on the petrol tank door! Hired car mind u! Yet cost us less than 10USD to get it sorted. Yet.... even though we told staff and they even checked it out, we didnt get a single word out of them. lol. BUT.... we will go back to Sands! We loved the place!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ShamiaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

we Stayed 12 days in this hotel and we were very well looked after. we had a wonderful time, special thanks to Malika, Chef Sunil, GM and all the staff who looked after us, The food was very Authentic and one of the best I've had in sri lanka, if you love Authentic Sri Lankan food, this is the place to be, special thanks to Chef Sunil, and the other Chefs. there are loads of choices and top of that there are 4 chefs cooking to order in the 'hot kitchen' so youre spoiled for choices, the staff are well trained and very polite and I was very well pleased with the service.
Rooms were clean and spacious, we had rooms next to each other and there are middle doors to connect the rooms if needed. Bathrooms were clean and new, and rooms were made quick in the moring, we enjoyed the animals made with towels by Asiri.
join the water Aerobics at 10 am followed by the water polo, exiting game and its also a good way to break ice and bond with the others. Lovely place to stay, sea is rough but this place is good to relax, and chill... try local Arrak and specially Lian Lager, they are good
if you go to get a massages/therapy please tell them what level of intensity you would need.. they do offers for couples, and a good way to relax...
we will defo be there again and recomend this hotel to anyone.. thanks to all the staf and the management.

Room Tip: if you go 3,4,5 th floors the views are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nis21602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed here for just 1 night, comfy bed, clean sheets , however the bathroom was leaking a little, didnt bother us much as it dried out pretty soon. We booked the Cabana's which were a bit spacious than the normal rooms. The food was not bad but they badly need on improving on the varieties, The salad bar just had a few vegetables only and 1 dressing !!! During Breakfast food that was overcooked was also served ( Milk Rice all gooeeey) i guess no one had it as it was full. One thing i noticed was that their attention to detail when it comes to locals is not good compared to what they give to foriegners. Other than that I would say its value for money !!!

Room Tip: Choose the Cabana's they are close to the garden and facing the beach. Has more space rather tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Niroshan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Hotel was clean and the staff were helpful. The food was average not a great spread but ok. There is a nice beach behind the hotel. Sea was little rough during our stay so couldn't bathe in the sea. There is a big swimming pool too. The hotel had organised a sing-a-long session in the night and was very good and enjoyable. The rooms (deluxe) were very big and clean. But need to mention that we had to wait for a long time after 2pm to get the rooms since they were not ready.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dulani R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

My first time to Sri Lanka. Aiken Spence own several hotels on the island. The Sands is about 2-3 miles out of town (70pence tut tut ride) The hotel has recently been refurbished and it shows. All rooms are very comfortable and well appointed with sea views & balcony. What makes this hotel so special is the lovely friendly and helpful staff. I read the review about poor check-in, ours was a dream. The menu was great with a wide choice both Sri Lankan spicy food and European fare for the less adventurous...but everything was cooked to perfection. Outside, the pool was good with a lifeguard on site at all times. There is a hard working animation team with usual pool activities and croquet. I make it sound so boring, but this was one of the best hotels at the price. I loved it.

Room Tip: The currents make sea swimming impossible anywhere on the island bet Feb - Nov. The rooms on 2nd flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank billbroadway99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandarawela
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Of cause its a nice place, very good beach .... all the things which you expect are available. but
there is a long way the management have to go to reach the star grade. they have to focus on their core business i.e. guests not anything else.
more over the attention to detail was not up to the standard. its could be the transformation from one management to another but that shall not effect the gust at there.
food is OK

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bahasura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalutara
1.3 mi away
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
#3 of 11 in Kalutara
1,233 reviews
1.5 mi away
Tangerine Beach Hotel
Tangerine Beach Hotel
#6 of 11 in Kalutara
1,133 reviews
22.7 mi away
Heritance Ahungalla
Heritance Ahungalla
#1 of 2 in Ahungalla
3,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Citrus Waskaduwa
Citrus Waskaduwa
#1 of 1 in Waskaduwa
926 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Blue Water
The Blue Water
#3 of 10 in Wadduwa
1,378 reviews
14.1 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turyaa Kalutara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turyaa Kalutara

Property: Turyaa Kalutara
Address: Kudawaskaduwa. Waskaduwa, Kalutara 12000, Sri Lanka (Formerly The Sands by Aitken Spence Hotels)
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Kalutara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kalutara
#4 Spa Hotel in Kalutara
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kalutara
#4 Family Hotel in Kalutara
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kalutara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Turyaa Kalutara 4.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Turyaa Kalutara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Resort Kalutara Hotel Kalutara
Ramada Hotel Kalutara
Ramada Kalutara
Kalutara Ramada
Ramada Resort Sri Lanka
Turyaa Kalutara Sri Lanka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing